We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moose Stew” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camp Ripan Kitchen

Camp Ripan Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 30 Restaurants in Kiruna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Restaurant Camp Ripan... ...and welcome to the exciting city of Kiruna, where the Swedish, Sami and Torne Valley Finnish cultures meet. Most of our produce comes from our three cultural regions, something we would like to tell you more about. Every dish has its own history. We know where the reindeer wandered and the fish were caught. Our kitchen follows the seasons - all eight of them. Completely according to the ageold Sami traditions. Our dishes are prepared with care, following traditional recipes and spiced with new twists and influences from around the world Restaurang Ripan strives to always choose the most eco-friendly and ethical alternative. Our coffee is eco-certified and we no longer serve bottled carbonated water. The water we serve comes from pristine glacier-fed rivers and is praised as the purest and besttasting in the world. Our goal is to give you a dining experience that moves your senses. Enjoy your meal!
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Moose Stew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Delivered to our chalet. piping hot and delicious. The menu during our time in Swedish Lapland was a little repetitive, mainly reindeer, Arctic chard and moose. And nothing is cheap!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RevdLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    87
    26
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NL/SWE/BE
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“"Great lodging and amazing food"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

This place is good for people who want to tent, who have a camper, or who want to enjoy simplicity while enjoying luxury all at once. My family (3 adults, 1 child and 1 baby) stayed here and lived it. We rented a lodge, and were surprised at the well planned layout, cleanliness and luxury of it.
We visited the restaurant which turned out to be a treat in itself. Simple and easy menu, made special with the rich-tasting produce that was used to produce very flavourful dishes.
I will definitely visit this place again.

Helpful?
Thank lindakatarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing 5 course dinner with an excellent choice of wines. Each dish was made to perfection both when it came to taste as well as presentation. No hesitation in recommending Camp Ripan to the most demanding food critic.

Helpful?
Thank AmmiStockholm_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“breakfast 21march 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were only here for one (impromptu) night, so only sampled delights of the bar and breakfast next morning.
Excellent choice on buffet style breakfast - to suit all tastes. Fresh, hot & plenty.
Gorgeous bread, but omelette a bit strange, though not entirely unpleasant.
Cabins were great with good shower. 2 bunk beds in one room & 2 single in main space, so good for families.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianeruth2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

I liked that it was less expensive vs ice hotel restaurant and it was really tasty. I ask for the mushroon soup and the fish.
My husband had the ALG and it was really good! (Moose with barbacue sauce). And both the chocolate truffles as dessert.
Make sure to have reservation or you can run the risk of not being able to eat there. The decor is nice, comfy and romantic.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camp Ripan Kitchen also viewed

Kiruna, Norrbotten County
Kiruna, Norrbotten County
 
Kiruna, Norrbotten County
Kiruna, Norrbotten County
 
Kiruna, Norrbotten County
Kiruna, Norrbotten County
 

Been to Camp Ripan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing