We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Umea
Certificate of Excellence
Uppsala
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I've stayed here on several occasions and I find it's the best value for money in Umeå. The layout of the rooms is a bit strange as the wash basin is in the hall as you enter the room but it does give the room a cool feel. The beds are very comfortable and the tv is big and has pretty decent channel selection. The hotel is connected to a public gym which is free for hotel guests to use. Much, much better than the normal tiny gyms you see in most hotels.
The service is very friendly and the bar menu in the hotels restaurant is good plus you get a 50 seek discount as a guest. At breakfast I only had yoghurt and musli so I can't comment although there seems to be a decent selection.

My one complaint would be the cleaning. All though the room was clean I found a sock and a soda can under the bed which indicates that the cleaning staff don't really pay attention to details. The shower head also needed a good clean as it was covered in lime scale.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattias L, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Google Translation
Vi tackar för denna ärliga recension och tar åt oss när det kommer till städningen.
Hjärtligt välkommen åter.
Med vänlig hälsning
Mattias Lindberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    109
    51
    3
    5
See reviews for
35
94
11
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and always receive great friendly service. The hotel is vibrant and modern with a great restaurant too. For those interested, there is also a decent gym which isn't common in Umea. Friendly but still personal service.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GrishersCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattias L, Hotelldirektör at ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Google Translation
Stort tack.
Med vänlig hälsning
Mattias Lindberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I spent one night at this hotel with my fiancé. It was clean, the staff was very friendly and pretty much what we expected after reading the reviews here. I would come back but there are a few things I would like to see improved. For instance, I can't for my life figure out why the bathroom door is transparent and not close all the way up. It looks cool but I'm happy I was sharing a room with my fiancé and not a colleague or someone I didn't know very well. Another tiny thing I noticed was that some one the shampoo and shower gel bottles had been opened and about halfway used. Probably the cleaning crew who messed that up.

Another improvement I would suggest is to put little signs next to the breakfast food listing common allergens (gluten, milk protein, peanuts etc). That would have improved my fiancé's breakfast experience quite a lot. Now we had to ask the staff about every single item we didn't know for sure didn't contain milk or any derivative thereof. The staff did always help us with a smile when we requested dairy free options though.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hassehans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We booked a romantic weekend at this hotel as it was marketed on their homepage. The room was clean and we got a bottle of champagne and robes for an extra cost of 30 euros. But the room was anything but romantic, and the view we had from our junior suite window was over a parking lot. For the price the charge I had hoped for something far greater.

BUT! The breakfast was amazing!!

Room Tip: Unnecessary to pay for junior suite. A standard room is just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missallstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariehamn, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel. The best hotel breakfast I have had for many years, good bread, fresh fruit, lots of different juices and tasty and local food.
Room design is a bit different with the washbowl in the entry hall of the room.
Good and soft beds, nothing to complain about.
And the price was decent, much lower than the other hotels in Umeå with similar standard.
Good location just by the bus station. And, yes, dumbbells for your personal training in the room...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

In the middle of June, Aveny Hotel is a good start for a Nordic experience. Little but well designed (IKEA like), clean rooms with very comfortable beds made me feel good and helped me get along with the midnight sun. Breakfast was excellent, both delicious and healthy. The Hotel bar is rather expensive and closes very early but they make very good cocktails. If you are into sports then the free weight, the CD and the Gym will surely please you. As for me, I'd rather go hiking.
The hotel is located in the center of the city, close to all "touristic attractions". I think the bets way to visit the neighborhoods is by renting a bicycle. The personnel was very helpful by letting me safely "park" my rented bicycle in luggage room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mima1327566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The rooms were clean, but a bit funny lay out. The toilet and shower was in a room, but the sink and heat cables were outside this room, which happens to be the entrance to the room.. It made the sleeping area very warm during the evening and night, even though we had turned the temperature to a minimum where the beds were. Breakfast wasn't anything to write home about though.

It had two sets of hand weights in the room, and a training DVD, a nice touch. (We did not try it). However, we did use the gym, which was huge, and very very good! Free for guests at the hotel, and in the same building. Also the location was right in the middle of the city center, so walking distance to most shops. .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyCeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umea hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Winn
Comfort Hotel Winn
#3 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stora Hotellet Umea
Stora Hotellet Umea
#1 of 14 in Umea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Mimer
Elite Hotel Mimer
#4 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Uman
0.3 mi away
Scandic Plaza Umea
Scandic Plaza Umea
#6 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Dragonen
First Hotel Dragonen
#8 of 14 in Umea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny

Property: ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny
Address: 14 Raadhusesplanaden, Umea 903 28, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Vasterbotten County > Umea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Umea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avenue Hotel is a design hotel located in central Umeå. The hotel is designed for those with high demands on quality and service and seeking an accommodation with exciting and different surroundings. All rooms are equipped with Carpe Diem beds, rain shower and mini bar. Hotel suites include jacuzzi and sauna.Guests have free Wi-Fi and free access to Formtoppen, one of the city's best gym located in the same building.The hotel's own restaurant, Angelini, serves à la carte dishes inspired by the Italian and American cuisine. If you prefer a snack or just a drink, you have the pleasant lounge bar. For those who prefer rustic pub food, beer or whiskey, you are welcome to join us at our own pub, The Pipes of Scotland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aveny Hotel Umeå

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing