We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knaust Hotel Elite Sundsvall”
Review of Elite Hotel Knaust

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elite Hotel Knaust
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Sundsvall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Definitely the best hotel in Sundsvall. Great breakfast buffet. Spacious rooms and very good service. The only minor point is the parking, there is no nearby parking. The Bishops Arms bar is reachable from inside the hotel, they have good food.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Erwin_Lever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 543 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed again after a few years - and it is just as beautiful. Breakfast is good (now with cook your own waffles), beds are very comfortable, shower-room heated floor, perfectly clean everywhere. Its also in an excellent location and has free WiFi. Walking down the main staircase is a must as it is so amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a beautiful old hotel renovated to perfection. Comfortable, beautiful, clean, friendly staff, it was great. Breakfast buffet was wonderful. The bar area was fun for an evening of cards and conversation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a very good stay from when we entered, seeing the beautiful marble staircase, to when we left. We got a very nice and large room with a high ceiling and a large bathroom. Everything nicely decorated and very clean.Very quiet and very good ventilation. Nice and efficient staff that helped us with suggestions where to park and what to do. We had an excellent breakfast before we left.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is located in the centre of Sundsvall, 10 minutes walk from the Central Station, in an area of the city where motor vehicles can circulate but which is designed mainly for pedestrians. If you arrive by car you can park for long enough to register and offload your luggage, but then you must find somewhere else to park. The hotel has an arrangement with an underground car park about 4 minutes walk away, where 24 hours costs 170 Kroner.

The entrance to the hotel and the magnificent staircase are rightly famous.

The staff are friendly, courteous, and quick to help.

Our room was spacious and clean – but surprisingly for a hotel of this class, it had almost no shelf space, and only a few clothes hangers. It is not obvious what you are supposed to do with your clothes if you are staying more than one night and don’t want to live from your suitcase.

A minor problem in the shower was fixed within minutes of my reporting it. (When sitting in its holster, the shower head dragged and rotated downwards, and if you turned the shower on full in that position, it kicked up and sprayed the opposite wall and ceiling.)

The room was quiet, and although the bed was more bouncy than I’m used to, it didn’t prevent me from getting a good night’s sleep.

Breakfast is included in the price of the room. The superb original decoration of the dining room gives a feeling of stately luxury, while the wide array of delicious food on offer along a huge buffet is almost too tempting. The orange juice and the coffee are the weak points in an otherwise excellent breakfast.

Be aware, though, that the citizens of Sundsvall like to brunch here on Sundays, so by about 9:30 or 10 the normally quiet dining room is crowded with happy folk tucking in to a memorable meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very nice hotell. Everyting was perfect. Good service, room, food, staff. Beutiful hotell and very nice location in the center of Sundsvall. Good wifi in the room. And a gym with a sauna in the relax center.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kenneth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. Front staff was very friendly and helpful. A buffet breakfast comes with the room and is very good. A blend of Swedish and American favorites. Food was very fresh and tasty. Excellent way to start the Day. Hotel is located right on the main street with easy acess to all shops and cafes and pubs. Great place to stay but had to leave due to weekend bookings for a local concert.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredelcamino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sundsvall hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Sundsvall
Quality Hotel Sundsvall
#3 of 11 in Sundsvall
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Hotel Strand
First Hotel Strand
#8 of 11 in Sundsvall
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotell Sodra Berget
Hotell Sodra Berget
#7 of 11 in Sundsvall
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Baltic
Best Western Hotel Baltic
#6 of 11 in Sundsvall
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Sundsvall City
Scandic Sundsvall City
#4 of 11 in Sundsvall
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Knaust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Knaust

Address: 13 Storgatan, Sundsvall 852 30, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Vasternorrland County > Sundsvall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Sundsvall
Price Range: $142 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Knaust 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elite Hotel Knaust reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Sundsvall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing