We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Plaza”
Review of Scandic Plaza Umea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Plaza Umea
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Umea
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a standard Scandic hotel, but as that usually means large rooms, good breakfasts and excellent staff, I'm not complaining. This is what business hotels should be like. The bed is also really nice, which is a definite plus. There are so many hotels that skimp on the bed quality for some obscure reason. It really is the main thing as to why you stay there...

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Frederyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 425 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed only for one night visiting Umea for work in this centrally located chain hotel, apparently the highest building of the city. Nothing amazing but quite adequate and value for money for a business stay. More friendly service than in Swedish hotels normally – or is it so that the service gets friendlier the more north you get? Rooms are decorated in modern Nordic style, mine on seventh floor had wide views to the Umea river. Comfortable bed, free wi-fi, led-TV, effective bedside reading lights. Walk-in shower was problematic because taking a shower meant the bathroom floor was wet all over. This was a specifically accessible room which might explain the shower design? Nice breakfast buffet with lots of choice (try the blueberry shots!), we did not try the restaurant which advertised asparagus weeks - cannot be locally grown...
Plus for no-smoking policy all over the hotel and for an eco-friedly approach on water and bathroom stuff.

Room Tip: Ask a room in the upper floors to the river if appreciate a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling_My
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is located really in the downtown Umeå. Unfortunately the hotel parking was full (hint: book the parking in the hotel in advance to get it), but there is parking available just next door for 15 SEK/h.

I booked the hotel directly via their webpage www.scandichotels.se and it worked out well.

This building is really nice. There are many meeting rooms on the second floor and they are really nice decorated.

I just stayed for a short time in April, but I had time to enjoy my stay in Umeå. The city itself is nice, there are many placed you can reach by walking distance.

Hotel reception worked well, the service was smooth. The breakfast is guaranteed Scandic-level buffet which is good.

I can also recommend the hotel rooms, they are clean and suits all the needs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob_eriksson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the Umea version of a better-than-average chain of hotels, with good prices and excellent rooms. The lobby restaurant/bar had limited hours, but the hotel was right next to a shopping district, with a couple of good pubs and restaurants. The lobby had a small shop that sold electrical converters, toiletries, and other essentials. An excellent choice, with very good service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nbuchana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Smack in the middle of dwntown Umeå. Decent, spacious room - but a bit hot even in the midst of winter. An empty fridge to keep your drinks cold, but no minibar. No problem with sounds from outside or the neighbouring rooms. Large breakfast buffet, which claims to offer 100 items. Gym room that I did not visit, lobby bar, friendly staff. The hotel restaurant closes at 10 pm.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bilsatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The best thing about Scandic Plaza is the breakfast. It compares to anything in Sweden. The next best thing is being close to the river, and I hope it is frozen in my only visit in the winter end of January. It is also close to downtown and the University, etc. I know there are other places in Umea to stay at and that this is kind of an ugly high rise in this small city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kermitzii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We presceduled our stays for our trip to Sweden and Finland with 6 nights of reservations at Scandic hotels in Sweden. We stayed one night at the UmeaScandic Plaza and made sure before leaving for two days in Finland that a room was reservedd and confirmed by credit card for the night of our return (with late arrival noted because the ferry from VasaFinland would not arrive inUmea until 11:30 p.m. that night). We arrived about midnight and were told that the hotel was overbooked and there was no room held for us. They recommended a hotel near the airport. We had to find our way in a strange town after dark to this hotel. The desk staff af the Scandic Plaza took our cell number and said the hotel manager would contact us the next day. We are still waiting.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Yoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umea hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Winn
Comfort Hotel Winn
#3 of 15 in Umea
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stora Hotellet Umea
Stora Hotellet Umea
#1 of 15 in Umea
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Uman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
U&Me Hotel
U&Me Hotel
#7 of 15 in Umea
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aveny
Hotel Aveny
#5 of 15 in Umea
307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Umea South
Scandic Umea South
#8 of 15 in Umea
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Plaza Umea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Plaza Umea

Address: 40 Storgatan | PO Box 3133, Umea 903 26, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Vasterbotten County > Umea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Umea
#4 Business Hotel in Umea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Umea
Price Range: $104 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Plaza Umea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Plaza Umea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Plaza Umea Umeå

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing