We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Helsingborg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Helsingborg
Certificate of Excellence
Ihtiman, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Helsingborg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Really nice hotel, friendly staff. Bishop arms is a great place to spend an hour before going to bed :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlondesKiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    274
    80
    17
    6
See reviews for
79
273
16
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Generally, I concur with the "mixed" reviews. We stayed for one night on our way to Frederiksborg castle.

The rooms are a good size, and have the usual amenities, and the beds are comfortable, . The hotel itself is reasonably well maintained (we didn't eat at the hotel, so I cannot comment on the food areas). There is a lounge in the central courtyard, with piano music in the evening. The location of the hotel is excellent - we were driving, but for those using the ferry/walking, its right beside the ferry terminal, and right in the center of town.

Service at the front desk was good, and we were given information about the area in general, where to walk/tour, where to eat etc. Additionally, we were told about the free 6pm-9am parking at a city lot about 5 minutes walk. (another review suggested this wasn't offered)

However, all this is negated by the price. I booked a little late, however in looking at current prices, the lowest rates are in the 1000SEK/100EUR/150CAD range. This is simply too high for this hotel. I only paid 1400SEK for the Sheraton in Stockholm, which is a proper 4 star.

In summary, if you find an offer/deal around 75EUR, it is good value. Too much above that, and I would suggest at least a look at other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed 3 nights on a business trip. Very soft beds, back patients beware. We were extremely disappointed about the sloppy service in the breakfast area. Dirty tables galore, cuttlery and yoghurt on the floor. Friendly staff couldn't compensate the weaknesses.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms adjacent to elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upplands-Vasby, Sweden
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights and my husband has always told me how nice it was. I had booked a deluxe room with view of the sea. We were very dissapointed when we arrived tired after a bad trainjourney and we couldn't get our room. It was 1.30 PM and the receptionist said that we couldn't have the room until 2PM when you are suppose to check-in. This is the first time ever I have come across such a military strict view of check-in times.
We explained that my husband was ill and needed somewhere to rest but no, we had to walk around for a while and then return to get our room at 2PM.

The rooms were quite small to be a deluxe but it had aircondition and nice bathroom. The beds were comfy and it was nice and clean.

The location is great, near the ferries or almost on them ;-) to Denmark and also in city center.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emtes54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nora
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Good location adjacent to go the railway station and overlooking the ferry habour. However avoid the pub Bishops Arms for meals - overpriced and poor service. Everything else is great. Gorgeous breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vechrolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalmar, Sweden
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

DH and I stayed here in August 2011 and while the hotel's placement is excellent and the room was very nice, there were some details we didn't quite fancy.
First of all: the information at the front desk was lousy, to say the least. The girls were all very nice and tried their best (I'm sure) but there was just to much that didn't get told. For example: when we paid for parking (expensive, by the way - but that's to be expected, considering that it's in the middle of the city, right by "Knutpunkten" - the travel centre) we had to find the marked spots on our own. We also asked to use the restrooms since we couldn't get our room yet, and we were allowed... but they were locked, so we had to go back up and ask again.
(Also: when we paid for the parking, we got 48 hours on the minute. It'd have been nice to have gotten the option to get the extra 1.5 hours up to checkout free or at least offerend at a discounted rate since they don't have check-ins for another 3 hours after that, so they wouldn't lose any money offering. Probably the opposite?)

The room, as I said, was nice and comfortable, but there were some issues there, too.
The beds were twin beds with very high mattresses and when you got out on one of the outer edges, they tipped. I almost fell off during the night, which doesn't really make you sleep very well, I can tell you that much.
The tiles in the bathroom walls were cracked in several spots and there was a piece of moulding that had come loose from the wall, just lying there.
It was clean though - and the cleaning personnel were super nice and efficient.

The breakfast buffet was not good at all. We got down there early, but still a lot of things were already out (like milk for the coffee. Both days, the milk ran out and no one bothered to refill for as long as we were there.)
There's also VERY little healthy options, fruit and veggies - but a lot of cheeses and cold cuts. The second day there was only two types of white bread to choose from. Nothing whole grain at all.

If you get a nice rate - by all means: Stay here!
Just don't expect anything extra fancy because it's not as four star as it pretends to be. It IS however conveniently located and quiet enough (at least during the weeks. I don't know about weekends) and the personnel is mostly very nice so it's not awful, either. Just not quite what we expected from a "four star hotel".

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cava De' Tirreni, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

When we arrived on tired after a long day, it was a relief to see the hotel next to the ferry landing. Nice location, just steps to the shopping area and a nice walk up the hill to an old castle. The main bus/train station is adjacent if you are traveling that way. The parking in the adjacent building was a little difficult to arrive and did not have a very safe feel. We did not have any problems, but expected we might. Nice pubs and bars around and pleanty of little shops, though they all close early.

Room Tip: It is nice to ask for water veiw, but then you will be looking at the side of the ferry, ask for a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelEarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helsingborg hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Metropol Hotel, Helsingborg
0.3 mi away
V Hotel Helsingborg, BW PREMIER Collection
0.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Mollberg
Elite Hotel Mollberg
#3 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Grand Hotel
Clarion Grand Hotel
#5 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
Comfort Hotel Nouveau
#6 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Duxiana
Best Western Hotel Duxiana
#7 of 21 in Helsingborg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Marina Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Marina Plaza

Property: Elite Hotel Marina Plaza
Address: Kungstorget 6, Box 1013, Helsingborg 251 10, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Helsingborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helsingborg
#2 Business Hotel in Helsingborg
#3 Family Hotel in Helsingborg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Helsingborg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Marina Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elite Hotel Marina Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Helsingborg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing