We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Helsingborg
Certificate of Excellence
Småland
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel.”
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff was perfect and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders_Birgitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    256
    111
    34
    14
See reviews for
117
302
20
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel loads of times with colleagues for business. Usually this was just for a couple of nights but we also spent 5 consecutive nights there on a training course.
The rooms are really modern, clean and tastefully furnished. Downstairs, the lobby is quite traditional, there is a coffee bar where you can pretty much always help yourself to a coffee, there is a restaurant, which I never ate in (we always went out and tried local resaurants in town), and a bar, which is actually fairly characterless, but I have had some excellent times there in a big group, and some quieter times on late arrival on a sunday night ready for an early start monday morning.
The staff are always very polite, and helpful, and naturally speak perfect english (I guess their Swedish must be pretty good to, but I cant guarantee that).
From a business point of view, we used some nice meeting rooms, they seemed to have a good selection of projectors etc, but best of all (and I actually think this is one of the brilliant things about working in Sweden), coffee breaks in sweden are called "fika" and you don't just get coffee, you get cake! Swedes are expert at the coffee/cake combo. I swear I got fat on the training course at this hotel, because every time we had a coffee break, we had cake. Fika is such a cool tradition.
Anyway, Helsigborg itself, like many swedish towns is pretty quiet at night, quite a few places to go but all pretty civilised. If you plan to go out drinking, take plenty of money because it is not cheap!
I have many fond memories of this hotel. I dont work for the company anymore, which got taken over by an american company, and I gather they dont use this hotel so much, preferring a soul-less motel type accomodation much much closer to HQ in Angelholm. Shame, we had a great time here.
If I was going to that part of Sweden I'd stay here again

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizandtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ihtiman, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

The name was quite pretending, the hotel is an old building which is done & repaired in pretty good way. The non-luxury room is quite small but it is 'friendly environment' .
Also the reception-desk girls are amazing ! :)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondesKiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Location of hotel was excellent - a few minutes walk from harbour, ferry terminal and train station. There are many restaurants and nice bars close by but as per the rest of Sweden they are quite pricey. There is a market outside most days selling nice food and souvenirs, however can be a bit noisy. There is also a convenience store and coffee shop joined on to the hotel.

Service was efficient and check-in/out was very quick.

Rooms were quite small especially the bathroom but adequate. Rooms to the front of the hotel are noisy due to bars and market below.

Helsingborg itself was a lovely town and the hotel was a good base.

Breakfast was ok but the coffee shop joined on to the hotel was much better - excellent coffee, pastries, muffins etc.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainemcgeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We read the reviews on TripAdvisor about this hotel and decided to include this hotel in our travels. What a mistake! This is a terrible place to stay! Not worth wasting your money staying here.
We arrived in Helsingborg on the ferry from Denmark and made our way to the hotel which is pretty much in the centre of town - traffic is terrible in this town and finding a parking near the hotel is next to impossible. When we finally found an expensive parking spot on the street (one hour maximum), got our suitcases out and lugged them up the street to the hotel, we were told the room was not ready - even though it was past 3pm. We were told to return in a few hours. So we toured the sights and returned to the hotel at about 7pm and were finally given our room which was on the first floor overlooking the main street.
The room looked quite comfortable and we were looking forward to a much needed good night's sleep until the live music began in the bar below at about 9pm .... at first this was quite ballads but then it got louder and louder - the floor and walls were actually thumping to the beat. The walls and floors in this hotel are paper thin and trying to read, watch TV or, heaven help you, SLEEP is impossible in this hotel when the band plays - which I imagine is very frequently. We can hear every word, chord, yelp from below - it feels like the band and the crowds are in the room with us.
We were not informed about the live band and the noise when we checked into the hotel. By midnight, we could take it no more and called the front desk to try to change rooms but they said this was impossible. The live music is set to go onto 1:30am so I am doing the only meaningful thing to do in the situation ..... using the internet connection to write this review.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone other than those who plan to stay awake all night. This hotel is pretty pricey and you can find much better choices in this town. We feel very cheated staying here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tinker777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

This Hotel in Helsingborg Sweden was Wonderful. We came to town for a family wedding and this was the Hotel that guests were booked at. We loved it. Spacious Room, View of the Street was Great, but a bit noisy if the windows are open on Friday and Saturday Nights. Close to everything since the Hotel is right Downtown, which was a plus. INCLUDED a Fantastic Breakfast Buffet, they even have a a smaller children's breakfast buffet. Room Service was quick to deliver, but too expensive for what you get. Biggest Plus is that there is also a playroom in the Hotel for Small Children, we must have dropped in there for a few minutes everyday. We were able to walk all over, and the Castle in town is right up on the Hill as you turn right out of the Hotel Entrance. Up by the castle is also a great park to walk around in or sit on a bench and relax. The Coffee Shop across the Street is Out of Sight!

  • Liked — The location was great, Breakfast Buffet, and the Child Friendly Quality.
  • Disliked — Street Noise from Surrouding Establishments.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank botanical_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuggiono, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2007

I've stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during a business trip. The location is great, in Helsingborg main square, between the harbour and the castle.
Rooms are very clean, quite large and the bed is really comfortable. The hotel was offering free wi-fi internet connection included in the rate. Breakfast is ok, whereas the bar is open until late in the night and offer good cocktails.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank davesax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsingborg hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Metropol Hotel, Helsingborg
0.2 mi away
V Hotel Helsingborg, BW PREMIER Collection
0.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
#4 of 20 in Helsingborg
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elite Hotel Mollberg
Elite Hotel Mollberg
#3 of 20 in Helsingborg
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Duxiana
Best Western Hotel Duxiana
#6 of 20 in Helsingborg
226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
#7 of 20 in Helsingborg
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Grand Hotel

Property: Clarion Grand Hotel
Address: Stortorget 8-12, Helsingborg 252 23, Sweden (Formerly Radisson SAS Grand)
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Helsingborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsingborg
#2 Family Hotel in Helsingborg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsingborg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Helsingborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Helsingborg
Helsingborg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing