We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok, but nothing more!”
Review of Scandic Plaza Umea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Plaza Umea
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Umea
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vilhelmina, Sweden
Level Contributor
217 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“ok, but nothing more!”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This is quite a normal, not that exciting hotel in the Scandic chain. Centrally located, average restaurant, good breakfast with a lot of options and served until 1 pm on w-ends.
The rooms have lovely views if you have a room towards the "Umeälven" but they are quite boring with no extras. The cleaning could really have been better as it looked like that the only action been taken was changing of towels and linen?... and the towels could have been larger and thicker. Long wait to check in/out but nice staff in the reception but they could have been a bit happier at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ensaimada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    157
    85
    27
    6
See reviews for
47
96
18
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vastra Frolunda, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This hotel is really your average boring Scandic establishment with no extra frills. The room felt like it was decorated 15-20 years ago and needed renewal. The towels might have been the thinnest I have ever experienced and the breakfast had quite a small location for being a Nordic hotel.
Unfortunately I did not have the time to visit the spa on the top floor or the new gym.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was my first trip to Umea so I didn't know what to expect of the city or the hotel. I'm very pleased and I'll probably stay here again on my next visit.

Rooms are roomy and modern, but comfortable. The shower could be slightly more enclosed for my preference, but the bathroom was very large, so if water did splash out onto the floor, it didn't get the entire bathroom wet (comparing, here, to other trips I've taken in Italy, where bathrooms are cramped and the bathroom is basically the shower).

Breakfast is typical Swedish style, which means generous and varied. I never craved anything that was not available. Coffee was good and they even provided cream for those of us who don't like just milk.

I could go on, but suffice it to say this hotel is top notch, elegant, and easy. The sauna is a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00annette00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2011

You'll feel right at home if you're a regular guest in the chain. You always know what to expect.
As far as this particular hotel goes, it's the best in Umeå (originally my "home town").
The hotel is clean and well organised. Their breakfast is high "Scandic standard" and the staff is helpful. The reservations manager made a big effort to sort out a central membership points problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The rooms was not that modern but they are big! You have a lot of room four you and your stuff. You sleep well and the beds are very good.

The breakfast is very good (as at all Scandic hotels) and in the same premises there is a good restaurant the rest of the day.

Front staff is very nice and helpful and you feel welcome when you arrive.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This is as simple, healthy, clean and environmentally friendly as hotels come.
The rooms have wooden floors, the shower is a corner in the bathroom, there are no plastic bottles of cheap shampoo/conditioner etc . Sleeping is bliss, the bed is soft and the windows open to allow in fresh air. One of the few hotels that I have stayed in that did not have the industrial air freshener smell that is all too common.

Room Tip: Go high, the view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Environeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This hotel has a great location in the city centre, so if you're on one of the upper floors you'll get views out across the city and along the river. The sauna on the top floor is great, especially if you're there in winter like I was. My room had obviously been refurbished fairly recently, so everything was new and it was very comfortable with a large armchair by the window. Breakfast was the usual Scandic buffet, with fresh waffles.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have the best views, especially those facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeWindies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umea hotels
0.1 mi away
Stora Hotellet Umea
Stora Hotellet Umea
#1 of 14 in Umea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Winn
Comfort Hotel Winn
#3 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elite Hotel Mimer
Elite Hotel Mimer
#4 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Uman
0.2 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Dragonen
First Hotel Dragonen
#8 of 14 in Umea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Plaza Umea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Plaza Umea

Property: Scandic Plaza Umea
Address: 40 Storgatan | PO Box 3133, Umea 903 26, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Vasterbotten County > Umea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Umea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Umea
#4 Business Hotel in Umea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Plaza Umea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Plaza Umea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Plaza Umea Umeå

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing