We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, good location, but service could be improved”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kebne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kebne
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Comfortable, good location, but service could be improved”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

1 night at Hotel Kebne booked via Kiruna Guidetur

Ideal location at 5 min walk to the Kiruna Guidetur office and city center.
Guestroom was comfortable, very clean, bit small but OK for a short stay. I appreciated the business center to print my boarding pass and travel documents. Breakfast is fine (incl. American breakfast).

Service, however, could be improved. We did not find the staff friendly at all. They would not greet us back at breakfast and staff at the reception was cold and distant.

Still, it is a good base and convenient if you do not spend too much time at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oeilaiguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    63
    33
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
58
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Well run place, the rooms and bathroom are good, the breakfast is very good - plenty of choice. It's got a handy location, a short direct walk from the train station - 2-3 minutes. The staff are pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ving_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night at the start of our holiday. Good budget option, clean rooms, great breakfast, all in all good choice. The bus from the airport dropped us at the door. Its only a 5 minute walk into town so location is good

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ted-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel was booked through Kiruna Guideturs for us - it's a great location, just 5 minutes' walk from the town centre (and the KGT office). Breakfasts were fine with lots of choice - but no hot food at the weekends, though this is not really a problem unless you love your fried eggs and streaky bacon! You can pop down for tea or coffee all day which is handy when you came in from the cold.

All staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms were warm and cleaned daily. We ate there in the evening a couple of times as it was handy for timings if we had been or were going out on trips or walks. I think that there was only one option for the evening meal each day (some variation on steak, potatoes and veg)but it was very good value and nicely cooked at about £12 or £13 - this included a glass of wine or a beer. (This compares very favourably to some of the restaurants in town - we had one meal out, reindeer steak for OH, elk stew for me and a bottle of house wine - £90! But I have to say it was gorgeous...)

A 15 minute walk towards the ski slope gets you to the outskirts of town away from the sodium glare and a temperature gauge in the reception area gives you a good indication of what it is like inside and outside. Although there is also a tiny outside balcony on the first floor that you can watch the skies from.

Kiruna is an expensive area - probably due to the money coming in through the mining - but you have to accept that. I would certainly use the Hotel Kebne again - it was clean, quite, good location with great staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go-gags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel. Simple. Great breakfast.
Be careful over Christmas though. There was no warning about not being able to get food. Was lucky the scandic ferrum was open for dinner otherwise would not have had anything to eat on Christmas Eve.

Tv ddnt work but we ddnt care. Very clean. Friendly staff.

My disappointments only came from the whole Christmas thing. Ie not having the sauna room open all day on Christmas because reception closes at 4 :(

Would stay here again though, just not over Christmas

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Simple hotel, simple building, breakfast on paper plates.
evenso: Comfortalble, warm, good breakfast, warm bathrom, small but ok.
Small romm, but quiet and comfortable bed.
Reception kind and effective.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steinar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boden, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I chose to stay to Hotell Kebne on the recommendation of business associates. Having stayed at a few other hotels in Kiruna, I'm giving Kebne a very high rating. The rooms are of a good size, and very clean. Pillows were a bit soft for me, but that's just a personal thing. The bathroom was modern and surprisingly roomy. In the basement there is a very nice little guest restaurant/bar which serves generous portion hot meals through until about 11pm. The same restaurant serves a great breakfast from 6:30am with enough hot or cold choices to satisfy anyone. Locationwise it's an easy 5 minute stroll up the hill from the train station. The room rate is not exceptionally cheap, but no dearer than the other hotels in Kiruna and you do get more for your money with Kebne. Staff were always on hand and no request was a problem for them. I can fully understand why Hotell Kebne is usually fully booked. Don't wait until the last minute to make your's.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gplusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiruna
0.6 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
397 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
35 reviews
9.8 mi away
Icehotel
Icehotel
#1 of 1 in Jukkasjarvi
1,421 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kebne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kebne

Property: Hotel Kebne
Address: Konduktogrsatan 7, Kiruna 981 34 , Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kebne 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Kebne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kebne Hotel Kiruna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing