We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disapointing”
Review of Hotel Helsing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Helsing
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Helsingborg
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite disapointing”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The location is good. Room is spacious! So far so good.
My TV did not work. I have the same tv at home so I know how it works!! RUBISH. Trying to call to reception but no indication on the phone what number to call to get to reception. I tried most buttons on the phone but I did not get in touch with anyone. It did not even ring on the otherside.
The Helsing bar in the same building as the hotel is popular I presume. Downside when your a hotelguest is that smokers outside make a lot of noise. Also the music/ beat was very intense. So this kept me awake almost allnight. Funny thing when getting out of the shower teh nexst morning is that I noticed the 2 sets of earplugs!! HAHAHA never seen that amenity before as a standard in a hotelroom. Breakfast was ok. Best thing was the availibility of FRESH orange juice. Praise the lord! The Highlight of this hotel. However no service to be found in miles.
I'd try another hotel next time. I am sure I will be able to get some more sleep!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    82
    54
    22
    14
See reviews for
30
134
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
156 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I stayed here for business on February 6th. The rooms are a bit small, but perfectly adequate. The hotel is in a very old and refurbished building and the decor is a bit victorian. Breakfast is included in the rate. Parking is quite difficult as you must park a few blocks away from the hotel. Be aware that a medium to large vehicle would not easily fit in this parking garage. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was very clean. Internet was free and fast.

The big selling point for this hotel is the location. I cannot describe how convenient this hotel is to every major shopping area and historical area of Helsingborg. This sells the property by itself.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed one night for business (Wednesday-Thursday). The room was nice (business) and the bed was very good. You can't be more central of Helsingborg than this hotel. A standard breakfast not more and not less. Avoid the parkering it is a couple of blocks away and costs 15 Euro. At the same time parkering is free during the night on the streets. I will get back to this hotel next time I visit Helsingborg due to the very service minded staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEI-Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Well, I was a bit disappointed about the hotel. We decided to take a studio, but apparently it was not in the same building as the hotel, but 5 mins walk away. Also, there were some people knocking to our room at midnight, since there were regular apartments there too. On the other hand, breakfast was fine, and the location is just perfect, 10 minutes walk from the ferry station, and just in the very heart of the city center.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerzy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I stayed at this hotel Sunday-Wednesday for work. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I got a room on the third floor next to the lift. The room was big and great but I'm a light sleeper and it was impossible for me to sleep due to the lift going up and down all the time. It was no problem changing room, I got a smaller room but as nice as the first. Both rooms were quite cold, I recommend bringing warm slippers if you stay in late autumn or winter. Both rooms also had nice big clean bathrooms.
The breakfast lounge is nice and the breakfast is ok, nothing special but not bad either. The location of the hotel is great, close to ferry terminal, train and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soffis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The rooms are nice and the staff are very friendly but the nightclub in the hotel on a Friday and Saturday night is a real problem. Even though I was on the 3rd floor the noise made it virtually impossible to sleep. For this reason alone I wouldn't recommend staying here at the weekend unless you are planning to go to sleep after 2:00 a.m.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Calders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Cosy and well placed hotel, charming room - and great bathroom :-) Very close to main train station and the pedestrian streets.
Only minus is that friday and saturday evenings the DJ started up below our room at 22:00 CET and continues till 02:00. No wonder the out earplugs in the bathroom. Possibly a summer thing and the place is open to the street - where the DJ is.

Room Tip: Stay away from romms over the DJ place! Ask reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsingborg hotels
0.2 mi away
V Hotel Helsingborg, BW PREMIER Collection
0.0 mi away
Elite Hotel Mollberg
Elite Hotel Mollberg
#3 of 20 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
#4 of 20 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Grand Hotel
Clarion Grand Hotel
#5 of 20 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Metropol Hotel, Helsingborg
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Duxiana
Best Western Hotel Duxiana
#7 of 20 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helsing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helsing

Property: Hotel Helsing
Address: 20 Stortorget, Helsingborg 252 23, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Helsingborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Helsingborg
#8 Luxury Hotel in Helsingborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Helsing 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Helsing is located in the heart of Helsingborg. Our 56 rooms are decorated in a classic hotel style with a personal touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Helsing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Helsingborg
Helsingborg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing