We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spartan, this Sparta”
Review of Hotell Sparta

Hotell Sparta
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotell Sparta
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spartan, this Sparta”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the Sparta as a family of four, on the recommendation of colleagues from the U of Lund. We were accommodated in a family room with decent beds, shower, television, and cleanliness. For four days though, the elevator didn't work, and we had to tromp through wet, exterior-exposed stairs and ramps, and lug our bags up four flights of stairs throughout the stay. The kitchen facilities, about which the hotel had raved as a particularly fine feature for families, we either locked or in effect, non-existent. The wifi pass didn't work for half our visit, interfering with work we needed to get done, and there were no staff available after 9.30 p.m. The breakfast was good, and ample, and the staff were pleasant--when they were there. There's a supermarket next door with excellent quality food to be had, and the bus is at the doorstep to the center of Lund, an absolutely charming town, with much to commend it. This is spartan accommodation though...be prepared!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NobleScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
1
3
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This is a great value hotel. Clean, tidy, everything works and there is a good breakfast. The staff are wonderful. All the staff from the receptionists to the cleaners go out of their way to be helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJNEUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

I don't usually mind cheap hotels. I am a travelodge/Ibis/Days Inn sort of person. So I thought I would stay here having found the Lundia too hot to sleep in. Since I was visiting the univ the location was fine, and the supermarket next door is handy.

But when someone else turned on a tap, it sounded as though it was next to my bed. Which woke me up just after 5. Since I had got in late the night before, that meant less than 4 hours sleep. Not my idea of a successful night. I checked out, and the grumpy person on the desk asked me what I expected for the price. My friend had also asked for a quiet room, and I was given about the only one overlooking the road, even though the hotel was not full. Not impressive at all.

The rooms are good sized, and the kitchens allow you to make yourself meals in the evening - with is useful. The paint is grey and the furniture austere and functional. The curtains let the light in - you can read in bed with no lights on at 6am - not good for those who want to sleep in beyond sun rise. WiFi is extra. Bathrooms small and dingy, although that does not bother me.

As I say, I checked out 9 hours after arrival and went to the Ideon Gasteri - very good staff, if nowhere to prepare food.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDarjeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lund hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2007

It's an okay place, I suppose, and one of the cheapest in town. Don't expect a whole lot of luxury in there, but the beds sure are comfortable, especially if you have been traveling for a while. The hotel is located in a very secluded part of town (walk a little east, it's a highway and some park), but dowtown is still accessible on foot fairly easily, if you know how to navigate the maze of streets. It is also near the Botanical Gardens which is quite a quaint place to just do nothing for an afternoon; The ICA supermarket next door comes in handy, and so does the excellent sandwich place - you must try their coffee.

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms, cost
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parcheesee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2006

I often stay here when I am working at the neighbouring research park (IDEON) because of the large rooms, comfortable beds and the convenience of the short walk from the hotel to my meetings. I value these things higher than flowery bedding and marble bathrooms.

Indeed, if you want prettiness, don't go here (try Ideon Gaestgiveri instead at twice the price). Hotell Sparta used to be student accommodation (the neighbouring buildings still are) and there is a practical, low-budget feel to the place, including the kitchens on each corridor where you can cook your own meals and meet other guests. There are often groups of visitors from Africa or Asia happy to save money this way and you can call in at the supermarket opposite if you want to get a microwave meal to eat in. Or try the impressively upmarket new sandwich bar that is just in front of the hotel. Restaurant Sparta is more of a canteen than a restaurant, so if you want to really dine out, head into town (buses 1 and 6 go every few minutes) where you will be spoiled for choice. (A stroll around the centre of Lund is a must anyway - it is absolutely charming.)

The breakfast is good and the staff are nice, so if you want basic but comfortable accommodation near the research park, I can recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The bed, spacious room, self-catering possibilities, close to research park
  • Disliked — The bathroom (small and very basic)
  • Tips/Secrets — Book early - it is popular with budget travellers.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank C_the_real_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lund hotels
0.5 mi away
Elite Hotel Ideon
Elite Hotel Ideon
#3 of 17 in Lund
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Finn
Hotel Finn
#13 of 17 in Lund
94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Good Morning Lund
Good Morning Lund
#12 of 17 in Lund
214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotell Nordic Lund
Hotell Nordic Lund
#2 of 17 in Lund
151 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lundia
Hotel Lundia
#9 of 17 in Lund
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Sparta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Sparta

Property: Hotell Sparta
Address: 39 Tunavaegen, Lund 223 63, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotell Sparta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotell Sparta Lund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing