We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine family weekend - pool too cold though.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Hotel Star Lund

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Star Lund
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Furesø
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine family weekend - pool too cold though.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed 4 persons (parents + 6yr/15yr boys) two nights as a weekend offer/break-out event, not so far from our home near Copenhagen. Scandic Lund, was like Scandic most other places: Children friendly, average quality but sufficient for a family like ours on a medium budget. We chose this hotel for the pool, which was used 2 times, but the water was too cold for us. The gym. was small, but sufficient machines in good quality/condition. The resturant was OK, but the price on the high side compared to the level of quality. However, fine solution after travel; and again, no real surprices. Lund "Downtown" a few km away required car or bikes. Hotel bikes available, but unfortunately no bikes for children. The challenge was finding a parking space in the center of Lund without being ripped off. The city-park with the observatirium was great in the nice spring weather, and has an excellent large playground. Many resturants and café possibilities. Not so much for children if you avoid fast food like pizza, like we do; but we found some OK restaurants after some searching. Note: The better Saturday evening restaurants requires booking well in advance. We walked a lot and experienced historic places like the old university, the cathedral, etc, but it was not the most interesting city for children. However, as a relaxing family weekend with a lot of walking and talking, after a stressful time, it was just fine. If just the pool had been 5C warmer, if would have been excellent...

Room Tip: Budget family room with view to a roof. But quiet, apart from neighbor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sven308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    138
    117
    44
    27
See reviews for
138
74
31
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A difference in the Scandic Star. The family room that I stayed in had been decorated in a much more modern style and had a much more pleasant feel to it. Bathroom had a "wet room" shower and a bath. Sounds were somewhat intrusive - the lift operates on that side of the hotel between 6am and 10pm, but that is too early to be woken at the weekend. The next door room also had some bangs and thumps from the occupants, in the morning.

Safe is still small and could not take a laptop.

the lobby seemed fresher, except for that carpet! it is stained and torn and totally detracts from what would be a quite impressive area. Breakfast was fine and plentiful. Staff are always helpful and pleasant.

Pool, Sauna and gym all good.

The fact that I return, rather than finding another hotel in Lund, is a recommendation in itself.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room away from the elevators, which can be noisy and as high as possible. My pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minervah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Also one of the hotels that I´ve visited several times during 2012 and 2013. Good service, always available rooms and big tasty breakfast.

Rooms a little old and worn.

The hotel is locaded near the highway and far away from the city centre, a little to "off" for my taste. If you want quiet and harmony, this is the perfect hotel in Lund!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valaszkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is quite a distance from the medieval city centre of Lund, but Lund being a small place this means 10 minutes by bus or taxi from the central station or the cathedral. The hotel is big and part of the Scandic group so you know pretty much what you will get. It is often used for conferences, which was the reason I was there, and the food served was delicious. The room was spacious and the bathroom large with both shower compartment and a separate bath tub. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable.
I would stay here again, in particular if I came by car, since it is very difficult to drive in the centre of Lund. Here you are close to the motorway and it is easy to park.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Castor_Dioskouros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have stayed in several Scandic hotels before and whilst none of them are five star, I have learnt to expect a minimum standard, with fairly modern interiors. The lobby at the Scandic Star was quite nice and airy, but once up the escalators to where the rooms are, at least mine (1st floor) was really shabby and my room was really dark and dated. The bathroom had 80s tiles and sanitary wear, with the shower rail broken etc. Also the single bed seemed extra narrow, but that may be just to not being used to sleeping in one! Overall, I was slightly disappointed. The breakfast was OK and the staff was very friendly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_w_kids_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

It's a Scandic so it has a minimum standard, but it's out of town and therefore rather isolated. It was okay for business but there are so many better choices in Lund. The breakfast did not have the choice one would normally expect and the rooms were just a little tired looking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Another stay at the Scandic Star - because it is the nearest hotel to my relatives and the only one with a pool, for my granddaughter to swim in.

This time I booked a room with a queen size bed, for a change - I think I have tried all but the suites now. This room had a bathroom with shower only and rather a wobbly shower screen - however. It also had no wardrobe, but just hanging space and shelves. There was a desk and a small safe. The decor was different from the rather heavy out-dated rooms I have had before - this one was neutral.

Good points: Heating was good. Breakfast was good, as always. Pool, gym and sauna were fine, as always. No tea and coffee facilities in room, but was given a kettle by reception and free milk, etc from the facility in the reception/shop area. Nice Christmas decorations.

Not so good points: Despite asking for early check-in, room was not ready upon arrival and told it would take until 2pm. Reception area still looks worn - carpet stained, etc. Breakfast room had been halved in size for the Saturday meal and then was further reduced for the Sunday one - making it rather crowded. Still no free newspaper (I have a Scandic card). No lunches served on Saturday. Large lump of wood out of one window frame, leaving splintered remains, curtains in room off tracks in places. Room not serviced whilst I was out on first day, as expected - I was in from 3.30pm to 4.30pm and part of the morning. Noisy fans under window not switched off until late. Only 2 hangars in room - had to find maid and get more.

For me, the location and the good points outweigh the bad, but they certainly could do better! small things, such as curtains and repairs would make a difference.

Room Tip: Family rooms have a separate lounge area and small wardrobes beside the bed - otherwise it is mainly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Minervah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lund hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
1.6 mi away
Elite Hotel Ideon
Elite Hotel Ideon
#3 of 17 in Lund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotell Nordic Lund
Hotell Nordic Lund
#2 of 17 in Lund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The More Hotel Lund
The More Hotel Lund
#9 of 17 in Lund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Lund
0.6 mi away
Hotel Finn
Hotel Finn
#12 of 17 in Lund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Star Lund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Star Lund

Property: Scandic Hotel Star Lund
Address: 5 Glimmervaegen | P.O. Box 11026, Lund 224 78, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hotel Star Lund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy great food in our restaurant Gerda's, and borrow a bike from Reception to explore Lund attractions like the cathedral. The hotel has 22 meeting rooms for 2-450, all with wireless internet access. Relax in the Scandic Star hotel's sauna or swim lengths in the indoor pool. Tee off at one of several local golf courses, including Akademiska Golf Club, 5 km away. All kids are welcome to Scandic Star. We always have pancakes for the kids and maybe you will even get a chance to meet up with Sigge - our mascot! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Scandic Hotel Star Lund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing