We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see in Gavle”

The Prison Museum of Sweden
Ranked #4 of 22 things to do in Gavle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience prison conditions of the past in two unique prison buildings. Follow history from the old castle jail with its underground dungeons, dating back to the mid-1600s, to one of Sweden’s first penitentiaries, dating from 1847. You will witness the Swedish prison system, which developed from a period of public enforced shame and corporal punishment to a time when prisoners were isolated from society in what we now call solitary confinement. A visit to the Prison Museum leaves no one unaffected. When you visit the museum, borrow an audioguide in english or german for free!
Milton, Washington
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A must see in Gavle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Take the time to see this place. We enjoyed the museum very much and it is easy to get around. Lots of interesting history and fun to compare to what we have in the US.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LotsATravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    33
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A tour of troubled times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

A whirlwind history of prison life from the 18th century on, all inside a former prison. In the first section, you get a sense of the claustrophobic conditions of those times.

The English language audio-guide, included with admission, is informative. However, much of the exhibit signage is in Swedish. Understandable, seeing as how we're in Sweden, but you miss out on a lot if you don't speak the language.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gävle, Gavleborgs Lan, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A pleasant afternoon.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Visited the Museum with my son, we had a good few hours wandering the modern and old jails. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a very informative tour. Well worth the look, interesting and entertaining.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth a Look”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Interesting. Worth visit. It takes you through history of penal system in Sweden.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tjwb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“something new to learn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

First time there with classmates, the person who guide us was so nice and give us good information about the place and the story behind it. Nice for those who never been in prison museum before so you can learn something new. Right when I get inside I can feel "something", scarry but so informative :)

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Mamsie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prison Museum of Sweden also viewed

Gavle, Gavleborg County
 
Gavle, Gavleborg County
 

Been to The Prison Museum of Sweden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing