We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day out for all the family”
Review of Sofiero Slott

Sofiero Slott
Ranked #1 of 67 things to do in Helsingborg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sofiero Palace was, until the 1970s, a summer residence for Swedish royalty. The magnificent heritage of thousands of rhododendrons, beds, borders and kitchen gardens is carefully tended by a team of dedicated experts. In 2010, Sofiero was voted Europe’s Best Park.Sofiero is situated just north of the town of Helsingborg in southern Sweden. Interesting exhibitions in the palace and a variety of exciting events and activities in the beautiful park and gardens are some of the things you can look forward to when planning your visit. The season, during which the palace, shops, restaurant and café are open for visitors, starts March 31 and ends in September. However, you are welcome to visit Sofiero for a guided tour, a walk in the park and a chance to enjoy the view over the strait of Öresund to Denmark at any time of the year.
Cullercoats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out for all the family”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you are looking for a full day out for all ages this is the place. We visited with my daughter and her children. My grandson loved the two mazes and we had to drag him away from the childrens' area - there was so muc for him to do: playground, play house, shop, garden, dressing up. The gardens are beuatiful. We didn't have time to go into the house. the restaurant provided a healthy and excellent lunch with something to suit everyone in our party.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HB2981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    154
    26
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“fantastic guide for a Swedish gem”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Sofiero slott and garden are exceptionally charming and the whole scenario absolutely worth a visit. The competence and friendliness of the guide Daniela added considerable value and made the whole experience even more interesting (thank you!).
The strong point of the visit is the garden, also offering extraordinary views of the öresund.

Highly recommended (notice the entrance is about 80-85 SEK for adults).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bluto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Lovely place for lunch and viewing the gardens in summer. The self paced tour of the castle shares it's history via photos and writings of the royal family.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful gardens!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

These are spectacular! If you can visit end May to June, the Rhododendrons are amazing! out of this world.
I had read previous reviews that said the food was poor and expensive, but it was actually good value for money in Swedish terms and brilliant quality! An open sandwich was 7 GBP ish, and much better quality than what you might get at home, so treat yourself!
We visited from the Grand Princess cruise ship, at the harbourside the tourist guide ordered us a taxi and then when we had finished, the entrance office at the palace ordered us one back, price 15 GBP approx.
We wish we had spent the day there! Enjoy! even in the rain!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahWyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Rhododendrons in different colours are in full bloom at this time of the year. (Early June). A fantastic place for a nice long walk. The castle also has a cafe where you can hop in for a quick coffee and seat yourself at a table overlooking the Sea.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayanthi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sofiero Slott also viewed

Helsingborg, Skane County
 

Been to Sofiero Slott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing