We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining in Kiruna”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camp Ripan Kitchen

Camp Ripan Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 32 Restaurants in Kiruna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Restaurant Camp Ripan... ...and welcome to the exciting city of Kiruna, where the Swedish, Sami and Torne Valley Finnish cultures meet. Most of our produce comes from our three cultural regions, something we would like to tell you more about. Every dish has its own history. We know where the reindeer wandered and the fish were caught. Our kitchen follows the seasons - all eight of them. Completely according to the ageold Sami traditions. Our dishes are prepared with care, following traditional recipes and spiced with new twists and influences from around the world Restaurang Ripan strives to always choose the most eco-friendly and ethical alternative. Our coffee is eco-certified and we no longer serve bottled carbonated water. The water we serve comes from pristine glacier-fed rivers and is praised as the purest and besttasting in the world. Our goal is to give you a dining experience that moves your senses. Enjoy your meal!
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Kiruna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is my favourite restaurant in Kiruna. Though rather expensive (like everything else beyond the arctic circle...) it is totally worth it. Local delicacies are perfectly cooked and presented, which leaves a very nice impression. Together with Ice Hotel restaurant and Old Homestead in Jukkasjärvi they make my three top favourites in the northern Sweden.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaarila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    93
    26
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
605 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Good - but Nothing, Nowhere is Inexpensive up here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had two evening meals at Camp Ripan whilst staying at the hotel.

By any standard it is an excellent establishment - even though perhaps the menu is rather restricted. But that was no problem. The speciality was the 'renfillet' - reindeer steak, which we had for one meal. This was served in a striking way with three 'castles' - well laid out, with a nice sauce and very tasty. At over 800 SEK for two with just one course, and two glasses of wine, one might well say 'ouch!'. But no doubt this is for people - like most there - who are not used to the prevailing prices for restaurant food.

The second meal was of moose - served rolled - again tasty but nowhere near as nice (or expensive) as the reindeer. One useful thing was that the restaurant opened at 5pm (1700), so that you could finish and then go on an evening event (we went on the horse sleigh ride).

The surroundings are pleasant - not grandiose - with a good view from the full length windows. The service was good and the staff very pleasant and helpful - not just with the meals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Incartek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good, but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We went as a group of 4. 2 of us had the Sample Menu and were quite happy with the 5 small courses. Me and my partner just had a main, which was alright but nothing as amazing as the price would suggest.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good but Expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner at Camp Ripan, but it wasn't somewhere we could afford to eat at more than once during our stay. Food was well prepared local fare.
We had he smoked reindeer appetizer (underwhelming - would not get this again) and the moose roulade and reindeer filet for mains. The mains were both very good. The biggest complaint we have is the lack of vegetables served. both mains (and the starter too) consisted of meat and starch with no substantial vegetable side. Nor was there any salad or veggie option on the menu. certainly not a restaurant if you don't eat meat (there were fish options).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank tandk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streatley on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at Camp Ripan for 2 nights. We ate dinner on the second night. I had the topside of moose which was a great way to try the moose.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camp Ripan Kitchen also viewed

Kiruna, Norrbotten County
Kiruna, Norrbotten County
 
Kiruna, Norrbotten County
Kiruna, Norrbotten County
 

Been to Camp Ripan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing