We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Large and airy”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Amberleigh

Large private secluded property.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large private secluded property.
Off street parking for several cars. TV lounge area and log burner.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Large private secluded property.
Off street parking for several cars.
TV lounge area and log burner.
Lounge dining area and exit to patio and garden.
Very large family dining table.
Spacious modern kitchen.
Spacious modern kitchen.
Spacious modern kitchen.
First floor double room.
First floor double room en suite.
One of two identical twin rooms.
WC and laundry.
Entrance and lobby.
Lobby to first floor.
Long private drive.
Breakfast dining area.
Lounge to Kitchen
Off street parking for several cars.
Established secluded garden.
Historic village of Cottesmore.
Rutland Water nearby.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Cottesmore, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carole W
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Large and airy”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We visited as a group of 9 family members and the bedroom configuration was perfect. The downstairs areas were open and again gave a feeling of space. Even with 9 people aged between 10 and 75, we never felt crowded.

As we arrived late evening, we headed straight to the local fish and chip shop which was less than 5 minutes from the door. Delicious! Also ate at The Sun Inn in the village - recommended.

Beautiful countryside, lots to see and do. Amberleigh was well placed to visit everything.

My only gripes with the property - very noisy pipes through the night! The fence in the garden needs attention at the side - our dogs were rampaging around the neighbours back garden. I only hope they didn't leave any parcels!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Noisy plumbing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
triciaf_1...
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Worked out very well for our group”
Reviewed December 15, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed as an extended family group to get together to celebrate my mum's 90th birthday. The house felt roomy and accommodating us all well. We were glad of the two downstairs bedrooms because the spiral staircase would have been difficult both with a tiny baby and my elderly mum however we had seen the photos so we knew what to expect. The downstairs en-suite double with walk-in wardrobe is very spacious and ideal if you have an infant in a cot with you. The kitchen was large and there was loads of cutlery, crockery and glasses so you weren't having to constantly wash up. Genuinely everything we needed was there - including tea, coffee, milk and biscuits. Simon, who manages the property, communicated with us very well. The oven does work fine but it's helpful to look at the instructions attached to the inside of the upper right hand cupboard. A spare black bag or two and a couple of spare toilet rolls would have been welcome. The toiletries were very welcome though. The pub, chippy, post office / general store are all very handy. There's a problem with incredibly noisy heating but I'm sure they'll get that sorted out soon. For us, it was very conveniently situated so we very well may use it again - so what better recommendation is there than to say we may return?!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 19, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay at Amberleigh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonShe...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic, comfortable,. relaxing”
Reviewed November 27, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We were 9 adults staying for three nights and when we arrived they had put the heating on and left the lights on subdued in the rooms it looked so warm and welcoming and it was a beautiful place very clean and had everything that we needed. There was tea and coffee and milk for us which was much appreciated after our drive from wales and newcastle and london. We all felt right at home and had dinner on the large dining table and all sat around on their large sof'a's warm and content. We had dinner on the saturday night at the Sun Inn two minutes walk down the road which was great we also had a look in the church which is all lit up of a night so pretty. I would def book this place again and we are already thinking about next year. The people of Oakham are so friendly too thank you Oakham X

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was amazing
Liked least: The size of the rooms for all of us was great
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2015
We are so pleased that Amberliegh was perfect for your group. We look forward to seeing you again.

Liz, Mel & Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradders2...
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just a little care would make it better”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is my first review with negative comments. I stayed with the person who booked the cottage. As a house for a reunion it was great for its room and location, but as others have said with a little more care it would be better. I thought that the lack of a proper shower on the first floor due to a fault not being rectified during our visit was bad service; the oven did not appear to work (on fan did not reach more than 135); wall soap dishes were broken as were coat hooks. You could not seat 8 in the living room sofas unless you were all slim. Driving in was OK but turning round and reversing was difficult especially with overgrown bushes. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roominess and location
Liked least: Small faults that did not make it a good experience
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2015
The instructions for using the cooker are in a prominent location near the the appliance and in the Guest information book. All guests have the caretakers telephone number for any problems during their stay. Unfortunately the shower part had to be ordered and was out of our control. The soap dish was easily fixed and the caretaker could have done this if he had been notified while the guests were there. There are alternative chairs available. if there are large parties.
The shrubs bordering the driveway are kept tidy, and were not overgrown as suggested.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
batleymik...
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money!”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Amazing value for money. Lots of room for large groups. Ideally placed for lots of stately homes/national trust properties/Stamford, Oakham, Melton Mobrey (for great pies)/ Rutland Water.
Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, amount of space.
Liked least: Surrounded by trees that cut out the sun
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen G
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place, a few tweaks would make it brilliant”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely house, great location and close to lots of lovely places, particularly Rutland Water. Comfy beds, nice decor and good facilities. Particularly impressed with Roger, the caretaker/manager being kind enough to lend us his excellent BBQ for the weekend :-)

There were a few downsides - noisy heating, fridge far too small for 9 people for a weekend (repeated comments about this on TA and in the guest book - why not put an extra one in the garage?) and the garden was a bit tired. Could also do with some better appliances, particularly knives, in the kitchen.

Overall a great weekend, and we mention the negatives because most of them would be so easy to fix. Thanks for a fab stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann C
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family house but needs some TLC”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We booked the house for a long weekend with our children and grandchildren. Although we enjoyed our stay, a few improvements would have made it so much better. The house hadn't been prepared very well i.e. One of the bathrooms didn't have toilet paper, one bedside lamp didn't have a bulb in, the windows were filthy and disappointingly, there wasn't any fresh milk provided( the first cottage we have stayed in where there wasn't a welcome pack, just some left over teabags from the previous occupants!)
The garden was large and secure and although the grass needed cutting, the main worries were broken steps and loose tiles on a low wall. We had 4 little boys under 5yrs with us and we couldn't let them outside without constant supervision. It seems that some very small changes would mean this house would have an excellent rating rather just good. Just one other thing! A safety gate for the spiral staircase would have been appreciated!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Suitable for a large family group
Liked least: Poor preparation of the garden area and noisy plumbing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing