We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highlight if you like fish.”
Review of Johan P.

Johan P.
Ranked #30 of 818 Restaurants in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, Swedish, Scandinavian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Gamla Staden
Description: Johan P has a genuine food hall atmosphere with well-prepared dishes using fish and shell fish from the day's catch. The restaurant has a southern European feel and the fish is always fresh. Next door there's a delicatessen where you can also order catering. There's also an oyster bar within touching distance from the delicatessen and fish counter. It's perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and oysters at either lunchtime or in the evening.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A highlight if you like fish.”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

It's not easy to eat good and tasty fish in sweden but I must say this experience made the day.
Very nice combined flavors that made almost every bite go mmmm.....
The price for the dishes was fair I think but the wine list price setting was a joke, way to expensive for what you got. Skip the wine and go somewhere else afterward instead to have a drink.
Because of the price for wine it takes down the points.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    159
    68
    34
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
119 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bästa Fiskrestaurangen i Malmö!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

If you are looking for the best fish and seafood retaurant i Malmö area Johan P is your only choice! Great dished and great service. Wine list impecable and they will happily match food and wine for you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalmoChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very good fish…slightly expensive.”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were 2 for lunch. One bottle of House-white, a shared a starter of Lojrom, both had the Halibut for main course, 2 Desserts, 2 glasses of Muscat, 2 cups of coffee, 1 glass of Swedish Punsch. Total bill: SEK 1778.
Atmosphere: Bistro-like. Neat and clean impression.
Service: The young lady was very friendly, charming and professional.
Lojrom starter: As expected. Lojrom volume: Quite a lot…sufficient.
Turbot: Perfectly cooked. Turbot, size of portion: On the small side, slightly disappointing.
Carrots served with the Turbot: Impossible to cut with the fish knife…practically raw!
White House wine: Really Excellent!
Desserts: Small, but delicious. Muscat wine: Excellent.
Overall impression: Very positive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are so jelous as we live in Gothenburg, the City of fish, but we have nothing like Johan P. Great food, service, staff - wow. The fish and the sea-food is cooked and prepared to perfection. Not over-priced. Already looking forward to our next trip to Malmo.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BogiSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can not believe you do nothing for the service!!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

As many others wrote fish ok for the scandinavian way of cooking it,too high price, expecially for the bad McDonald Service style. Who they think they are? No idea how too nove around, had to stand my self and going to the cointer for another drink .....etc etc food ok as said but not warm probably after ready to serve been standing wait for waiters;-(! dont say skip it but be prepare for service disappointment

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johan P. also viewed

 
Malmo, Skane County
 

Been to Johan P.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing