We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“authentic Italian,Tasty food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa Nostra

La Casa Nostra
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Umdloti
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A little piece of Italy in Umdloti beach.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“authentic Italian,Tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Enjoyed a great day out for lunch at La Casa Nostra with my family from Gauteng. the food was very tasty we all ordered different dishes and every dish tasted exceptionally good. We also enjoyed a jug of sangria which complimented the meals very well.
The staff are very efficient and the service was great.They had very good knowledge of the menu which was very helpful to us selecting out meals.
The prices are a little on the steep side but however I wouldn't mind paying such prices for excellent quality food.
The restaurant itself has a very relaxed laid back atmosphere.
We will surely be back for more.......................

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank selvan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    32
    8
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Amazing , buzzing atmosphere. Service unbelievably efficient, almost military precision. Menu is varied and a huge vegetarian selection. Our food was everything and more that we could imagine.
However prices were pretty much on the exorbitant side..

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiara450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton, South Africa
2 reviews
“great food but not the best spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

location is not great, but the food is always excellent. little pricey but at least the service is good and food is always excellent. I love the lasange

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank joshkerr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Little Italy by the sea side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

No it doesn't have the fancy sea view, but it does have the best food in Umdloti. It's always busy so make sure you book. I go there everyday, as the menu offers so much variation. Fish dishes are amazing, pasta and pizza are fantastic. The meat dishes are to die for :) my favorite is the lemon veal with pasta or chips. Service is fantastic. Alexandro and his team always make us feel at home.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank aclaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

A pleasant little restaurant in Umdloti which serves Italian food that is delicious but quite pricey. My husband had the special fillet with pancetta and gorgonzola - delicious and so tender I could cut it with my butter knife. The portion was really big for fillet which is usually cut in smallish rounds. My prawns were excellent - cooked just right and the lemon butter was great, but quite expensive at R219 for just prawns and salad. However, the salad itself was delicious and not all lettuce. Wines are pricey both by the glass and for a bottle but the beer was great.
Service was good and food arrived surprisingly quickly. However, the evening started badly with no parking - the parking area is completely inadequate for the size of the restaurant and there is no sign suggesting alternative parking down on the beach, and no record of my reservation - apparently written down incorrectly by the waitress despite spelling it for her and giving her my cellphone number. A good system for reservations and welcome when guests arrive would make a big difference.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa Nostra also viewed

Umdloti, KwaZulu-Natal
Umdloti, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umdloti, KwaZulu-Natal
Umdloti, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to La Casa Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing