We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre lunch” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johan P.

Johan P.
Ranked #27 of 792 Restaurants in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, Swedish, Scandinavian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Gamla Staden
Description: Johan P has a genuine food hall atmosphere with well-prepared dishes using fish and shell fish from the day's catch. The restaurant has a southern European feel and the fish is always fresh. Next door there's a delicatessen where you can also order catering. There's also an oyster bar within touching distance from the delicatessen and fish counter. It's perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and oysters at either lunchtime or in the evening.
Malmö
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mediocre lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Once a safe card when it came to good fish meals now a quite mediocre experience. My lunch today was cocked and served without any special interest. My cappuchino was served with a thick skin that tasted bitter.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    154
    66
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, average service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you area fish lover, you'll ignore many inconveniences and Annoyances to go to a place. This restaurant falls in that category. The fish is excellent with a good variety of fresh fish and specials of the day. They often run out of the favourites which is a good sign of food being fresh. The service is a bit of hit and miss and can vary from being poor to being fairly decent. But if you can ignore that, pay a visit just for the food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Parminder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
“Rude waiter and waitress, worst more had diarrhea afterward”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

The place was highly recommended by a few of my swedish friends, the pricing is on a bit high side however we thought it could be a nice dinner to end the trip for my 3 friends visiting from asia. The food was average, the service was terrible. They were unwilling to serve with bad attitude. We spent out last night taking turn to the toilet.... All in all really bad experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank All_I_need_is_Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stay away”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

It was recommended in the Routard ....
Either a big mistake or a change in management.
We had mussels, plaice and a sirloin steak. All were very desapointing.
How can you miss on these "beginners type" plates?
And at 40$ per person the quality to price ratio is below desapointing level.

Stay away and tell the Routard to take out of its recommandations.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank interintra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
225 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“High expectations but a disappointing meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Review for Johan P's, also listed as  Johan P. Saluhallens Fiskrestaurang

Maybe it was just an "off day",  maybe it was just because it was Monday, maybe this restaurant is just tired.  Whatever the reason, my wife and I had a disappointing experience.  A friend had recommended Johan P's as a good seafood restaurant in Malmo.  Maybe she is just a poor judge of food.  

We arrived at before 8:00and were seated promptly.  However, it was well after 8:30 when we were given menus.  Another half hour passed before our orders were taken.  Then more waiting.  It was after 11:00 when we finished our meal. 

Some meals are worth waiting for.  This one was not.  I ordered the Chef's special.  The gespacho  was actually  very good.  My fish entree (cod) was underdone.  My wife ordered mussels and they were mediocre at best ( many had  not opened during cooking and she did not eat these).  Her fish (plaice) would have been good had it not been covered with very strong horseradish.

There were only two waitresses servicing the entire restaurant.  This would certainly explain, at least in part, some of the delays.  However, even some of the most basic restaurant etiquette was neglected. The bread basket was brought after the appetizer was served.  It was never refilled, as requested.  No one ever asked if we enjoyed our meal. Finally, the cost of the meal for two was 950 kroner  ($153.53) without wine or drinks.  This was outrageous.

I rated this restaurant with two stars.  I seldom give a lesser rating.  I would not go back, nor  would I recommend it to friends. 

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johan P. also viewed

 
Malmo, Skane County
 

Been to Johan P.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing