We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel with a good location”
Review of Scandic Ferrum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Ferrum
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel is in the city center of Kiruna. The airport bus stops just outside the hotel. My room was a nice, modern corner room with view of the mountains. The breakfast was OK and included in the rate. the staff was kind and helpful. The only negative aspect is that the you could not watch TV in the sofa, only in the bed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvaStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 508 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

The first impression the hotel gives from the outside is a fitting one, considering this is the town with the largest iron ore mine in the world. A very businesslike, not too welcoming entrance. Staff at the reception seemed a bit absentminded. The rooms are fine. Everything is in working order, clean, free wifi is available. Breakfast was fine, nothing special, but still good enough. Staff was friendly enough, certainly in the restaurant. The hotel has two big advantages: firstly it's in the middle of town. All can be done by foot. Secondly, if you have a room at the outer side, you'll have a magnificent view of the mine: an impressive if not so pictuesque view!
Conclusion: rooms and hotel atmosphere are average. Location is good, and the view of the mine impressive.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa F, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ferrum, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Hi and thank you for your review, we really appreciate that you´re taking your time to write a review about our hotel. I will take all of your response further to all of the staff at the hotel and we will take care of the things that you are mentioning. Great to hear that you liked the view and Kiruna as a city. Once again, thank you and welcome back the next time you´re passing Kiruna.
Best regards,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night. Positive thing was the free parking. According to the brochure breakfast was promissing but it wasn't. The waffles tasted really bad, the dishes weren't clean. I had to take 5 plates to get a clean one ( and to me that's a turn off). Breakfast was only til 9u30 and at 9u30 they actually took the bread, yoghurt, ... away.
Rooms had no carpet, that's positive but it makes them a lot noisyer. At 6 in the morning they started moving chairs. The curtains shouldn't have been there as they kept no light from outside away. The room was with the curtains closed very bright.
Of course we had been spoiled by staying at several Rica hotels but I think it could be better here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babs028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa F, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ferrum, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Hi, thank you for your review. It´s sad to hear that you experienced the breakfast as such a mess. I will of course take this further to the staff responsible for the breakfast. Right now we´re renovationg the restaurant, breakfast room and the lobby to make the handling of food, dishes and service easier and better for both the staff and of course for all of our guests, this will be all done in the middle of November 2013. Hopefully this will help us to solve some of the problems that you experienced during your stay here. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you here again soon! Best regards, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We visited in Feb 2010 as part of a trip to the Arctic Circle, specifically to see the Northern Lights.

The hotel is located in the centre of Kiruna, next door to the Tourist Information office and across a car park from facilities such as the supermarket and town centre. The airport bus also dropped us off very close to the hotel so it really worked well.

Our rooms were nicely decorated and the beds comfy. The rooms were also warm despite it being close to -15c outside most of the time. Breakfast was plentiful - we liked the fact there were various cereal options, breads, meats and cheese and also a pancake & waffle maker.

We also made us of the free internet facilities in the "office" business area (we booked a hire car to drive to see the Icehotel and the Abisko national park - best place for viewing the Northern Lights. Kiruna is actually relatively built up and the Abisko national park provided a ski lift and took us up the mountain for the most amazing views of the lights).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieMcC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa F, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ferrum, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your great review, we really appreciate that you are taking your time to write down your opinions about us. Great to read that you had a good stay in Kiruna and at Ferrum. We´re looking forward to see you here again soon! Best regards, Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed three nights at this hotel. The weather in Kruna was very warm 27 degrees. I liked the service, the rooms were nice but if you stay here you should avoid to have your windows towards the square. The sun will shine into your room very early and the the square is rather noicy. The breakfast is nice with real nice views of the snowcapped mountains. Book a taxi in advance call Kiruna taxi. They will ask if you want to share if yes the ride will cost you 150 Skr i.e 15-16 Euros. There is a small gym at the 5th floor.

Room Tip: Take the romms on the north side. Quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bengt_fjallborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We debated about where to stay in Kiruna and ultimately settled on this hotel, but were sorely disappointed. First, I called the hotel from Stockholm to ask ab out airport transfer and they said "take a taxi." When we arrived at the airport with our 2 small children in tow, we had to call the taxi company and were then told to wait 30 minutes. When we arrived at the hotel and told the front desk clerk, she seemed clearly disinterested. I had asked for a room with a mountain view; she said they didn't have any but the room with that view was vacant the entire time we were here. We asked repeatedly for tourist information at the front desk and they seemed to not know a thing or just didn't have anything to offer. At one point, the girl even asked ME the name of the Thai restaurant a few feet away. The final straw was the last night, when we decided to go to Camp Ripan for dinner (AMAZING!!!) and we discovered on our own that there were small sleds to borrow. Wouldn't you think they would have told us this when we trudged 15 minutes there earlier in the day with a 4 year old. This hotel was simply poor quality all around and I really wish we had stayed at Camp Ripan.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Ellen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after 1 night in a cold room at the Icehotel. It's in a great town centre location close to the tourist info centre, the Kiruna Guideturs office & the SAS airport bus stop is right outside.

We booked late so our choice in Kiruna was limited, we expected an average but reliable chain hotel given the price compared to other accommodation (still extortionate compared to the rest of Europe - up there with Rome & Paris) & that is exactly what we expected and got - functional & a bit boring, perfect for business visitors to the Iron Mine...but maybe that's us being jaded after the Icehotel! We booked through Scandic's own website & the 20% frequent guest discount available made it a little cheaper than listed on other booking sites.

Rooms & public spaces were clean & warm if a little tired in decor. Showers only in the room. Decent breakfast buffet at weekend - I appreciated the vitamin tablets & enjoyed making my own waffles. But the restaurants & bars looked completely soulless even on Fri/Sat nights. We headed to the Bishops Arms for a drink both nights.

There's free access to a PC with printer paper downstairs too which made check-in (only 22hrs prior to departure with SAS) easier at the airport as we were able to check-in online & print off our boarding passes in advance. Free WIFI is accessed using little paper slips with voucher codes from reception.

Kids might like it, there's a small play area & a table tennis table in the gym. I was looking forward to using the sauna post our day activities but when I visited during the day, it was being cleaned - lots of beer cans strewn about in the lounging areas from the previous night & it felt a bit 70s so we didn't bother.

An ok, maybe a bit better than ok, choice & probably the best in town given the location & traveller facilities (others except the Bishops Arms, even the Arctic Eden felt a bit far out from town (300m) in -30C). You don't expect the grooviest of hotels in a mining town beyond the Arctic Circle anyway!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funky_travel_junky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiruna
0.5 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
151 reviews
9.7 mi away
Icehotel
Icehotel
#1 of 1 in Jukkasjarvi
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arctic Eden
Hotel Arctic Eden
#3 of 3 in Kiruna
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Ferrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Ferrum

Address: 15 Lars Janssonsgatan, Kiruna 981 31, Sweden (Formerly Scandic Hotel Ferrum Kiruna)
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Price Range: $150 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Ferrum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic, a hotel chain with over 160 hotels in eight countries where you can make a conscious choice when you are travelling. All our hotels have their own personality and character but some things are always the same to make you feel at home. Organic breakfast, wifi and gym are always included at Scandic. Scandic Ferrum is located in central Kiruna, the northern most city in Sweden, 200 km north of the arctic circle. Our newly renovated hotel have 171 rooms, all furnished in Scandinavian style. We offer seven flexible meeting rooms for up to 135 persons. For larger events we cooperate with Kiruna Folkets Hus, a congress center with room for up to 400 participants connected to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Ferrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing