We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-priced ¿4? star hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Grand Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Clarion Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Helsingborg
Certificate of Excellence
madrid
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Over-priced ¿4? star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel during a conference in Helsingborg. I chose it because it was included in a "special offer" from the conference and the reviews in TripAdvisor were OK.

The location of the hotel is the best value, as it is placed within a walking distance of all the attractions and main shopping areas, as well as the station. The reception is large and the people there are quite friendly.

However, when I got into the room, I was completely disappointed. The size of the whole room was 2.5*3 meters, including a table, two chairs and a mini bed (90 cm). I could not place my luggage on the floor because there was no physical space to do that. Moreover, the wardrobe was 25 cm wide with one shelf on the top. Therefore, I had to put my suitcase in the small place between the bed and the wall.

The bathroom was not so bad as it has been renewed. However, there were no amenities such as a comb or a shower cup. You had to go to reception to ask for one. I was also lucky because I had a window which helped in not finding trapped in the room.

The heating of the room was so low that I asked for another blanket. The light was also very low so you have to switch on all the lamps that were there. The only positive surprise was the WiFi network, which worked very well during the whole stay.

I travel quite a lot and I think the room can be compared to a 2-star pension or even a hostel. Moreover, I was charged by the "special price" more than the normal price on weekends. Therefore, I just complained at the reception and they upgraded me to a really 4-star hotel bedroom with the standarized sizes for everything. In this case, I have to thank the people at reception, who were very keen.

Food was the only remarkable issue of the hotel. I had dinner at the Lounge and the quality and quantity of the dishes was good. Breakfast was very complete and there were even fresh oranges to make your own juice. Although there were normally quite a lot of people, the staff was very diligent and there was always everything ready.

As a conclusion, I would say that if you reserve a single room, be careful and do not pay more than 50 to 55 euro for that, as you will get this hostel room. I think the hotel should take care about this and how it handles "special prices" to groups. For the same price, I will not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marialisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    224
    96
    29
    11
See reviews for
100
254
20
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel in january wile in Helsingborg for a conference. I really do not understand how the hotel could have win a traveller's choice Award. The staff is polite but the room, 233, was a big disappoitment. Very small with a single bed and a bathroom so tiny You could not imagine. There was no space to even open the luggage. Poor amenities in the bathroom and a breakfast fine but with no interaction at all with the staff. Sorry but i do not agree with the other reviewers and, being an hotel manager myself, i hope that,s the only room so tiny they may have. Finally the pictures on the website do not refilerà exactly the hotel situation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giancarlo_Carniani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Feeling like going abroad, but short on funds, we decided to take a trip to Helsingborg, which although being only an hour away by train and ferry from Copenhagen, is Sweden and thus a different country. So we dove into the joys of (almost) confusing coins, (almost) strange foods and the thrills of ordering from a menu in a (almost) foreign language. All the while being able (almost) to see home just across the water…
The Grand Hotel is a charming old building in the middle of Helsingborg, so you are conveniently located for walking to most places of interest: The old fortress Kärnan, the shopping district, the harbor, the ferry etc. The hotel is nice, with good beds, clean bathroom and a huge breakfast buffet. Standing in line is not a Scandinavian strength; it more like the ‘First Viking in raids the table’…
On weekends there are quite a few partygoers checked into the hotel and a large bar on the ground floor – which during the day is a café. So if you prefer quietness, once you retire, ask for a room at the top. That was where we stayed, and the rooms are cosy with pitched ceilings and a sideways view of the water.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Smallish_mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

The location of this hotel is just great. It is close to everything! The rooms are roomy and the hotel is really beautifully decorated as well. Beds were supercomfortable but the breakfast was a bit of a dissapointment, to be honest, not up to par with most Swedish hotels.

The elevator in this hotel is really cool, be sure to take it if you can!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbaDTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGrand, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the breakfast, we often get positive feedback, please come back one more time and give us another chance to proove how proud we are over it.

Welcome back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

A short business trip was made easier and more enjoyable by the location and quality at this hotel. It is right across from the railway/bus station in the centre of town - ideal if you fly into Copenhagen and take the train to Helsingborg or if you want to take a walk around this nice town in the evening. (Don't worry being close to the station is only good news unlike in some cities.)
The restaurant is functional with excellent steaks and a quality breakfast buffet which starts early enough to allow you make early morning meetings, trains or planes. Free wifi throughout and its fast and easy. There are a range of leisure activities offered which unfortunately I had not time to try. The decor is interesting and very Scandinavian giving a genuine atmosphere to the hotel.
Drawbacks - my room was a little small and a holiday or weekend traveler might want to enquire as to the size of the room before booking. Service pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask about the size of the rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Discoverireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGrand, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We have a number of different rooms and roomtypes in various sizes, please just let us know your needs the next time you make the reservation. I hope we will see you as our guest soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

The hotel still has great substance and can be recommended for nice rooms and good quality of sleep. However the operator change from SAS Radisson to Clarion seems not to be helping.

The extra something in service making a hotel great is gone. Attention to detail is lacking and so is cleanliness in some areas (breakfast buffet with dirty silverware etc etc).

So the hotel can be recommended if a good rate is available. Otherwise look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nordictraveler_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGrand, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank You for your feedback, we need that to improve ourselves.
I hope you will come back to us the next time You visit Helsingborg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

This was a great place to stay if you want to treat yourself. The location is unbeatable. The breakfast buffet has a great selection. It is fresh and if good quality.
The front desk was very helpful and friendly.
Don't forget to use the complimentary relaxation room and sauna. I stayed with my senior mom and she was impressed with the breakfast. And the beds are very comfortable

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aiwen33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGrand, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank You, nice to hear that you and your husband enjoyed yoru stay with us. Welcome back the next time you visit Helsingborg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsingborg hotels
0.1 mi away
Elite Hotel Mollberg
Elite Hotel Mollberg
#3 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
V Hotel Helsingborg, BW PREMIER Collection
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Metropol Hotel, Helsingborg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
#4 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
#6 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Duxiana
Best Western Hotel Duxiana
#7 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Grand Hotel

Property: Clarion Grand Hotel
Address: Stortorget 8-12, Helsingborg 252 23, Sweden (Formerly Radisson SAS Grand)
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Helsingborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsingborg
#2 Family Hotel in Helsingborg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsingborg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Helsingborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Helsingborg
Helsingborg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing