We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quality Hotel Grand
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kristianstad
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently. First impression is that hotel looks nothing like the photos on its website. We were sure we were at the wrong place. The first room we were given was aweful and staff, while friendly at first, immediately became sullen and rude when we asked if we could change to a room that looked like the one we had been told we paid for. Stuck my head into a few rooms as they were being cleaned and room quality, size and decor vary wildly so as a tip look at your room first. About a third of the hotel is renovated and out the back of another hotel but connected through internal hallways. Our room was clean, but ordinary with a very very small bathroom (the smallest by far on all our European travels) and was over a nightclub so was very noisy. The location is good in terms of close to downtown and the train station. The hotel is small from front but huge inside and lacks care. Decent if you just want a place to sleep but could definitely be improved.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzietraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    88
    96
    39
    19
See reviews for
35
95
20
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The name Grand Hotel comes with certain expectations. The service was good, but the hotel has seen better days even though the rooms seemed newly renovated.
I found the hotel lacking in privacy. Rooms 127-132 are very noisy due to the street outside. There are no thin curtains to shut out the view and only heavy curtains that also shut out the daylight. With doors that need an extra push to close there is a lot of noise from slamming of doors.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LottaaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityKristianstad, General Manager at Quality Hotel Grand, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Noise is very annoying in general and noise generated from doors slamming in particular. We obviously need to check every door closely so that they shut properly and as silently as possible. Work in progress....
Noise coming from outside the hotel is however more difficult to handle and if you are street noise sensitive a room facing the yard might be a better option?
i am happy yhat you found the service as one of the good things during your stay. We aim to make your stay as friendly as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was my first time anywhere in Sweden. I came out for the Sweden Rock Fest and not knowing the area and being a little unsure of the weather I decided to opt for a hotel and shuttle. This hotel work perfectly as it was right next to a train station that had a direct train line from the Copenhagen airport.

First off the location is great. You can see it from the train station and it's maybe a 2 minute walk if that.

The pro's. The staff were great and very accommodating. They were always very cheerful and willing to help with any questions I had. The room was cleaned daily and very well. The included breakfast was great. I've paid extra for food that wasn't have as good or even come close to the selection.

Con's. About the only thing I can say is that the rooms are a bit tired and worn and could be updated. Even that wouldn't stop me from coming back though. I believe they also jacked the price up a bit for the festival, but then again, who doesn't.

All in all when I come back to Kristianstad this is where I will be staying and would encourage anyone else to also..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retrovertigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityKristianstad, General Manager at Quality Hotel Grand, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you so much fot praising the staff. We try to see every guest even when we are as busy as during the Sweden Rock Festival.
Breakfast is very important to us and we want our guests to have a great start each morning so that they have an even greater day....
Yes some of our rooms might be considered tired but we also have a number of recently refurbished rooms that could be an option if you find your room a bit unsatisfactory.

Hope to see you next time when you visit Sweden an. SRF

Kenneth Hoffstrom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Friendly staff and OK rooms. I stay there frequently due to its location. I have experienced missing TV remotes and small irritating things but overall its probably the best in the city.Close to a nice pub. Its a small swedish town so all shops close at 6 pm....The restaurant is a bit overpriced and maybe thats whay its so empty, as there are many alternatives in the surroundings. Breakfast is excellent though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larsgwennerholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityKristianstad, General Manager at Quality Hotel Grand, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Those small irritating things are just what we are focusing on to get rid of. So important!
We hope that every little mistake that we eventually make will be rectified ASAP and with a smile.
"Breakfast is excellent" - Thank you, and now even better! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sjotorp, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Grand has nothing to be ashamed over.
GREAT friendly staff, positive and alert!
Easy to find somewhere to park the car, in the middle of it all, nice breakfast, clerk room AND a thermos of fresh brewed coffee in the reception area! Hat of for that!
Now finally comes my "but"
Is it allowed to have such booring rooms?

Where did the love to the customer go?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityKristianstad, General Manager at Quality Hotel Grand, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
GREAT that you give the staff such good praise! We love our guests and we love to show it.
Sad that we could not accommodate you regarding the room. However should you return, I am sure that you will be able to see that we have other not so boring rooms as well. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
141 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed there 4 days for a meeting. The hotel was nice and clean and I think most rooms were newly renovated. My room was renovated and had a small sofa snd a writing desk as well. There were 2 flat TV-screens in the room. There was a very tine wardrobe where I could hang clothes. The bathroom was nice and clean. The fridge for the minibar broke and was not fixed during my entire stay - no beers in the room !
The breakfast was plentiful and OK.

Room Tip: Make sure that You get a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityKristianstad, General Manager at Quality Hotel Grand, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding the broken minibar. It is very important that every single item in a room is working properly and this should have been checked and rectified even before your check-in. A new check on routines hasbeen made. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our room was small but the furniture was in good shape and overall the room itself was pretty nice. However, our room was located above a busy kebab stand and we stayed here on a Friday evening so it was quite loud. Also, the corridors looked quite old and sound insulation provided by the room doors is terrible. The hotel's restaurant is shut down. Parking is available on the street outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsinki123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityKristianstad, General Manager at Quality Hotel Grand, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for review and for making us aware that better signs are needed to show where our restaurant is located during the summer season. We will be better in the future informing our guests also at check-in of that fact.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kristianstad hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kristianstad hotels
0.1 mi away
First Hotel Christian IV
First Hotel Christian IV
#7 of 7 in Kristianstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.3 mi away
Annas Hotell
Annas Hotell
#1 of 7 in Kristianstad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Anno 1937
BEST WESTERN Hotel Anno 1937
#4 of 7 in Kristianstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stads Hotellet Kristianstad
Stads Hotellet Kristianstad
#3 of 7 in Kristianstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Duxiana Kristianstad
Hotel Duxiana Kristianstad
#5 of 7 in Kristianstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bishops Arms
Hotel Bishops Arms
#6 of 7 in Kristianstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Grand

Property: Quality Hotel Grand
Address: 15 Vaestra Storgatan, Kristianstad 291 32, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Kristianstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kristianstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Grand 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kristianstad
Quality Hotel Kristianstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing