We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good business hotel”
Review of Hotel Djingis Khan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Djingis Khan
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Lund
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a lovely hotel with excellent service. I felt very welcome, the staff is super friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious, there is free wifi. Dinner was included in the price and very good. The staff at the bar was friendly. The only negative point is that it is bit outside of the city. It takes 20 minutes to walk to the centre, but the hotel offers bikes for free. Overall, I really liked the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luettchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Djingis Khan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

As budget travelers, this is one of the nicest hotels we've stayed at in Europe. We were given a beautiful room, very spacious with walk-in closet and largest bathroom we've ever had in Europe by far. The price included a nice breakfast buffet and dinner, which saved us a lot of money given the cost of eating out in Sweden. They also have a washer/drier available free of charge, as well as gym facilities and a sauna. The hotel is on the edge of town but we found it within easy walking distance of the center of Lund. They provide free bikes, but our one criticism is that, during our stay, they had too few bikes and so we were unable to use this service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdbrownusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Locaated in the north side of Lund, is very convenient if you have to be in touch with Delphi students' residential area or with Ideon.
It is possible to rent bikes free of charge, which is the best way to go around Lund.
Full breakfast and, included in the price, a pleasant and nice dinner.
Appropriate cost/services ratio.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aldo051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The Djengis Kahn hotel is situated in a quit (dull) suburban area of Lund. Easy to park your car. The hotel itself is warm and cosy, but slightly outdated (as already stated by others) I stayed three nights and booked a single(?) room which was an average sized hotel room with a large bed. Room and bathroom were clean. Free WiFi (although slow connection) and a good breakfast buffet. Dining room is very nice, but small; it has a warm feeling and makes you feel a little at home. It not the standard dining room in an average hotel.To summarize: this hotel has no thrills. I paid around 90 euro's per night which included also dinner. A bargain compared to other Swedish hotels and I would recommend this hotel without a doubt.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hansiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Charming hotel with carefull decoration, friendly service and very good ratio quality/price. Dinner as well as the breakfast makes you feel at home. Very clean and help desk very available. Room´s wireless ínternet is free and signal is strong,however, I had trouble to get a mobile phone signal.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortugueseLullaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The good: First let me say the staff is wonderful. The facility, while immaculately CLEAN, is dated.

The breakfast buffet was nice because it is convenient, however the eggs were not cooked prior to being put in the chaffing dish and thus they were typically very runny unless you got there as the pan was near empty and the rest could get hot enough to cook. i only ate dinner there once and it was fine, although not restaurant quality.

The beds were very comfortable, there was plenty of hot water, and the water pressure was great. Heated towel bars in the bathroom.

The bar is spartan but do serve beer, wine and spirits.

The wireless connection was amazing! I video-skype'd daily with my kids in the states and rarely had an issue.

The TV gets 10 or so channels, some are english speaking.

If you took the train to Lund, don't bother with an expensive taxi, just hop the #3 bus. Your train ticket makes the ride free and the bus stop is 15 meters from the front door.

Not as good:
As a previous reviewer stated, the bathroom, upon arrival had a sewer odor. I complained to the desk staff who could not move me to a different room but told me it would be taken care of and I never noticed it again after that day (they fixed it while i was away at work).

Typical aged European hotel: no mechanical ventilation to speak of but the window did open. This didn't help with bathroom odors however.

This place is a brisk 15-20 minute walk to the center of town or a taxi will cost you $15usd for the 5 minute ride.

The 'wardrobe' is very narrow and you only get 3 hangers so plan ahead.

I would make every effort to stay at the Grand, the Lundia, or the Planetstaten if I return. If none of those are available, i would stay here again as i know it would not be terrible.

I stayed in room 215.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

As others have said previously, this was very nice, quiet and clean hotel but a bit outdated. Service was friendly. Wireless internet was also included in the price. It worked fine, except for voice chat you might need to sit on the comfortable chairs in the hallway to have a good signal.

The hotel is located in a quiet residential area; maybe about 2 km / 20 min walk from the city center with bus stop for bus number 5 just in front of the hotel (max 5 min from city center by bus). The whole area is safe so it is okay to walk there in the evenings, but just around the hotel there is nothing to see.

Dinner was included in the price and it was very basic Scandinavian style buffet with about two options like cabbage casserole and mushroom soup. It was okay at least for Scandinavians but nothing special.

There was nothing wrong with the hotel with easy access to the city center by bus and free dinner and breakfast. But in the future I might prefer a hotel in the center.. At least if visiting the southern areas of the university. The Lund city center was very nice and small with some good looking restaurants. Almost all stores closed at 7 pm but with the train station in the center, you could easily visit Malmö or Copenhagen.

(If you take a taxi in Lund, be sure to check the rates beforehand since they might overcharge you.)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annu1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lund hotels
0.8 mi away
Elite Hotel Ideon
Elite Hotel Ideon
#3 of 17 in Lund
414 reviews
1.6 mi away
Good Morning Lund
Good Morning Lund
#12 of 17 in Lund
230 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Scandic Hotel Star Lund
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Lund
Grand Hotel Lund
#5 of 17 in Lund
399 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotell Nordic Lund
Hotell Nordic Lund
#2 of 17 in Lund
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Djingis Khan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Djingis Khan

Address: 7 Margaretavaegen, Lund 222 40, Sweden (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Djingis Khan)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lund
Price Range: $110 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Djingis Khan 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Djingis Khan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lund
Lund Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing