We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Big house, nice area.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Amberleigh

Large private secluded property.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large private secluded property.
Off street parking for several cars. TV lounge area and log burner.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Large private secluded property.
Off street parking for several cars.
TV lounge area and log burner.
Lounge dining area and exit to patio and garden.
Very large family dining table.
Spacious modern kitchen.
Spacious modern kitchen.
Spacious modern kitchen.
First floor double room.
First floor double room en suite.
One of two identical twin rooms.
WC and laundry.
Entrance and lobby.
Lobby to first floor.
Long private drive.
Breakfast dining area.
Lounge to Kitchen
Off street parking for several cars.
Established secluded garden.
Historic village of Cottesmore.
Rutland Water nearby.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Cottesmore, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
corrie_cl...
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Big house, nice area.”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great house for an extended family getaway - lots of beds, lots of seating and a great kitchen. We had a fab weekend with some great Bank Holiday weather. Lots to do in the area for all ages from Rutland Water, a Park Run, and stately home 30 mins away.
The only downside is that the house is a bit gloomy downstairs, but probably only because of all the trees and seclusion. Some of the lights needed to be on at all times of the day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwein
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings, some very good points but few small issues”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

As this was the 15th year that I have gone away with the same group of friends to a cottage around the country for a long weekend we’ve seen worse and better.
The house if very large for this sort of property and the kitchen and living room were very spacious. There were only six of us so enough chairs for use all to sit at the same larger table, but just one more person would have presented a problem. Many people have mentioned the fridge but either it’s been replaced or some people are oversensitive. I have seen much smaller in the past 15 years. Nice large TV with BT TV.
There are some downsides to the property. The hearing is very loud and affected the sleep of three people; I was unaffected but only because I wear hearing aids and can’t hear well at night but could hear it during the day. The holder for the shower upstairs in the main bathroom didn't hold the Shower head . The beds were extremely low and I had a real struggle getting up to a standing position from sitting on the bad, to be fair I do have some mobility issues, but never before have I had issues with the height of the beds.

The property is well situated for attractions in Rutland and we visited Oakham three times (twice for night out/meal and once during day for Oakham Castle and afternoon tea).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carole W
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good space”
Reviewed November 23, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having stayed here earlier in the year, we knew that it suited the dynamics of our group aged 10 - 77. I was pleased to see that a new fence had been erected since our last visit as I had pointed this out after our dogs escaped.

The house was clean and has everything you need. I think some cosmetic work is required to the upstairs bathroom as the shower is clearly leaking against the wall where there is a large patch of damp. My only other remark would be the noisy heating. If you want a good nights sleep, make sure the heating is off!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: The noisy heating
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannahKir...
Cusco
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very little to fault”
Reviewed March 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Private even though nicely central in the village. Very convenient and near to vast but very interesting Rutland Water (great birdwatching) and lovely old Oakham. The house had a surprisingly open feeling and excellent kitchen. Modern but characterful; I liked the spiral stair and bedroom beams even after hitting my head on both. Everything was as we expected, nice to have the wood ready for the stove. Little to fault at all - just that the central heating had an irritating knock when on at night; and we could not find an oven glove. Also the oven knob markings were rather worn. But lovely to open the skylight on Sunday morning and listen to the church bells.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and church bells
Liked least: Central heating noisy at night
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCL76
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unique...”
Reviewed February 25, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

There can be no doubt that Amberleigh is a unique place.

All in all, we felt it worked for us (4 adults, 4 kids (4 - 10 yrs), but not everyone will agree. For Amberleigh's uniqueness is a function of its idiosynchracies, which won't suit all. Certainly, I think it would get the kids' votes more than the adults.

There are some bizarre/inspired touches (glass bricks to let light from upstairs into the slightly dim lounge which the kids can wave to you through when they're supposed to be asleep; windows between lounge and entrance hall - again to let light in; spiral staircase onto half-width landing to maximise the 'vaulted' entrance hall area). I imagine the staircase was designed to take up minimum space and it works to that end. However, it also may make access tricky for the less agile. The railings (as with the landing ballustrade) appear to be made from a polymer and had noticeable flex when under adult load. I don't think they'd give, but I didn't spend a lot of time leaning on them... The kids loved peering through the rails down to the entrance hall.

Two of the upstairs bedrooms (the two twins) are perfect for kids, although adults may have a sense of humour failure when smashing their heads on the (very) low beams when kissing darlings goodnight, etc. Parents should also note that the wardrobes are comically imbalanced (when not loaded) and care should be taken that they do not topple/are not pulled over when the heavier mirror-door is open. The owners might consider security ties at the back of the 'robes.

The beds were oddly concaved and fitted with duvets roughly the same size as the mattresses themselves (let duvet-war commence!), but we found them comfortable. The lounge/diner is a good size with comfortable chairs/sofas. The solid-fuel burner helps make the room toasty, although the heating system (clanks and small valve leaks aside) is up to the job.

Whilst the write-up suggests a refit in 2013, I'm not sure what parts were refitted (the bathrooms, for example, are all 1980s-style two-colour suites). The kitchen is airy, functional and clean, although the range cooker is starting to show Don't-Be-Gentle-It's-A-Rental type wear. Don't start me on the dishwasher, which is actually just a trap for the unwary. Cooking for 8 is quite doable (seating split between the kitchen table and dining table). As previously noted in other reviews, however, fridge space was tight.

The larger downstairs bedroom has a good sized shower ensuite. Note that there is a pump fitted (presumably as water pressure was an issue) which may scare the wits out of you on first use. There was also a 'kettling' noise from time to time (origins: unknown); again, slightly unsettling although not an issue.

Cottesmore (pronounced Cots-more, I'm told) is a lovely village itself with Fish & Chips and Pubs in walking distance. Rutland Water is within a 5-10 minute car journey, as are the shops and town facilities in Oakham.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Large and airy”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We visited as a group of 9 family members and the bedroom configuration was perfect. The downstairs areas were open and again gave a feeling of space. Even with 9 people aged between 10 and 75, we never felt crowded.

As we arrived late evening, we headed straight to the local fish and chip shop which was less than 5 minutes from the door. Delicious! Also ate at The Sun Inn in the village - recommended.

Beautiful countryside, lots to see and do. Amberleigh was well placed to visit everything.

My only gripes with the property - very noisy pipes through the night! The fence in the garden needs attention at the side - our dogs were rampaging around the neighbours back garden. I only hope they didn't leave any parcels!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Noisy plumbing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing