We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at Renaissance Hotel Malmö for three nights. We enjoyed the very friendly staff and our kingsize bed in a nicely done up room. The bathroom is very nice too, although we first had to find out how to use the shower without flooding the floor.
The hotel is situated in the old town of Malmö near the "Lilla Torg" square with its nice restaurants and bars and it takes only 5 minutes to get to the train station.
This hotel is perfect to stay at on your city trip to Malmö!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnalenaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to complete the Tripadvisor survey!

Welcome back to the city of Malmö and the Renaissance Hotel

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    248
    64
    30
    9
See reviews for
95
353
46
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I was extremely dissappointed with this hotel, espetially comparing to Marriott Copenhagen which is just 30 minutes by train from Malmo. Staff was not really friendly and professional. My card was charged at check-in for 2250 Sek by mistake and hotel staff was useless trying to return this this money.
There are no concierge services but my questions about jazz clubs in town suprised girl at reception and she could not recommend anything.
I was also suprised with the room service. Rooms were quite dirty and there was always a lack of shampoo and coffee in the room.
Finally they have charged me 15 Sek for the compliment water in the room - because they re-use the bottles and I should not ave thrown away it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanislav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for your feed-back, would appreciate if you could mail me and tell me a bit more about the bad service you experienced at our property, as you can see of other reviews our personnel usually gets extremely high rating. Please mail me at Jens.Lyckman@renaissancehotels.com

Once again, thanks for taking the time to give us feed-back, in our strive to be one of the best hotels in Sweden!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights in a deluxe room.

+ friendly, helpful staff
+ early check-in was possible
+ best possible location in Malmö
+ breakfast is great (wide choice, fresh)
+ value for money

- our room in the top floor had a very small window, almost no natural light
- parking was okay for this location. very small garage, no escalator from garage - only staircase and way through the bar to the hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for your feed-back, always highly appreciated!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This modern hotel is just a around the main square which turns into a true Piazza for the night. You will be right in the middle of everything, but, the good news is that the hotel is quiet.

Very good rooms, very clean and nice beds and a decent breakfast. Very ideal for a business overnight, but I would not hesitate to recommend this for a more private outing, either.

The front desk is very friendly, efficient and knowledgeable. For example, I had to use taxi quite often and the prices in Sweden can be really steep as there are rather fishy operators looking to steal your money - all the bookings we made from the hotel were reasonably priced and provided excellent service.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Esa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for your kind words and feed-back, hope to see you back real soon!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I travel frequently for business to Malmo and was the first time I stayed in this hotel because the hotel where I usually stay was full, but I must say I was impressed.
The hotel is located in the center behind the Lilla Torg square then in the heart of the city, close to my favorite restaurants all within a maximum of 10 minutes of walking.
The rooms are spacious clean and well kept, the bed was comfortable and I was impressed by the amount of pillows (6) of different hardnesses to choose from.
The bathroom is spacious the only little point is the bathtub / shower that does not have the anti-slip, so is a little dangerous, excellent the range of accessories for grooming.
The breakfast is very good with a rich choice, although a little small for the hotel capacity.
The gym is a bit small but equipped with the necessary.
The staff is efficient and friendly, in short, is avery good structure!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondieModena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for the feed-back!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is stylish and has charm. It is a delight and has the perfect location. You can walk here from the train station. It makes a great base for exploring Copenhagen, going to see the castle at Kronberg, and Lund which has a charming Swedish architectural village. The staff helped me figure out how to get around. The staff also has great restaurant recommendations (try tapas with wine, Indian, or seafood). Since it is right at the corner of the Lilla Torg- there are many great food choices. It is worth having the breakfast buffet at the hotel.

Room Tip: On the street side, know that garbage trucks do their weekly trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for your review, wish you a nice summer!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel twice and both visits were good experiences. Our hotel chain of choice is Marriott and we were pleasantly surprised with the Renaissance.

The hotel is lovely, the rooms were immaculate and spacious. The first visit we were with friends and they raved about this hotel. The breakfast is abundant with many choices including "to order" omlettes.

The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. They remembered us the next week when we returned and made us feel even more welcome. The location was a bit difficult to find at first but their proximity to Lilla Torg and the sculpture park made everything within walking distance.


L

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your views on Renaissance Malmö Hotel.
Hope to see you back soon in the city of Malmö and at our establishment.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Master Johan Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Quality Hotel View
#4 of 37 in Malmo
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Address: 15 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing