We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

I was for some reason upgraded to a so called deluxe room and and the room was as expected excellent. Very modern with a huge jacuzzi and panaroma window from the bathroom to the spacious room with its huge flat screen tv. Comfortable beds and all in all a perfect, quiet and room.

The breakfast was also excellent with fresh fruit salad, salmon, herring, sausages, etc. All a Scandinavian business traveller needs! The hotel does not look all that fancy from the outside but it is very nice once you enter the reception.

The hotel is located a easy 10 min walk from central Lund, but conveniently located if coming by car. In conclusion, I loved the Planetstaden and I am sure I would even if I had not been upgraded!

  • Liked — Very nice rooms, friendly staff, great breakfast
  • Disliked — Location is a little off, but manageable
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wiehager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    150
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
51
137
26
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2008

Stayed here for one night business trip.

Clean, modern hotel, had a large room with a balcony, flat screen tv and walk-in shower.

Used the small gym - also a "hot tub" available.

Bar/lounge offered a small range of meals - I had a pizza. The large breakfast buffet was great !

  • Liked — Clean, modern hotel
  • Disliked — A little out of town
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank huw2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
126 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2008

This hotel is located about 10 min walk from Lund city. It's not very impressive from the outside but very clean and modern when you go through the entrance.

I stayed in the new wing and the room was spotless. The room was equipped with a refrigerator, small pentry with a water water boiler. Coffee, chocolate and tea provided.

A big flat-screen TV with a common set of channels including Discovery and CNN. My room had a kingsize bed and a view towards the motorway. This wasn't a problem as the room was very sound-proof.

The bathroom had the usual set of minibottles with schampo, bath gel, body lotion. Also a shower cubicle and a bathtub.

Adjacent to the reception there is a large area with nice seating groups. The reception also functions as the hotel bar. They had a basic but good restaurant service including a few main courses and also pizzas. Breakfast included both scrambled eggs, sausages in addition to what you usually find.

So this isn't a five star hotel. It lacks room service, minibar, pay tv, bathrobe, slippers. No proper hotel shop. But is definitely a four star and highly recommended.

  • Liked — Very clean modern hotel
  • Disliked — Location outside city
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LennW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2008

this hotel was great...very clean and neat. and very modern. i could not hear a sound from any neighboring room.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank greeny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2008

I have stayed many times at Planetstaden and it where a really nice friendly hotel but bad if you don't have a car evan before the rebuilding. I where a bit scared that it would be too much for the staff etc and the first time I stayed whn it where 140 rooms instead of 62 it where a bit messy but the staff are great the rooms with your own exit, SAUNA! etc in the new wing are really great, the hotel is expencive but i much rather pay 1400 here for a deluxe room then 2500 in stockholm!

Great with free coffe and the small restaurang where you can speak directly to the Cheif is great. I always use the gym and it is small but great!

  • Liked — The new wing´, food and service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Iglabacken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2007

Our company approves this hotel for business trips to Lund and it is the cheapest one on their list. In fact, I have stayed at several hotels in Lund and this is better than the more expensive ones. It is on a dull road outside the town centre, so I have always rejected it before. In fact, there is a modern elegance about the place as soon as you enter the lobby and the front desk staff are really friendly.

One wing has completely renovated rooms (I don't what they used to be like) and mine was just right. It even had an orthopedic bed for extra luxury (not that I adjusted it) and a two-ring hob, kettle and sink tucked away in what would normally be one of the wardrobes, so you can make yourself tea or coffee - not a facility you normally find in Swedish hotels. I found it rather cold until I discovered that there was a room thermostat turned right down, so be sure to adjust it to suit you. The well-proportioned bathroom had underfloor heating, so that was very comfortable.

The hotel has a free gym and sauna but I didn't have time to find it.

I didn't fancy the 15-20 minute walk into the centre of Lund to eat out, though turning left out of the hotel and walking in a straight line down Dalbyvägen and across a few crossings will take you straight to the market square, Mårtenstorget, where I recommend Café Finn (across the square) for nouvelle cuisine with a twist, or Stäket (opposite you at the end of the same road) for good food in an atmospheric medieval vault. It's only a short taxi ride if you don't want to walk.

This time I saved the taxi fare and went to check out the hotel restaurant instead. That night it was bursting with a large party, but the staff said they would bring roast beef and potato salad to my room with no extra room service charge. I didn't expect much but it arrived promptly and was a truly exquisite meal. They will also bring you pizza and suchlike if you want a simpler meal.

I warmly recommend this hotel. I had a good night's stay there and preferred it to the Scandic Star Hotel down the road or the Grand Hotel in the middle of town, which are both more formal and overpriced.

  • Liked — The friendly service
  • Disliked — The view (there isn't one).
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank C_the_real_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2005

This hotel is just outside of Lund and because of that the price is very attractive. At first, we were reluctant to book a room there because we couldn't find any pictures on the web or reviews on trip advisor but we gave it a chance. If you visit Lund and have a car I would definitely recommend this place. For what you pay you get to sleep at a functional hotel; standard size rooms, clean and with good breakfast.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank Fuencarral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lund hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotell Nordic Lund
Hotell Nordic Lund
#2 of 17 in Lund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lund
Grand Hotel Lund
#6 of 17 in Lund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
1.0 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Lund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Elite Hotel Ideon
Elite Hotel Ideon
#3 of 17 in Lund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.6 mi away
The More Hotel Lund
The More Hotel Lund
#9 of 17 in Lund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#7 of 17 in Lund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
Address: 38 Dalbyvaegen, Lund 224 60, Sweden (Formerly First Hotel Planetstaden)
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lund
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lund
#1 Family Hotel in Lund
#1 Business Hotel in Lund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Lund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing