We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Beautiful Grade two listed cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Grade two listed cottage
One of the master bedrooms with super king size bed that can be twinned The view from the front of the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Beautiful Grade two listed cottage
One of the master bedrooms with super king size bed that can be twinned
The view from the front of the cottage
One of the downstairs living areas
The Family Bathroom
Second downstairs living area
Second Bathroom with stand up shower
Beautifully finished kitchen
Full size bunk beds (suitable for adults)
Twin Bedded Room - please note that entry to the room is through one of the Master Bedrooms
Utility with toilet & shower room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
family Bathroom
Second Master Bedroom with Super King size bed that can be twinned
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cottesmore, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ashley97
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed June 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Really can't say enough about this wonderful holiday rental.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dick's Cottage and could not have asked for better accommodation. From the decor to the linens to the welcoming touches, this is a great "home from home"

David and Katie were extremely welcoming and live next door. The kitchen is more than fully equipped; we enjoyed watching television in both the snug and lounge. We did laundry, enjoyed the garden, and slept very well.

WIFI worked excellently on the ground floor. Showers had very good pressure and plenty of hot water for 4 daily showers as well as fluffy towels. Parking was adequate for a very large SUV. Plenty of dishes, rubbish bags, knives, cutting boards, pots and pans, etc.

The hosts had left fresh bread, eggs, wine, milk and a the most lovely homemade cookies. Post office/shop across the road, chippie a few doors down, famous Hambleton Bakery a mile away. Perfect location to visit stately homes and the Newark Antique Fair.

We can't wait to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us last week. We hope we will be able to welcome you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IainFTB
Hemel Hempstead
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing Accomodation”
Reviewed March 1, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Really can’t recommend enough.The cottage was stunning all the rooms beautifully furnished and so comfortable. They have thought of everything and the welcome on arrival immediately made you feel at home. Homemade biscuits were so tasty all the basics and more provided for arrival which was far beyond what you expect.
Given we were there during “Beast from the East” and Storm Emma we were lovely and warm and cosy. Really can’t fault anything from gardens to location it was stunning.
Rutland Waters beautiful walks with the dogs. Neighbouring villages and towns lovely. The local pub and fish and chip shop were also excellent. Can’t wait to return.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review Iain, it was a pleasure having you stay with us & we look forward to welcoming you back in better weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2018
Thank you for your great review, we are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us last weekend. Apologies about the fire alarm deciding to randomly go off, I hope that it didn’t disturb your afternoon. We do hope to welcome you all back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sair20
Cannock
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed January 3, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Myself and my family spent New Year at Dicks Cottage with a group of friends and it could not have been better. The cottage is beautiful, immaculately kept and Katie (the owner) has thought of everything. We had homemade mince pies on arrival, fresh bread, and all the essentials you could imagine to make it such an enjoyable stay. The lovely Christmas decorations gave It a real homely feel. It is spacious and has a lovely enclosed back garden which I am sure would be lovely to enjoy in the summer. Location is perfect with a chip shop, and shop within a couple of minutes walking distance and a local pub (The Sun Inn) which serves the most amazing Sunday roast. Already looking at when we can return. Excellent value for money. Thank you so much Katie!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely reveiew, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, so pleased that you all enjoyed New Year at the cottage & hope to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kent, England
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Thank you for your kind review Simon, so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dulcieand...
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed April 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cottage is absolutely fantastic. Really well equipped, comfy beds, lots of room and pet's welcome too.

The owner had gone to such trouble to make it perfect - the home made biscuits were absolutely fantastic !

Dogs welcome too. Result !

We will definitely return - we cycled around Rutland Water.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2017
Thank you for your kind words Dulcie, so pleased you ally enjoyed your stay with us, we do hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing