We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Lund
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveler rating
192
164
62
23
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
164
62
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclassic hoteltrain stationlives up to its namebaked tomatoesother countriesold worldold stylegrand old ladythe large dining roombreakfast buffetsmoked salmonlocated centrallynice showercopenhagen airportsingle roomlactose free milktop floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 452 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012

From my point of view, given that the room is clean, well-appointed (i.e., free WiFi), and reasonable in size, by far the most important characteristic of any hotel is the quality of the service received. From this perspective, it would be difficult to beat the Grand Hotel Lund. Prior to our arrival I emailed the hotel with several questions and had answers from the concierge/desk staff within an hour or two as well as offers of assistance should we need it. From the moment we checked in until the moment we left, all of the staff (desk, restaurant, bar, maid service) bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable...and did I mention the included breakfast...as good as I have had anywhere in Europe and a great deal better than many. Indeed, the hotel restaurant is excellent and really not much more expensive than others in Lund, despite having the true "grand hotel" ambience and, have I said it, great service!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iverwozzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed there on one of my business trips to Sweden last May.Grand old building from the late 1800's with some renovations done to its interior.Top quality Swedish treatment uppon arrival!Courtious and proffesional.
My single room was small but comfortable and the bed,a pleasure to sleep on.
The restaurant was expensive,as restaurants go in Sweden and the service friendly but slow.
Do your self a favour and always book your stay with a travel site such as hotels.com.,since it can save you a lot of money by doing this.I phoned the hotel to book a room first and they asked me for almost double of what I ended up paying through a travel sight.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PonticPride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel is situated closed to the central station of Lund, so are you coming by train, you can easily reach the hotel by foot. But by car, it’s more difficult and you have to park the car at a parking place at least 10 minute’s walk from the hotel as there are no alternatives closer than that.

I know that some people love these kind of old hotels meanwhile I personally prefer something more modern. I paid some extra to get a “Classic room” and had expected a nice, cozy room for me and my wife. But by my opinion, the room and the hotel gave some negative impressions:
1) I went into the lift. “Maximum 5 persons or 400 kg”. When my wife came in to the lift, the lift didn’t close the doors. The lift was overloaded! Two persons, two bags more than 400 kg?
2) The room smelt awfully from the the bathroom’s effluent so the first we had to do was to open the windows and also the room door to achieve some air current
3) The room itself was small and not cozy at all!
4) The shampoo was one small tube and not sufficient for a lady and absolutely not sufficient for two persons. The soap in the shower was surely very exclusive but not so effective to clean a body
5) The soap in the wash-hand basin was round and after it had been wet, it began to slide down to the bottom in the basin again, again and AGAIN!

The restaurant is very good with some delicious dishes with very kind staff. Unfortunately, they had too much work so it took a long time to get the bill so finally we had to tell the staff that “now we leave to room nr xxx” as we hadn’t time to wait more. It wasn’t enough to remind the staff three times that we want the bill! The breakfast was not so varied but everything we could find there, were excellent from local producers.

The regular price for this hotel is absolutely too high, so please look for offers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Someishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Spent 2 nights here in June on business.
The location is good, very central and just a short walk to the train station.
I came by car, but found the hotel didn't offer any car parking facilities, but I could buy a pass for the local car park in the center and charge it to my room although it seemed very expensive. Check in was good and the receptionist was very helpful and friendly.
My room was small, but OK. Clean and tidy, but no tea or coffee making facilities.
The room got very hot, but there was a lot of air-con noise coming from outside, so I had to keep the window shut at night. I had a room at the rear of the hotel which looks out over the rather ugly air conditioning units and rooftops.
The food was good, but limited and expensive, although the waitressing staff were very friendly. There are plenty of restaurants nearby offering more choice at a better price.
Breakfast was good, buffet style with lots of choice.
All in all, an OK tidy hotel with friendly staff, but limited evening food choice and hot rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the hotel if you don't want to listen to air conditioning units all night.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_P23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Booked a single room at an attractive low rate - and that is what I got, probably the smallest room I ever stayed in. Room very hot, even with open window. Sound isolation from late night traffic in the hallway almost non-existent.
Avoid this room-type when possible - it's a shame that they even offer it in this level of hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanJBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews