We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“:-)”
Review of Camp Ripan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camp Ripan
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2012

A group of 13 of us stayed at Camp Ripan overnight before moving to the ice hotel. We arrived around 1900. I booked direct through the hotel and also booked a table in the restaurant. Food in the hotel was lovely, prices are reasonable for the area. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We were all placed near one another rather than half of our party being separated. The accommodation was warm and clean.
Camp Ripan is approx a 10 minute walk away. The staff gave us clear directions. Kiruna is not large city but defiantly worth a look around.

I was unsure as i had read reviews, but Camp Ripan exceeded our party's expectations. We would have been happy to stay for longer at Camp Ripan :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimberley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 417 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

We were advised that Camp Ripan was a decent place to stay and that the accomodation was equivilant to a four star hotel. What a joke if this is 4 star then I don't know where they get this from.
Mildew in the shower room, no teaspoons or any other cutlery for that matter. When we asked reception for teaspoons it was as if we had asked for a 24 carot gold ingot to be put in our room. Where people have mentioned upgrades they obviously are very easily pleased. I have never stayed in such poor accomodation EVER.
Rude receptionist. One good point was the bar staff who were polite.
People we met referred to the camp as Camp RIPOFF and I can only but agree.

Room Tip: Dont stay in Camp Ripan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Camp Ripan! Our first night we were blessed with an early check-in, (one couple was upgraded), great dinner, and the northern lights. Each activity we planned was fun and exciting. One of the people in our group broke a leg 2 weeks prior and the staff were more than accommodating with respect to the location of our cabin and assisting with helping to keep the foot/cast warm and dry. The breakfast was a typical swedish hotel b'fast, nothing fancy...but plentiful and full of variety. The lunch menu is set each day so it's either take the 1 dish on the menu or leave it....we ate lunch twice and both times it was good and hearty. Dinners were fabulous! yes, they have a very limited variety, but what they do....they do great! Maybe for people not accustomed to prices in sweden it could seem expensive, but we were pleasantly surprised at the price for the quality! "best of sweden" dinner is not to be missed! all staff were friendly and helpful, since our train didn't leave till late in the afternoon, they allowed us a late check-out at 3pm for no extra fee. there is a small gift shop, winter clothing store, and snack store in the reception area. we plan on going back for a summer trip and once again next winter (hopefully with no broken bones). it's about a 10 minute walk to the nearest ica and the city center. we opted for the hotel to pick us up at the train station, 95sek per person. we had some miscommunication in our group and thought transport back to the train station was also planned, alas it was not. however, the hotel called a taxi for us and it cost 170sek for all 5 of us.....definitely use sverige taxi for a more economical transport to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cstroup77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Arrived in the evening and left the following day so only a very short stay. Separate reception and rooms were infact cabins around 50m from the main building which also had a bar, shop, restaurant and small snack shop. It was increadibly cold -30C during my stay so even the walk to the cabin was rather uncomfortable and the swipe key to a while to work out to get in! Rooms very warm cosey and well decorated. TV, small kitchen area with fridge & microwave, clothes dryer and good size bathroom. My room also had second bedroom with single or drop down bunk beds. Good 10 min walk into town centre which was tough in the cold and Sunday night does not do Kiruna any favours! By 8pm no place to eat food and could only find one bar still open. Restaurant in Hotel was still open and but food pretty pricey! Internet signal too weak in cabin so need to be in reception area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brightonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Nice cabin, all the space you need. Had enquired whether the room had a kettle, was told no so bought and took a travel kettle only to find one there....
Staff were all nice, although some more helpful than others.
Restaurant nice, but expensive. Only 6 choices of main meal and they don't change the choices very often. Booking recommended in the evening as if it's full you get turned away.
Had a mix up with an excursion we booked through them, but it did get sorted, once we'd applied some medium pressure to the staff.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueC1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Have stayed here twice and has improved a lot in that time. A few years ago it felt a little tired but more recently they have renovated and now the rooms are fresh and the restaurant excellent. Never had a problem with the staff. Would have given it a 3or4 after last trip but worth a 5 now.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie_hobbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiruna
0.5 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
485 reviews
9.3 mi away
Icehotel
Icehotel
#1 of 1 in Jukkasjarvi
1,498 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
40 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bishops Arms
Hotel Bishops Arms
#1 of 3 in Kiruna
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Ripan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Ripan

Address: 5 Campingvaegen, Kiruna 981 35, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Price Range: $170 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camp Ripan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Ripan is a comfortable and stimulating place, beautifully situated with the heart of Kiruna on one side, and the wilderness of Lapland on the other. This offers a wonderful contrast and the experience of having the nature right outside your cabin door is unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camp Ripan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Ripan Kiruna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing