We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern with the charm of the original 1860 barns!”
Review of Mellby Or Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mellby Or Inn
Ranked #5 of 31 Oland B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We visited Mellby Ör Inn for a fall getaway in October 2013. The owners/innkeepers have done a wonderful job of renovating what used to be old barns into this gorgeous guesthouse! The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, modern and very clean. Though the guest rooms have all the amenities of a 5 star hotel, they still keep the charm of the old barns in the outer walls and ceiling beams, which were preserved from the original structure, built in 1860.

As a family of four we stayed in two rooms, adjoined by a hallway. We had access to a full kitchen and sitting room area. It felt spacious and comfortable and had everything we needed! There is wireless Internet access and TV/DVDs in every room, which was great. Our young children loved the owners’ dog (super friendly!) and enjoyed feeding the rabbits.

The ocean is a comfortable walk from the inn and a nature lover’s paradise. This part of the island is known for its bird watching. A short drive away is the southern tip of Öland and the Swedish Kings hunting grounds, which is beautiful to drive through and has, as you could imagine, plenty of wildlife!

The owners have gone above and beyond in making this place a wonderful, relaxing quiet vacation destination. They have put a lot of effort into making it something special. The mosaics in the bathrooms have been handcrafted by the owner and really personalize the otherwise clean Scandinavian bathroom designs. The attention to detail is really noticeable overall, not only in the choice of art work on the walls, mosaics and décor, but in the original building and installation such as light switches, sinks, tile, grout etc. We were impressed with how new and clean everything looked and felt.

Though Öland is typically a summer vacation destination, we really enjoyed visiting in the fall when the island is a bit more quiet with less traffic. The owners also run a pub on the property, which is open Fridays during late fall, winter and early spring. We plan to come back for a weekend in the winter when we can enjoy pub night with live music right on the property!

Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Just ask the owners which room would suit your needs the best. The rooms we saw were all beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chanda5005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 19 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

We booked a double room with “private balcony with garden views” and the room description wasn't quite accurate. The balcony was not private (it was rather a veranda that served as the exit/entry to the common kitchen) and did not have garden, but courtyard - i.e. parking area - view. What is more, the room did not have proper windows, only roof light.
Considering this as well as the fact that breakfast (pre-packed, the same every single day) has to be paid for separately, the price definitely was far too high.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank v0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The stay at Mellby Ör Inn was filled with pleasant surprises!

We were welcomed by the owners Chris and Agneta who made sure we had everything we needed during our stay. The rooms are beautiful and very nicely decorated with paintings from local artists. The view outside the hotel is stunning as well as the lovely gardens open for guests. Our children were especially thrilled about being able to play with a dog and cat as well as feeding horses and rabbits!

It was our first time on Öland and Mellby Ör Inn is an ideal place to stay at. I hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZdrilicSiljedahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here on our way up through Sweden for an American car show and wanted to experience something different. We weren't disappointed! Chris and Aggie were fantastic hosts with good local knowlege of the area. They allowed us use of their BBQ and Fire Pit. The rooms were beautifully equipped and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was worth taking as the offering was plentiful. Looking forward to going back. Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Andy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

A very nice place on the eastern side of the island Oland with a spectacular view . Very friendly people and extremely spacy rooms . I would like to see more places like this !!

Room Tip: The sea view is quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KalleBorgholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Mellby Or Inn is a cozy, relaxing escape from the bustling city. The oceanside village is graced with a gorgeous sunlight during the Summer, and bundled up charm in the winter. Mellby Or Inn is an exquisite capsule of Swedish culture (with their bar night featuring local music, and traditional design) that feels like a fairy tale. If you cross the street from the Inn through the rose/fruit garden towards the beach, the walk through hay fields is speckled with delicate flowers. While the Inn is not in the center of town, it is worth the escape to behold the unbelievable stars, and sweet traditional Swedish lifestyle.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coralfisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Invited to a wedding in Stockholm we decided to spend a week touring in the South East corner of Sweden. We stayed for 2 nights at the Mellby Or Inn- which turned out to be an excellent decision-why?
1. The rooms are new- but converted from old farm buildings providing plenty of character with excellent sitting out areas (we stayed in room 1 which had nice views).
2. The rooms in our building (3) shared a lounge and modern/new kitchen. We did not use the lounge (weather was fantastic and we spent all time out) but I can imagine that at other times this would be an excellent facility for a family or group.
3. Breakfast was provided in the fridge each morning in a serve yourself style which suited us just fine.
4. Chris and Agneta were very helpful- recommending/booking restaurants and supplying local information.
5. Bicycles were available at no extra charge and made for a wonderful day.
Mellby Or inn reflects the personality of this young couple- they have lots of plans for how to develop it further and it will only get better. It really is a place with a personality and GREAT value.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oland hotels
18 mi away
Hotel Skansen
Hotel Skansen
#1 of 1 in Farjestaden
502 reviews
48.8 mi away
Pensionat Haga
Pensionat Haga
#1 of 4 in Lottorp
6 reviews
34 mi away
Gamla Televerket Rum
Gamla Televerket Rum
#1 of 9 in Borgholm
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.3 mi away
OlandsRo B&B
OlandsRo B&B
#7 of 31 in Oland
6 reviews
26.5 mi away
Edith och Julia B&B
Edith och Julia B&B
#5 of 9 in Borgholm
7 reviews
55.1 mi away
STF Hagaby / Lantgarden Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellby Or Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellby Or Inn

Address: 132 Mellby | Degerhamn, Oland 38065, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Oland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Oland
Price Range: $113 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mellby Or Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mellby Or Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing