We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience in Lund”
Review of Hotell Ahlstrom

Hotell Ahlstrom
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lund
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotell Ahlstrom
Ranked #7 of 10 Lund B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Convenience in Lund”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Coming from a glitzy hotel in Malmo, the Ahlstrom was quite a difference experience. I don't want to sound like I am being negative because there isn't much to fault in Ahlstrom's service and intent.

Located right in the historic part of Lund it is an easy walk to the station and the local attractions. It is an old building and you have to allow for the fact the rooms have limitations in their basic structure and space. The bedroom is fairly small ( the fire escape map suggests it is one of the larger ones on this floor) the bathroom is a little cramped, there is a little older flat screen TV hanging on the wall and one wall fitting (light-cabinet) would look comfortable in a retro shop. It is, however clean and hygienic.

We are on the third floor (remembering there is no "ground floor" in Sweden) and with the studio windows closed the street noise is low. Leave them open on a Saturday evening, though, and the noise will be intrusive.

There is no dining room and breakfast is brought to the room precisely at the nominated time. The tray of breakfast is standardised but it is quite adequate. Towels and bedding was changed every day of our six night stay.

The free internet was a big issue for us because the signal strength up in our room was very patchy and we often found ourselves sitting at the top of the irregular staircase to do our communications.

The staff were polite and attended to our needs, particularly when we locked ourselves out of our room.

Lund is an attractive town with some historic sites and worth a stop-over. Ahlstrom is a fine place to stay at a budget.

Room Tip: Third floor studio room is above the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiasco-ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
5
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was good for its price. It was right in the centre of Lund (walking distance from the railway station). We had a room without a bathroom, but the bathroom was next door to the room and we never had to wait for it so that was fine. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. There was a couch with a coffee table and a wash basin. The breakfast in the room was a fun novelty, and was also a pretty good breakfast.

The only issue was our arrival: when we booked this hotel we were asked what time we would arrive - I wrote back to say between 17:00 and 19:00. When we arrived at 17:05 we pushed the buzzer and were let in (apparently remotely) but had to wait for some time (probably only a few minutes, although it always feels longer) for the reception person to show up and give us our key. That was the only flaw in what was otherwise a good stay. I would go back there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

In the center of Lund. The staff are great (the best service and enthusiasm I ever experienced). Breakfast on the room (you choose the time you want) free wifi, tv and so on...

Lost my keycard..Got an sms from the hotel, they gave me a code to the hotel entrance door, and then a code to a security box where my new card to the door waited for me...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasmuskrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel is a ten minute walk from the train station and a 3 minute walk from the cathedral. The room we stayed in had a mini sofa and was very comfortable. The breakfast is simple but you can have it anytime you want. The staff and very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubin852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We spend a night in a standard double room en suite, and then stayed a few nights in the apartment (2 beds, tv, couch, dining room, kitchenette, big closet, private bathroom). Both rooms were excellent with a large private shower. The staff is very friendly and will help wherever possible. It is nice that the breakfast is served in the room, and you can decide when exactly. This is something you don't have when staying in a big hotel. The location is excellent, on the central square of Lund and at 5 min from the main building of the university. Shops, restaurants and caffees are within walking distance. Definitely recommended! The floor of the room could use some cleaning, and when entering the corridors seem out of date ... but otherwise everything was fine!

Room Tip: The apartment was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

this is a super simple hotel in the hearth of lund. toilets and showers are in the corridor, but the rooms are clean, with tv, free wi-fi, and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast is served in the room as there are no restaurant facilities. so yes, it's a basic hotel, but it's located in the centre of Lund and it's cheap...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scuzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Except for two of their rooms (one with bathroom and one apt), this is a shabby, ooold youth hostel without any amenities at all (you get a breakfast tray though). Very worn-down and I'm surprised they are allowed to call themselves a hotel (and they don't have youth hostel prices or other stuff like sitting lounge, kitchen, microwave etc). Staff is friendly though & breakfast ok.
Lack of showers and bathrooms in the corridor as well, although there is Tv in the room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewEmpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lund hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotell Nordic Lund
Hotell Nordic Lund
#2 of 17 in Lund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#7 of 17 in Lund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lundia
Hotel Lundia
#8 of 17 in Lund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Lund
Grand Hotel Lund
#6 of 17 in Lund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
StayAt Lund
StayAt Lund
#11 of 17 in Lund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Planetstaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Ahlstrom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Ahlstrom

Property: Hotell Ahlstrom
Address: 3 Skomakaregatan, Lund 223 50, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Lund
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lund
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing