We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”
Review of Comfort Hotel Winn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Winn
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Umea
Certificate of Excellence
Skelleftea, Sweden
Level Contributor
216 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Good hotel at a good location. Odd TV (very thick flat screen) Free internett access. Good breakfast and free hot dogs in the evening. The room was clean and good for a single traveller for a few days

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bornen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Winn, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
In Comfort Hotels we aim to give our guest Good Hotels in Good locations at a Good price, so i am very glad to see that you describe your stay as GOOD! Hope to see you back in Umeå again soon:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    272
    103
    18
    9
See reviews for
110
281
36
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
277 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was my second stay at Winn and I stayed a large room at the third floor. The breakfast was as good as I remembered and the room was nice and clean.
The staff was pleasent and efficient.
The only negative thing was that the TV reception was terrible but I didn't really have the energy to do anything about it.
There is some construction going on but I wasn't bothered by it at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Christin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Winn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and i am very happy to see that you have chosen to come back to visit us! I will fix the tv reception ASAP and look forward to welcoming you back to Umeå next time:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a nice and friendly hotel in the city center.
Polite and helpfoul staff.
They have a washing machine, and an Iron/ironboard for free use.
they serve free caffe from machine in the reseption, and free hotdogs in the evening.
I have stayed at this hotel about 50 nights during the last year.
I never choose another hotel if they have a free room. (Can be difficoult in Umeå at times)
Absolutley a recomandation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Winn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Bergersen, Thank you or your kind words! Glad to hear that we are your prefered hotel whenever you are in Umeå and that you are enjoying your many stays! Please ask for me when you are at the hotel next time, i would love to say hello and see if we cant ensure that we always have a room for you when you come to visit us! Just ask for Chris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
1,600 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you need to be downtown Umeå, this is the place.It takes a multiskilled frontdesk staff to handle check in, a small bar, takaway and answering the phone. Wished she got some assistance. The renovated room are small but nice, hopefully the money is there for the bathroom in the future. extra plus for ecolgica breakfast incl. Good you can open the window, oterwise the air got stuffy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phayao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Winn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind words! I must agree, the staff are fantastic:) Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back at Comfort Hotel Winn again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The hotels associated to the Comfort Hotels chain (in Sweden) are rather basic hotels with a bed & breakfast concept. They do not offer you dinner restaurants, conference rooms, pool area and other things that you - as a ordinary guest - mostly do not need.

And that is perfectly fine with me, as long as the hotel is clean; the beds are comfortable; the employees are happy & service minded and the breakfast is good. And when even the room rate (incl. the breakfast) is at a reasonable level, I feel fine.

My stay at this hotel, this time (I have even stayed here before), was not something that gave me positive vibrations.
My room was far away from an affordable one. The rate I paid was SEK 1.420:-/night (equivalent to € 157 or USD 200). Plus SEK 120:- (€ 13 or USD 17) for parking the car in the basement.

When checking in, I found the young female clerk way too dashing. Her attitude; her stressful, controlling, know-all manner was rather unsympathetic.

The room I was given (#339), was really something! It is situated at the highest level, at the very top of the glass facade towards the entrance side of the hotel.
The room is surrounded by glass/windows on three sides…and the front side (towards the entrance/street side) had glass all the way from the floor up to the ceiling. Though, none of the windows could be opened.
I had the impression that I was staying in an incubator, or in a greenhouse. Therefore, it was even important to remember to use the curtains; otherwise the “whole” Umea population easily could study your movements in the room...

The temperature in the room was way too high for me - however, the thermostat for the air condition system was not the fastest one (or the simplest one to handle)….and it was (as I said) impossible to open one of the many windows to get some fresh air. In addition, the sound from the fan connected to the air system was not the most silent one (I noticed, when I went to bed).
The desk where to put my PC to do some work, was very tiny and at an impractical level.

However, the bed was nice and the bathroom modern and adequate (however, with a very small sink…which was fixed as low as only 70 centimeters (2,3 ft.) above the floor.

The breakfast (incl. in the room rate) is served at the hotel’s breakfast restaurant at the 1:st floor. It was clearly that this hotel is very popular among young people…i.e. students (and I am sure back-packers etc.). There were a lot of them during the breakfast. The few mid-aged guests didn’t really fit into the surroundings.
Though, the breakfast itself was quite good and with a nice range of cold and warm (bacon, scrambled eggs etc.) dishes.

My consisting impression is, that this hotel is put in position for, and focused on, rather young people. It is quite close to a youth hostel.

The geographical location of the premises is very good.

However; I did not like what I experienced…and I am looking forward to staying at another nice hotel in Umea during my next visit. I know of at least a couple of them...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homevalley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Manager at Comfort Hotel Winn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest - Thank you for your feedback! I will take it to heart and try and improve on the issues that you mentioned above, I sincerely hope that you come back and visit us on another occasion so that we can show you that we have improved. You are always welcome at Comfort Hotel Winn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
192 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel Winn is a concept hotel with very modernist and somewhat clumsy furniture. the entrance is disconcerting with pink glass, but it directs you straight to the reception desk. The lobby is roomy and its specialty is free coffee/tea and sausages (knackkorv) all day long. Service is friendly and prompt. Rooms are midsize and the bed is comfortable, There is a strange glass desk which is too narrow but good for a laptop. Colours are rather extreme. What I would complain about is lightning (but this is true almost anywhere. There is no ceiling lamp and the existing lamps are weak.
The best part of the hotel is a very well thought of breakfast with only organic products. Lots of fruit and several alternatives for youghurt etc.. Very good bread.
The gym is well organized and has two running machines, one walking machine and one bicycle. Plus lots of weights. And it has a sauna which is warm in the afternoons and evenings. The only problem is that there is no place to change and if you have both sexes training, using the sauna may create problems. When I was there, I could do my training mostly solo.

Room Tip: There is a building under construction on the river side of the building so ask for rooms which open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jippu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Winn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for the kind words! I will make a note of your suggestions and try to improve until next time, hope to see you back in Umeå soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is right in the city centre with bus stops outside the front door. Still it is quiet and beds are comfortable so you are guaranteed a good nights sleep. Staff makes you feel welcome and its a very relaxed atmosphere. There is free wifi and also a free snack (hot dog and coffee/hot chocolate) in the evening by the hotel lobby.

The brekfast is impressive considering the hotel's size. There is almost too much to chose from! The only thing that was a bit of a let down was the room itself as i had one that has not been refurbished. So nothing like the hotel pictures in ads.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Winn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
I am glad to hear that you thought our breakfast was impressive! Make sure to ask for me when you return to Umeå so that i can ensure that your room lives up to the expectations as well! Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Umea hotels
0.1 mi away
Stora Hotellet Umea
Stora Hotellet Umea
#1 of 14 in Umea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Uman
0.2 mi away
Elite Hotel Mimer
Elite Hotel Mimer
#4 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel Aveny
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Dragonen
First Hotel Dragonen
#8 of 14 in Umea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Plaza Umea
Scandic Plaza Umea
#6 of 14 in Umea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Winn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Winn

Property: Comfort Hotel Winn
Address: 62B Skolgatan, Umea 903 29, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Vasterbotten County > Umea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Umea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Winn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Comfort Hotel Winn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing