We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food, extensive menu, something for everyone”
Review of La Casa Nostra

La Casa Nostra
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Umdloti
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A little piece of Italy in Umdloti beach.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, extensive menu, something for everyone”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Excellent Menu, catering for all tastes. A bit pricey but then the qualify of food is exceptional. Attentive management and staff. A few of our favourties are gnocchi picante, scampi prawns with pasta (delicious), melanzane (the best in town), baby chicken. Check the specials board. Good sized portions and one is never disappointed. Definitely worth visiting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GrSa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    33
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Food was tasty”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We booked for an early dinner at 6pm, placed our order at 6:30 and only received our food at 7:40pm after we enquired as to where our food was. The service was extremely poor, the waitress had no clue as to what the specials were and had to ask another waiter what they were. Furthermore, we thought the fish we ordered (special) was ridiculously overpriced! The food was tasty enough but certainly not enough to entice another visit!!
On a last note, it is not wheelchair friendly - I had to help a rather distressed woman to the restroom after her husband could not get her chair up on the step, past the umbrella stands which were in the way! Worst of all, no one from the restaurant bothered to assist them!!!!

Helpful?
Thank NiciM2475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothrnburg
1 review
“Don't miss this restaurant”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Who could imagine to find an Italian restaurant i ZA which is better than most restaurants in Italy.
Very tasty food and friendly staff with exellent knowlegde about the food and the wine. If you are in the Durban area don't miss this place. Book a table as it is always crowded by the locals.
//////Kjell and Anneli Widengard

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjelleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Order widely and share!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Everything that we ate was excellent. There were eight of us and we ordered and shared until we couldn't eat any more. Don't miss out if in Umdloti!

Helpful?
Thank keichelpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What an amazing meal”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Pasta is world class. Piccanto. Mince with cream and chilli. The first time I have ever had a meal when the quantities of the ingredients are exactly right that they compliment each other. The most amazing dish I've tasted in a long time.

Will DEFINITELY be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee_Durban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa Nostra also viewed

Umdloti, KwaZulu-Natal
Umdloti, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umdloti, KwaZulu-Natal
Umdloti, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umdloti, KwaZulu-Natal
Umdloti, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to La Casa Nostra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing