We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun for a one nighter in summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotell Sodra Berget
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sundsvall
Reviewed May 25, 2014

It actually is on top of the ski slope in sundsvall and if you do not need to go out into town, this is a fun place to be. Good spa and a little gym. The restaurant is actually really good. The hall ways promise rooms in need of renovation, but that had actually already been done. Great sleep. And spectaculair views of Sundsvall. Much cheaper than down town.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms are renovated yet. I would check!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessLightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
There are newer reviews for Hotell Sodra Berget
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 220 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent 4 nights there for a conference and was also upgraded to a suite. The view is extraordinary overlooking the city, the harbor, the building of the new bridge and also the sea. The room is good but not so modern. The TV is flat screen in both the room and the bedroom. The bathroom also had a small sauna (!) which I never used - more for winter time.
There are many jogging tracks and skiing slopes just around the hotel and my friends who used them said they were very good.
There is only one restaurant but the menu and the food was good. The bar even managed to make me a Caipirinha.
The mountain is fairly high and the roads are steep. Unless You have plenty of time and want to visit the city, you need a taxi which will cost 150 - 200 SEK single trip

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room facing the city and the sea as the view is the best feature of the hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel is beautifully located high up on a mountin with views to die for. It's so sad to then see they don't do the most of this stunning location.
The hotel is very rundown especially on the third floor. The rooms have all wall-to-wall carpet which aren't very fresh. And how can you still have that in hotel rooms? It's so unhygienic and immediately I got in I started sneezing. My room was also place right above the area where people smoked so I had to change room. I got a newly renovated room on the 1st floor which was fresh but still had a wall-to-wall carpet. The view from the room wasn't great. I looked into another building but it was more important with a clean and fresh room.
When you enter a corridor in the hotel it doesn't give you a good impression. It looks very sloppy. The sconce on the walls is not very bright and thus making the corridor very dark and the walls are in a kind of yellowish going against brown color, like they were dirty.
The sconce were slanting which also added to the bad impression.
The staff in the reception were very good and helpful and really serviceminded and always with a smile.
The dining room made the most of the views with big windows catching the breathtaking views. The staff at dinner weren't the best. Especially one was very unpleasant and not serviceminded at all.
The conference room were kind of strange. It was rounded which made us sitting on one end not being able to fully hear or follow what was shown and said.
It's sad that it was like this. This hotel has the potential to be a wonderful hotel and it shouldn't be that hard to correct some of the issues - like the first impression.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emtes54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Attended a conference and ha hoped that the promise of "newly renovated" and splendid views would be accompanied by a food experience. However, the dinner food was not exceptional and the breakfast offered no surprises. Yes, the view IS spectacular from the restaurant but if there's a fog, then that gets lost.
The beds were narrow and soft, the pillows sponge foam rubber filled. Neither may favorite.
The room also lacked a trouser press, and the ironing room was on the Lobby level.
Possibly alright for a conference, but not the right attention to detail to tempt for a holiday.

Room Tip: Try to get a fourth floor room to avoid the partying on the lower levels.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tord E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Location (approximately 15 minutes walk from the center) - on a quiet street, covered parking area hotel (check in the parking lot but on the other street parking and hotel sector is located in a separate section of the city park - not just figured out), the number is quite comfortable, friendly staff (helped deal with the parking sector, the hotel).

The old plumbing (as, indeed, the whole hotel), very bad food (both breakfast and dinner - does not meet even the Continental Breakfast in the other Nordic countries). So eat in the city (next to the hotel are many cafes and restaurants)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel is great for conferences but I wouldn't want to stay here privately. It has great views out from the dining room and the conference facilities are good, but it is too far from the city centre for tourist travelling. The rooms were comfortable, quite dark, although not black-out. The bathroom and toiletries are very basic. Staff were barely visible to be honest, and when I checked out I just had to leave my key as there was noone on the desk.
Breakfast was good - with special diets well catered for, as were lunches and dinners.
The conference rooms and facilities were good and the little wooden function room we used in teh evening was great for a small group.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the valley if you can, at the back of the hotel (opposite side from recept...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed here in late June of 2011. I had a camping trip in Harnosand and my plans had me arrive a day earlier than my friends. I booked this hotel based on the photos of it as well as what I could find for reviews. The other hotels in Sundsvall are down town and parking is on the street. I did not want to leave my camping gear in the car downtown and did not feel like carrying it all to my room. So I booked the Hotel Sodra Berget. It is on top of a large hill overlooking the town and the harbor/bay area. I had booked a suite and the room was clean and fairly roomy for European hotel rooms but still seemed a little small. The suite was a "T" shape however and so it probably made it seem smaller than it really was. It had a sauna in the bathroom as well. Unfortunately my room faced the west and so it seemed hotter in the room than the sauna. The hotel did provide a fan but the electricity went out and I had to call down to get it turned back on.

While they worked on it, I went to the restaurant. They had a new menu and did not yet have an English translation for me but the waiter was very nice and took his time to explain the selections to me. In fact, all of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Since the hotel is away from everything else parking was no problem at all. The road up to the hotel is being worked on and so there is a traffic light for one way traffic along a small portion of the road. But the views are incredible and I would like to see it in the winter some day (there is a ski lift at the hotel itself next to the restaurant)

Room Tip: Pick an east facing room if you travel in the summer. Keep in mind that the sun does not complete s...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaltimoreFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sundsvall hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Sundsvall
Quality Hotel Sundsvall
#3 of 11 in Sundsvall
455 reviews
1.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
1.5 mi away
Elite Hotel Knaust
Elite Hotel Knaust
#2 of 11 in Sundsvall
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
First Hotel Strand
First Hotel Strand
#7 of 11 in Sundsvall
504 reviews
3.2 mi away
Scandic Sundsvall Nord
Scandic Sundsvall Nord
#5 of 11 in Sundsvall
274 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Baltic
Best Western Hotel Baltic
#6 of 11 in Sundsvall
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotell Sodra Berget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotell Sodra Berget

Address: 1 Soedra Stadsberget, Sundsvall 852 38, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Vasternorrland County > Sundsvall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sundsvall
Price Range: $130 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotell Sodra Berget 4*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sodra Berget lies in the heart of the fascinating nature and scenic landscapes of northern Sweden, yet only five minutes from the centre of Sundsvall. ”Sodra Berget” is Swedish for ”the southern mountain” Here at the hotel, 400 guests can stay, dine, meet and interact under the same roof. With our Spa Vida Vyer, first class restaurant and outdoor activities program, topped up with a breathtaking view. We offer every guest a refreshing new outlook and inner harmony. The town of Sundsvall offers the visitors a variety of attractions as a complement to our facilities, including a casino, theatre, sports, events, entertainment and quality shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotell Sodra Berget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing