We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good stay at the Marina Plaza hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elite Hotel Marina Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Helsingborg
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good stay at the Marina Plaza hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in August 2012 for business. Upon arrival, they were unable to accomodate an early check-in, which was really my only complaint about the property. The room wasn't ready yet, and so after a transatlantic flight it was irritating to have to wait until 3:00.

The room itself was very nice. Clean, fully functional and plenty of space. The decor of the room was very nice, and the view of the harbour and the city was spectacular. On some nights, the music from the bar/restaurant across the water was a bit loud and meant that I had to close the window to sleep.

Breakfast at the hotel was excellent - a very wide selection of foods, all well prepared and fresh. Location of the hotel was also very good - central walking distance to many good restaurants, shopping and historic parts of the city.

Overall experience was very good, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here during my next trip to Helsingborg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markp30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    269
    80
    17
    6
See reviews for
78
266
16
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tubingen, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed for one night. Hotel is directly in front of the station an harbour. But it is a great neighbourhood. Not any noise in the rooms. Rooms are quite nices and confortable. Nice beds. Clean.

Great Breakfast buffet !!!

Nice staff.

I can fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Schwabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
576 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Right there when you come in on the ferry from Denmark. We stayed in a suite on the top floor which had great views in several directions. Bar and surroundings nothing special, but a great place from which to explore the city.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are great, if a bit pricier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morl8tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have read a few other reviews on this hotel and they all say nice views and good location. I certainly can't argue with the location, very handy to taxis, public transport and the ferry to Denmark but honestly the outside was a bit of a dump. Like many places we visited in Sweden there was the omnipresent stench of urine and vomit from the previous nights, weeks and months celebrations, In terms of the hotel, nothing wrong with it. Probably the most comfortable we stayed in in Scandanavia. Very good breakfast. Kids playroom was enjoyed by our little bloke.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel all in all is absolutely okay. The lobby is very nice and stylish (which is promising!), they have a great selection at the breakfast buffet (fresh waffles, pancakes etc.) and location is among the best you can get in town. So why am I not thrilled?

First of all, we had booked a double room and especially requested a double bed upon booking. Instead we got a room with two separate beds - in my eyes a so-called "twin room" and not a double room. When I went down to the front desk to complain about the room I felt I didn't get the care and helpfulness I was hoping for. There was "no other room available" and "there was nothing they could do about it". I must say I have received much better service and courtesy in less expensive and fancy hotels! (The final solution was - on my initiative - to see if someone could come and turn the room into a double which a cleaning lady did by moving the two beds together. Voila. Absolutely not the same feel as sleeping together in one bed, but to them the problem was solved.)

The room itself was another disappointment, it felt a bit old and shabby. Not the style I am personally aiming for. Broadloom (when did one come across that last time..?), old heavy curtains and furniture that must have looked good around 15-20 years ago. The bathroom and the toilet were separated by a wall that didn't go all the way up to the ceiling, meaning there was no real privacy in the toilet. Strange choice. Our room was on the first floor facing another building, where passengers from the ferry arrived at regular intervals. So no chance to open the blinds and get some privacy!

There might be better rooms at this hotel, but judging by my experience, I would say they need to spend a little money on updating and renovating the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room type you have booked! Avoid rooms facing the ferry terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

I can not complain here. Next to the train station and a taxi rank just outside, this hotel offers comfort with great surroundings. Definitely worth staying at!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adam1111_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
89 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Sweden surprisingly is not awash with nice stylish hotels and I've been disappointed a number of times in what the rest us Europeans perceive as quite a stylish country (IKEA, Saab etc.).

I have to come to Helsingborg at least once a year and having been disappointed with the last 2 choices, went for the Elite Marina Plaza.

I got a good price and wasn't anticipating this to be the world's best hotel. However, check in was quick and the staff polite. Breakfast was included and was a good spread. Also included was WiFi, and this in itself makes it a hotel with sense.

It's not the best hotel in the world of course, but it's probably the best option in Helsingborg. Would I stay there again? Having tried a couple of the others, I'd have no hesitation staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the sea to Denmark are more expensive. Mine faced the ferry termminal walkway, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocoda-Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsingborg hotels
0.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Mollberg
Elite Hotel Mollberg
#3 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Metropol Hotel, Helsingborg
0.3 mi away
V Hotel Helsingborg, BW PREMIER Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Grand Hotel
Clarion Grand Hotel
#5 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Duxiana
Best Western Hotel Duxiana
#7 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
#6 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Marina Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Marina Plaza

Property: Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
Address: Kungstorget 6, Box 1013, Helsingborg 251 10, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Helsingborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helsingborg
#2 Business Hotel in Helsingborg
#3 Family Hotel in Helsingborg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Helsingborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Marina Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Elite Hotel Marina Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Helsingborg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing