We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Star Lund
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
212 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Dirty rooms”
Reviewed September 28, 2008

This hotel is situated rather far from the city center of Lund. The surrounding area being some kind of industrial area.
There is a large atrium in the middle of the building and that is quite nice. There are several conference rooms and a nice restaurant where the breakfast buffet is served. The buffet is large and fresh. The rooms however are terrible. Dirty curtains, dirt all over the shower. The furniture are dated and the whole room looks more like a prison cell than a hotel room.
No this hotel cannot be recommended.

  • Liked — The atrium
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    156
    126
    46
    28
See reviews for
155
80
33
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linköping, Sweden
Level Contributor
122 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel several times, and it was not better during the Hilton-period, it was the same kind of problems:
1. The rooms was/is very dated but roomy.
2. The rooms was not cleaned properly
3. Several things in the room was broken and the internet did not work properly.
4. Very understaffed in the check-in/check-out
5. Wrong food was prepared in the bar.
Some things has become better, the restaurant and bar area is very nice designed now.

They will change the design in the rooms during August and if the management could teach the staff how to work more professional, this could be a very good hotel. I am DiamondVip at Hilton and Gold Level at the Radisson so I can compare..The Scandic chain needs to improve their customer service urgently. And we want the soap and shampoo/conditioner back!!! I am sure they can do it in an environmental friendly way, if they really wants to..

  • Liked — Nothing really.
  • Disliked — The room was dirty and several things broken.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CamillaLejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lund hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for work 3 times between 2006 and 2008.
In 2006 they were still affiliated with Hilton. Th elast time I visited in Mar 2008 they were no longer affiliated and things seem to have gone down hill.

In Mar 2008 I checked in to find my trash bin had not been emptied, soap and shampoo missing, internet was spotty. Breakfast buffet is average.

They lend bicycles which is fun in the summer. Lund center is 10 minutes bike ride away.

This hotel is on the outskirts of town in what is a mixed residential / industrial area.

Be very careful using the iron in the room....found it to be dirty on several occasions.

  • Liked — breakfast, business hotel
  • Disliked — out of the way
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Moody751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 18, 2004

We stayed there a few nights in 2001. It is a very nice and clean hotel, great reception. It is ideal for families. Great breakfast, everything you could wish for in Scandinavia. It is located outside of the central part of Lund, and it takes a few minutes by car to get in to the central part. It was a hotel with great amenities, but I prefer to be in the very center of the action, so I would not stay there again. It is rather difficult and expensive to park the car in the city center, so if you stay here and go into town, parking is expensive, and you have to drive home. I like to stay where I can walk to restaurants and sights.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lund hotels
1.6 mi away
Elite Hotel Ideon
Elite Hotel Ideon
#3 of 17 in Lund
376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
1.1 mi away
Hotell Nordic Lund
Hotell Nordic Lund
#2 of 17 in Lund
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Lund
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Lund
Grand Hotel Lund
#6 of 17 in Lund
377 reviews
1.1 mi away
StayAt Lund
StayAt Lund
#10 of 17 in Lund
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Star Lund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Star Lund

Property: Scandic Hotel Star Lund
Address: 5 Glimmervaegen | P.O. Box 11026, Lund 224 78, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hotel Star Lund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy great food in our restaurant Gerda's, and borrow a bike from Reception to explore Lund attractions like the cathedral. The hotel has 22 meeting rooms for 2-450, all with wireless internet access. Relax in the Scandic Star hotel's sauna or swim lengths in the indoor pool. Tee off at one of several local golf courses, including Akademiska Golf Club, 5 km away. All kids are welcome to Scandic Star. We always have pancakes for the kids and maybe you will even get a chance to meet up with Sigge - our mascot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Star Lund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing