We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good for rooms above a pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bishops Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bishops Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Kiruna B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty good for rooms above a pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights from 7th February 2013. The room was clean, comfortable and most importantly warm. Having seen previous reviews we emailed the hotel in advance to let them know we were coming in on the late flight and wouldn't get there until close to closing time and gave them our phone number in case our flight was delayed so they could wait for us. But in the end we arrived on time. The staff speak very good english and there is free wifi.

The pub does get very busy Friday and Saturday night but even though we were in room 114 right above the bar (which was crowded and buzzing) we didn't hear a thing or from other rooms. Your key card lets you in any time of the day or night through a side door so you needn't actually go through the pub if it's busy to get to your room.

Breakfast was cereals, various crisp bread and toast options, cold meats, cheeses and veg, yoghurts, biscuits and cold hard or soft boiled eggs, so pretty good as continental breakfasts go. It was topped up quite regularly. Coffee was awful but we expect that in hotels. If you want better coffee we would suggest Cafe Safari down the road.

In the room there are blinds inside the windows and good curtains so not much light gets in. There is a fridge to keep your drinks cold but no tea and coffee making facilities. We ate in the bar one lunchtime which had a very limited choice of burger or chicken in a wrap (the chicken was pretty cold). We ate in the bar one evening, which has a limited menu on Sundays and Mondays but the entrecote steak was excellent and my husband had the pasta which was an odd meal (with a pork leg and a bratwurst sausage) but tasted good. Excellent selection of beers and whiskies if that's your thing.

The hotel is right in the centre, only a few minutes walk from the tourist office and Kiruna Guidetur (who we booked our tours with). The bus station is also very close to get the bus to the ice hotel. They also offered free parking over the road for the hire car. Check out was a very reasonable 12 noon and as you pay in advance you just leave your keys in the room.

All in all, pretty good if you want a central location but don’t expect to see the northern lights from the centre of Kiruna, the light pollution is just too high.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilmismayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    97
    41
    5
    6
See reviews for
29
92
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

One really big draw back with this place . If you arrive before 4pm , not only can you not check- in, which is fair enough , that is the published check- in time BUT you are also unable to leave your luggage with the hotel until 4 pm.In the summer this may be ok, but in a Swedish winter it's not pleasant dragging your bags round for a couple of hours.
This policy only exists to suit the hotel- there are staff in the hotel before 4 pm but for whatever reason the management have decided to make it out of bounds until the magic hour.
The rooms are a good size and comfortable, however as others have said the level of cleaning is hit and miss.
Breakfast was adequate but finishes at 9.30 am on the dot. Noticed a few being caught out by this- again something that isn't really designed with the customer in mind.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel was very clean, and comfortable and quiet. Contrary to some other reviews the Hotel does have Wifi now as well as cabled internet (which they provided a cable).
We stayed here on the last day before flying out after staying in the area for a few days. The Pub had good food to eat and the staff was very helpful. Nice bartender from Newcastle helped us get a cab to the airport the next day.
One word of warning, you have to check in through the Pub that is not always open, so double check their hours with your arrival times. We got lucky and got in on a Sunday before the stated opening time of 4pm, very grateful for that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank need2travel_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Travelling solo, stayed for one night while returning from Abisko

Hotel is in a good location in the middle of town, a few minutes taxi ride from the railway station.
Reception is via the ground floor bar & staff were very helpful.

Room was clean and comfortable 7 ideal for a one night stop over

Great bar downstairs with a good range of ales & food at the usual Swedish extortionate prices
The mooseburger was excellent

Breakfast is the usual Swedish buffet style, served in the bar.

Wired internet in the room & wifi available in the bar

Would stay again if passing through.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in Kiruna, central, tourist shop nearby, tourist guide tours also have ther shops within 5 min walk. Ica groceries and other clothes stores across the street. Kiruna chuch 6 min walk, it's quite dark there so you can see northern light on a clear night, we were lucky to see it.

The rooms are great, spacious (we were in #133), newly renovated bathroom with tub and seperate shower. The big disappointment was the lack of cleaning. When we arrived there were clean towels and fresh linens in the bed. But the floor was absolutely gross. You could tell it hadn't been cleaned for a while.

We had almost unpacked most of our stuff when we noticed it. Dust, bits of gravel, hairs in all colours, old nail clippings, food crumbles you name it the floor was covered in it (no it wasn't us making a mess in 15 mins)

i wiped the floors with a towel. You can see the result on the picture. I took the towel down to reception to show it and the girl said she would show the cleaning team. Have not heard anything else back.

Overall all, i would not hesitate to go back or reccomend this hotel to others as long as the cleaning improves.

Also, i have heard the check ins can be a bit problematic if you arrive before 16, which we did. As I knew this beforehand i had called them up the day before and was given a number to call when we arrived at 2 pm. A girl answered and said she could help us check in straight away so no problems there.

Also, this hotel would be so much more comfortable if there was a waterboiler for tea in each room. I had to go down to the attached pub to get hot water.

If it wasn't for the bad cleaning and lack of waterboiler in the room I would have given this hotel a 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FriedHoneyChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just spent one night at the Hotel Bishops Inn. We were really surprised how lovely this hotel is.
It's very central and despite being attached to a pub, very very quiet! Our room was large, modern and clean. The bathroom appeared to be newly refurbished and was lovely.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again - I'm sure we will back!
The only slight 'problem' is that you can't check in until 4pm... Check in starts when the pub opens, which is a bit annoying. If you are arriving on an early flight, this might not be the best hotel for you...However we happily sat in a local coffee shop for a couple of hours with our luggage.
A great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaela104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The room was good single bed, nice shower all new and working well. The bar looked fun too and the hotel is really centrally located. The staff were not super helpful, but if you don't need to ask for directions or need a map to find your way around. It is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelinaOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiruna
0.5 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
9.6 mi away
Icehotel
Icehotel
#1 of 1 in Jukkasjarvi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bishops Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bishops Arms

Property: Hotel Bishops Arms
Address: Foreningsgatan 6, Kiruna 981 31, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kiruna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bishops Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Bishops Arms in Kiruna. Here you can enjoy a comfortable accommodation, suitable for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bishops Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing