We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Helsingborg
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Passing through area wuth my family and was so taken by Helsinburg that we decided to stay. The hotel made a big mistake in their pricing but stood over their mistake. We got the room half price but there was no skimping on the service. First class. And a great breakfast as well. Can't praise highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia R, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your respond. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back to us.
Cecilia Rosqvist, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    224
    96
    28
    11
See reviews for
99
253
20
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for a personal trip and this hotel was ok, but not more. The room I got was fairly big and the bathroom was nice except for the bathtub. You had to JUMP into it. It was very high up.

The breakfast was good and had a lot of variates.

The best part was the location. Very close to the ferries to Denmark, shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimZon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia R, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your respond. Welcome back to us!
Cecilia Rosqvist, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aschaffenburg
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

A nice and clean hotel with very good breakfast and clean but very small rooms.
The staff is really friendly and helpful, the breakfast/restaurant area is really nice and the integrated mini market a real plus. Breakfast ist great, also.

But the age of the building itself sets the limits for this hotel. Interesting, but old and slow elevators. My room was either too hot or too loud when I opened the window - air/c didn´t work well. And, as I said, even for a basic room quite small - felt more like a cabin on a cruise ship than a hotel room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jobager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia R, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and taking time to write your respond. Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I recommend you to try our De Luxe room for your next stay. Those rooms are bigger with bed and sofa. Welcome back!
Cecilia Rosqvist, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed here for 4 weeks in April/May this year. My main impression was of consistent inconsistency. The rooms vary considerably. Rooms on the first and second floors in the newer part of the hotel were mostly fine; well insulated against cold and sound from the main street outside with spacious bathrooms. However, on the fourth floor and in the old part of the hotel things weren't so good; ceilings were low, bathrooms small and badly planned. Sometimes you got a bar of soap, tissues, a sink plug, other times some or all of these were absent. The only consistent things were the poor quality bed linen and pillows and the absence of tea & coffee making facilities. The restaurant, although a pleasant place to eat, had a very limited unchanging menu with some really flavourless starters. I shall be changing hotels next week.

Room Tip: Avoid the old part of the hotel and ask for the first or second floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pzeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia R, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear,
Thank you for taking time to write about your stay at our hotel. I´m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy it.
I would like to talk more with you abour your stay and what we can do better in the future.
Please contact me.
Best Regards,
Cecilia Rosqvist, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed just one night and hotel under refurbishment so main restaurant was closed and breakfast in alternate room but it was not an issue for me

have styaed there before and would do so again for convenience of location

Good value

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppaHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia R, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a respond about your stay. Welcome back to us!
Best Regards, Cecilia Rosqvist Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed 2 night's [currently still here on 2nd night], I have never left a review on a hotel before but just had to.

No facilities are available, the restaurant isn't open to guests; only to VIPS! If a guest at a hotel isn't a VIP I don't know what is. To make it worst I was told by reception that room service also inst available as the chefs have had too busy a day.

To cap it all returned to my room at the end of a day at work to find room service hadn't even been to my room and was told they had finished at 5pm!

Unbelievable.

Room Tip: check the facilities they say they have on the website are actually available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilD177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia R, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear,
I´m really sorry to hear that you did´t get the information about our restaurant and room service.
At the time of your stay we renovated our restaurant so that´s why it wasn´t open.
Now the restaurant is open again.
Please don´t hesitate to contact me by email and I will send you a compansation for this inconvience.
cecilia.rosqvist@choice.se
Best Regards, Cecilia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We often come to stay in Helsingborg on our frequent trips between Europe and Norway. This hotel is well situated in the city centre and near the ferry. It dates and the different rooms can be of varying quality. Although the first impression in the nicer rooms can be quite good, the freestanding, resounding metal bath tubs are a real letdown. You would expect them in an old 1-star hotel, but not here. Fortunately, they have started giving substantial rebates because of the ongoing work.
The worst experience though, is the terrible service. When asked if it was possible to keep our luggage somewhere in the hotel for two hours, the guy behind the counter would just arrogantly point to a stair behind the elevator. The luggage room is 17 steps down in the basement WITHOUT being able to use that elevator! I was furious heaving down and up all the luggage for a family with a small child and a toddler. In another country there would have been someone from the hotel who would have helped, but scandinavian egalitarian society makes, that this kind of help is impossible to get by. I don't want an old fashioned hierarchic society but here, I consider this part of the service in a hotel. They just watch their clients struggle without caring at all. You experience this attitude throughout Scandinavia, but with these stairs to a luggage room, it's worth pointing out.

Room Tip: The rooms in the second floor have very high ceilings. Towards the square is better, as on the backs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flagellodidio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia R, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking time to make a comment about your stay.
I´m sorry to hear that our staff did not help you with your luggage. But I hope you will come back to us so that we can help you the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsingborg hotels
0.1 mi away
Elite Hotel Mollberg
Elite Hotel Mollberg
#3 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.2 mi away
V Hotel Helsingborg, BW PREMIER Collection
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Metropol Hotel, Helsingborg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
#4 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
#6 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Duxiana
Best Western Hotel Duxiana
#7 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Grand Hotel

Property: Clarion Grand Hotel
Address: Stortorget 8-12, Helsingborg 252 23, Sweden (Formerly Radisson SAS Grand)
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Helsingborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsingborg
#2 Family Hotel in Helsingborg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsingborg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Helsingborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Helsingborg
Helsingborg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing