We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, lovely staff”
Review of Grand Hotel Lund

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Lund
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed last weekend. Friendly arrival, lovely room, small for UK standards especially as booked luxury room. But excellent location, great bar/restaurant with very good atmosphere. Very good breakfast but a bit overwhelmed on Sunday when everyone arrived at the same time which clearly was more then could be easily handled. Overall would stay here again, beautiful building, good staff and good service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuG-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 428 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

A big contrast to the majority of hotels in which I have stayed in Scandinavia, this hotel oozes its long history. Conveniently located near both the centre of town and the railway station it is a grat base from which to venture. Reception was welcoming and the wifi free and reliable.
My room was very small but comfortable, but although the side of the hotel is located next to a pedestrian precinct this does not preclude multiple trundling rubbish collection trucks starting before 6.00 in the morning.
As you would expect it was spotless and breakfast was an absolute delight; a wonderful selection of high quality food and great coffee. I particularly enjoyed the herring and various Swedish breads

Room Tip: I have it on good advice that the higher you go the less the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mottyandfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I was invited to stay a night at this beautiful and authentic hotel.

We also enjoyed lunch there and a conference.
The building and the room look great - perhaps not 100% refined or sophisticated, but comfortable;
the service is good, and so is the hospitality, the food we enjoyed can be graded good and the roomservice (I ordered my breakfast to my room) - was more than I could eat and look great - the lady who brought this in was most friendly. When I came back for a short teleconference - the kitchen was closed at 11 am - but we could get our coffee from a nespresso machine and water for free (!) and enjoyed to sit there for over 1 hour - no problem at all. Would recommend them to update their site on fitness facilities.
and certainly would come back again if I had a chance!

Room Tip: Unsure, but I always ask for a quiet room - and in this hotel all rooms are fortunately non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel certainly lives up to its name, but it's rather expensive for what you get, I'd also stayed in another Lund hotel that cost about a third the price of the Grand but provided better value (larger rooms, more facilities in the room, etc). So while there's nothing inherently wrong with the Grand, you can get better value for less money if you're prepared to look.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuturiwhata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

WE took two double rooms for one night while on a road trip around sweden and Denmark, The hotel looks very grand and the staff were very helpful. The rooms were spacious but did not have air conditioning so even though we had the windows open the rooms were very warm. There was no tea or coffee in the rooms, but this maybe a trait of Scandinavian hotels, also no hair drier in the rooms. Breakfast was excellent. We enjoyed our one night stay but it was very expensive, so we would consider other hotels in Lund if we were to visit the city again.

Room Tip: Ask for quieter rooms with air-conditioning or at least a fan when booking if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My husband and I were happy that we chose the Grand Hotel Lund as an alternative to staying in nearby Malmo. This university town is lovely, filled with university students, lively restaurants and stores, and it is easy to get around. The Grand Hotel Lund, a turn of the century beautifully restored hotel, is a worthwhile experience, set in this pretty place, across from a park and an easy walk from the train station. The staff is friendly and helpful, and when we arrived we found that we had been upgraded to a "classic" room. Although on the small side, it was well laid out and looked as if it had been recently renovated with classic furnishings, beautiful wallpaper and a sliding glass door bathroom,wood floors and a chandelier hanging from the high ceiling. Supposedly every room is uniquely decorated, with no room being the same. The hotel interior has retained the beauty of its 1890s origins but has been renovated enough to not seem drab and worn at all. Everything glows and is elegant and classic. Walk right out the door, and everything you need and want is right there, including stores and a variety of restaurants, including a little crepe place right across the side street. The breakfasts were nicely presented with smoked salmon, different types of herring dishes, a variety of meets, great breads, eggs, baked tomatoes, fruit, cookies, cheeses, cereals, nuts, etc. It was especially fun to be in Lund in late August since the students were all over the town, engaged in initiation stunts before classes officially begun, and we enjoyed watching them. This hotel and Lund itself are wonderful, and we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, easy to get to by large stairways. We preferred this to taking the rathe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abhstonybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

From my point of view, given that the room is clean, well-appointed (i.e., free WiFi), and reasonable in size, by far the most important characteristic of any hotel is the quality of the service received. From this perspective, it would be difficult to beat the Grand Hotel Lund. Prior to our arrival I emailed the hotel with several questions and had answers from the concierge/desk staff within an hour or two as well as offers of assistance should we need it. From the moment we checked in until the moment we left, all of the staff (desk, restaurant, bar, maid service) bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable...and did I mention the included breakfast...as good as I have had anywhere in Europe and a great deal better than many. Indeed, the hotel restaurant is excellent and really not much more expensive than others in Lund, despite having the true "grand hotel" ambience and, have I said it, great service!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iverwozzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lund hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lundia
Hotel Lundia
#10 of 17 in Lund
267 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotell Nordic Lund
1.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The More Hotel Lund
The More Hotel Lund
#8 of 17 in Lund
110 reviews
1.4 mi away
Elite Hotel Ideon
Elite Hotel Ideon
#3 of 17 in Lund
435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotell Oskar
Hotell Oskar
#6 of 17 in Lund
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Lund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Lund

Address: 1 Bantorget, Lund 222 29, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Price Range: $170 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Lund 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 100-year-old luxury hotel in Lund, Sweden. Our cuisine is legendary, we have modern conference and banquest facilities adn our staff is friendly and service-oriented For a guest, a hotel stay is all about experience. It goes way beyond just a comfortable bed to sleep in. Even back in 1899, when we first threw open our doors that's what we were thinking. We wanted to give our guests a memorable experience. The décor, the cuisine, the service, the wines, and the atmosphere: everything about the Grand Hotel lives up to its name. The historic Grand Hotel Lund has turned into one of the best hotels in Sweden. Sincerely yours! Grand Hotel Lund ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Lund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing