We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2011

It's not a 5-star hotel but close ... doesn't have some of the minor touches that one associates with a 5 star such as slippers and robes, magnified mirror are some of the things I can think of and the bathrooms are average size. 

But great location and absolutely great service from all staff especially the beautiful Vanessa. 

Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoTraveller6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 451 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

We spent two nights before and after attending a wedding. There are numerous restaurants in the adjacent cobble stone public square.
The central rail station was only a few blocks away making our return via Copenhagen easy.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolinaCruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We spent two nights here and whilst admittedly we did get special treatment, a prestige room with champers awaiting us, we still loved the ambience in this ultra modern, recently renovated hotel. The kingsize bed was superbly comfy, the bathroom luxurious, the decor tasteful throughout, despite being ultra modern, and the service excellent. The breakfasts were out of this world, with enough food of all kinds to last you the whole day, if you could manage it, and they even provided a packed one on the morning we departed for the airport at some ungodly hour. Above all, the reception staff really get full marks from us for their help and interest. Thoroughly recommend this hotel. We got extra value prices on a deal. The only minus here was the restaurant which we walked out of. So dark we had to get out a torch to read it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are modern and spacious and well equipped with hairdriers etc. The prestige ones have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jastary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

great and charming hotel in the absolute centre of Malmö. Large and modern rooms, with references to the old building. Trendy bar and great breakfirst.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

This hotel was being built when we went to Malmo last year so we decided to try the finished product this year......and we were not disappointed!
The hotel's main asset is that is so convenient to the main square whilst not suffering from the noise level that the square can create on a busy Friday or Saturday evening! It is a little haven!
The staff were young, very helpful and smiled much!
The hotel has parking facilities...VERY necessary in Malmo...there was a cost but it was not too outrageous!
Room service was limited but efficient. There is probably not much need for room service in this area because it is surrounded by good, interesting restaurants!....so,why stay in?! The hotel does have it's own...limited menu...restaurant but, again....why stay in?!....when there is so much going on on your doorstep!
We would definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: As this is a new hotel I imagine all the rooms are well furnished and appointed. There ARE no views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HERMOSAMARIPOSA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We are a family with 3 young children who stayed overnight on our way to Denmark from Norway. The location of the hotel is wonderful, it is located in the old town within walking distance to everything. The rooms are fabulous. Large for European standard ( we live in the US), large comfortable king bed with down comforters and pillows. Fluffy bath towels and a spacious modern bathroom. We had two rooms and both rooms were same size and comfort level. I think the rooms are some of the best we have stayed in in Europe. Service was very good. The front desk was very helpful and the breakfast staff went out of their way to accommodate us. The only negative about this stay is that they could not accommodate our request for connecting rooms ( we booked the night before) and that the parking was expensive. I would also like to mention that we stayed at the Hilton, Malmo the following night which was not as nice. The Renaissance is the best hotel in Malmo.

Room Tip: Away from the Square. Great restaurants but noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brieandbubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Encouraged by the good reviews we decided to stay in Renaissance Malmoe for two nights. We got a reasonable rate on booking.com and reached the hotel after a few minutes walk from the train station. The check in took some time, as our reservation got filed under a different name, but the receptionist was apologetic and very friendly.

Our room was situated at the last floor, "overlooking" the neighbouring square. The overall design was nice and the bathroom was clean and comfortable. What I found really, really strange was the window. Or actually lack thereof. Imagine a L-shaped room with the only window situated at the far end of the bottom of the letter. In order to look out, one needed to go to the end of the room, turn right and walk a few more steps in a narrow passage. I could understand it in a hostel, but not in a 4* hotel.

The window was small, maybe 100 x 70 cm, but there was no curtain, so in the early morning (5 am) we got woken up by light anyway. We dealt with the problem by covering the window with a blanket, but again, this was supposed to be a 4* hotel, so the expectation was different.

On top of all the above, there is a restaurant in the ground floor of the hotel building, playing party music until late in the evening. Most of the noise is filtered out, but the residual bass umph-umph-umph gets carried over the walls and is rather bothersome.

Room Tip: Probably not try to get something on the northern side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovidius13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
MJ's Hotel
#2 of 36 in Malmo
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel View
#4 of 36 in Malmo
995 reviews
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Address: Master Johansgatan 15, Malmo 211 21, Sweden (Formerly Renaissance Malmo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range: $146 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing