We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff, the complimetary buffe!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sundsvall
Certificate of Excellence
Malmö, Sverige
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Staff, the complimetary buffe!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel to stay at when you visit Sundsvall! Always warm and welcoming staff, and it starts with already the arrival day! You get an sms that confirms your stay! And then there is no worries at all!
There is one of Nordic Choice BEST complimentary bufféts in the evening - as my friend said - after 4 nights - it´s like eating at a "RESTAURANT"
Thats nice ! Its not just me..
Rooms are clean, cosy and just nice! And there is always a welcome from all the staff..

Room Tip: Stayed here on all floors.. just take a pic..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    157
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
100
184
20
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Not much to add. Excellent hotel, free dinner and afternoon fika. Nice staff and although there are mostly business travellers, children are well cared for.
Only downside is that the hotel lacks a gym.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetterWennerstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The staff are extraordinarily friendly and helpful. The place is modern and very clean and the food is all that is required.

I will use them again and would recommend if you are staying in Sundsvall that you book this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kragero, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We visited the hotel second week of July. 2 adults and 2 children.

The woman who cheked us in were friendly and helpful, the room were spacious, nice and clean.

The room price includes both breakfast and evening meal. This nigh it was a good lasagne.

It is easy to drive all the way to the hotel, and it was a lot of parking spaces around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Clarion Grand Hotel is located in the heart of the historic Sundsvall City center. On street parking was pretty straight forward but check with the desk clerk on the time when you should obtain a parking pass (after 9AM) from an automated terminal (one clsoe to the hotel). The desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the big surprise on our stay was the complimentary breakfast AND dinner. The breakfast offered a good slection and the dinner was a bonus to save a few dollars. The dinner didn't offer a huge selection but based ont he quality we were more than happy to save some Krona! The room was spotless but the batroom has a swinging glass "door" for the shower area that didn't stop the floor around the shower area from becoming covered with water. The rooms were more spacious than I would have expected and provided space for bags and suitcases. I would highly recommend the Clarion to anyone for the great overall experience it offers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stjordal, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

I had a stopover here with my friend in June 2010.

The service from the reception personell was very good, the room was very good, the breakfast was very good, the beds were very good, the location was very good - almost everything was very good.

I have three "negative" things to mention:

- There was a glass door to the bathroom. I don't understand why, but a lot of hotels have glass doors to the bathroom. I don't want to have a glass door in front of me when I'm sitting on the toilet.

- When I showered, all of the bathroom floor got flooded.

- We got a room located right over a fitness center. There was extremely high and noisy music from downunder (the floor was actually "shaking"). This was no problem for me and my friend, because we were out in the town until late night, but if you are travelling there with kids - ask to get a quiet room far away from the fitness center.

If it wasn't for those three "negative" things, I would give the hotel best rating on all fields.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evlenol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Spent 4 nights in deepest January in Sundsvall on business. Once again the place was a delight. Friendly staff, spotless room, truly excellent breakfast. Reception even pointed out that the water from the tap is drinkable as 'Sundsvall has the best water in the country'. Save me a few Krona the rest of the week buying expensive bottled water - good on them!

I managed to get into room 119 which for those wishing a bit more space is definitely one of those to go for here.

Can't recommend this place enough...a good place to come back to and crash after a long day. Also...not far from railway station (good for that early return trip to Arlanda C) and in close proximity to bars, the Bishop's Arms (go figure) and the Tandoori Restaurant - weird place but does an excellent Balti.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GazzaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sundsvall hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Sundsvall
Quality Hotel Sundsvall
#3 of 11 in Sundsvall
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elite Hotel Knaust
Elite Hotel Knaust
#2 of 11 in Sundsvall
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Hotel Strand
First Hotel Strand
#6 of 11 in Sundsvall
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Baltic
Best Western Hotel Baltic
#7 of 11 in Sundsvall
89 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotell Sodra Berget
Hotell Sodra Berget
#8 of 11 in Sundsvall
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Sundsvall City
Scandic Sundsvall City
#4 of 11 in Sundsvall
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Grand

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
Address: 13 Nybrogatan, Sundsvall 852 31, Sweden (Formerly Clarion Grand Hotel Sundsvall)
Location: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Vasternorrland County > Sundsvall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sundsvall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Grand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand is situated in the unique city centre of Sundsvall, Stenstan. Here you stay in a light and Scandinavian atmosphere in one of Sundsvall's historical buildings from the 1930's. For everyone that likes the idea of a complimentary evening meal, it's our treat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Sundsvall
Sundsvall Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing