We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Helsingborg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Nice hotel, with all modern amenities situated a stone's throw from the port area. Rooms are spacious and very clean and staff very helpful. As in all scandinavians hotels in summer, you are strongly advised to bring a sleeping mask otherwise you will be wake up at 3 am when the sun starts to shine.
Restaurant serves delicious food and the breakfast offers excellent quality bread and freshly squeezed orange juice
One minus point: my room was situated street-side and it got noisy very early in the morning. Not a problem as I was on a business trip and needed to wake up early but not so nice if you are there on a leisure trip

Room Tip: better ask for a room at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaK_511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGrand, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

Nice to hear that You enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.
Welcome back to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (795)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 796 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

The old lobby is impressive and the staff very friendly. The location is great in the center of the town.
However, the room was average at best, with a small window on the alley. Got woken up several times in the night by partying people, cars, and finally garbage trucks and people yelling at them when not getting out of the garage.
The bathroom was accessible for disabled, but a very uninspiring and cheap.
This was overpriced at $250 for a double.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hakan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGrand, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your feedback regarding the rates.
Welcome back to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

This hotel is very close to the train station and offered a very friendly front desk. The room was very tidy and the decor was tasteful. The bathroom had seen better days but who spends a lot of time in there anyway? Free Wireless Internet was a BIG PLUS. I stayed during a cold snowy spell and the heating in the room was more than enough. Large restaurant in the hotel too with a free breakfast. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Limey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionGrand, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2011

Thank You for those kind words. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Welcome back to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

This hotel has seen better days. My room look like it was decorated in the nineties and the bathroom showed obvious signs of not being looked after properly. The bed felt like a cheap IKEA bed and was not very comfortable. On the plus side the staff was very friendly and helpful and the location is in the middle of the city.

The food was of average quality but the breakfast buffet was included in the modest price.

What really put me off was the hot water running out when I was taking a shower. An ice cold shower in the Swedish winter really ruined morning.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed November 4, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ClarionGrand, Manager at Clarion Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff was perfect and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders_Birgitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

I have stayed in this hotel loads of times with colleagues for business. Usually this was just for a couple of nights but we also spent 5 consecutive nights there on a training course.
The rooms are really modern, clean and tastefully furnished. Downstairs, the lobby is quite traditional, there is a coffee bar where you can pretty much always help yourself to a coffee, there is a restaurant, which I never ate in (we always went out and tried local resaurants in town), and a bar, which is actually fairly characterless, but I have had some excellent times there in a big group, and some quieter times on late arrival on a sunday night ready for an early start monday morning.
The staff are always very polite, and helpful, and naturally speak perfect english (I guess their Swedish must be pretty good to, but I cant guarantee that).
From a business point of view, we used some nice meeting rooms, they seemed to have a good selection of projectors etc, but best of all (and I actually think this is one of the brilliant things about working in Sweden), coffee breaks in sweden are called "fika" and you don't just get coffee, you get cake! Swedes are expert at the coffee/cake combo. I swear I got fat on the training course at this hotel, because every time we had a coffee break, we had cake. Fika is such a cool tradition.
Anyway, Helsigborg itself, like many swedish towns is pretty quiet at night, quite a few places to go but all pretty civilised. If you plan to go out drinking, take plenty of money because it is not cheap!
I have many fond memories of this hotel. I dont work for the company anymore, which got taken over by an american company, and I gather they dont use this hotel so much, preferring a soul-less motel type accomodation much much closer to HQ in Angelholm. Shame, we had a great time here.
If I was going to that part of Sweden I'd stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizandtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsingborg hotels
0.2 mi away
V Hotel Helsingborg, BW PREMIER Collection
0.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
#4 of 20 in Helsingborg
770 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elite Hotel Mollberg
Elite Hotel Mollberg
#3 of 20 in Helsingborg
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Metropol Hotel, Helsingborg
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
#7 of 20 in Helsingborg
557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Duxiana
Best Western Hotel Duxiana
#6 of 20 in Helsingborg
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Grand Hotel

Address: Stortorget 8-12, Helsingborg 252 23, Sweden (Formerly Radisson SAS Grand)
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Helsingborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Helsingborg
#2 Family Hotel in Helsingborg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Helsingborg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Helsingborg
Price Range: $143 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Helsingborg
Helsingborg Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing