We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Point North Youth Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kiruna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Point North Youth Hostel
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kiruna
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

When we arrived at our hostel, it was so cute that we didn't believe that it was ours, the entrance with snow and christmas decoration was so nice ! Inside, really cosy, as a real swedish house you are feeling really comfortable ! the location is just perfect: just 5 minutes walking to downtown and besides we have a little supermarket "ica" really close at 2 minute walking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jujuseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I stayed at Point North Youth hostel with a friend for 3 nights. My friend and I were really late in booking, we called the owner a couple of days before arriving and she was really accomodating and managed to squeeze us in.

The hostel is a 10 minute walk from the Bus station and it's best to look at a map before you go.
It was a very basic place but I thought it had everything you needed. There's a kitchen to cook your own food. Meals are not included. There's a small supermarket just 2 minutes away and a bigger one down the road 5 minutes away.
The walls are quite thin and you can hear people in the next room, so bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper.
There's only 1 shower and 2 toilets for the 4 rooms with 12 beds though. So you might have to wait a while before you can shower in the evenings.
Kerstin, the lady who owns the place is really lovely and can give you many tips on what to do and see, and where to best see the nothern lights.
I suggest though if you want to see the northern lights, don't go to Kiruna. My friend and I spent 3 nights in Kiruna and didn't get to see them. The weather was bad (we were not very lucky) and the city lights are much too bright. They light up the entire sky, which makes it difficult to see any lights.
If you don't have your own car, you have to walk about 40 minutes one way just to get to a place that is dark enough.

Free WiFi
You have to pay extra for sheets so bring your own, or bring a sleepingbag.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swisscheese90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We, a couple, stayed a few nights in this hostel. It's very nice. Also the way to da darker area for watiching the northern lists is quite close (approx. 15 minutes).
The bus was takes us drectly from the airport to the entrance of this hostel. Very handy for us.
We can suggest this hostel without any restrictions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

A very friendly place, super reasonable rates, simple and clean accomodations. The hostel is the bottom floor of the owner's home, and there is a nice kitchen, shower, and big bedrooms. Centrally located close to the central station and grocery stores. A great base for anyone hiking Kungsleden, and a great place to rest and recover after hiking! One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in, Point North gets my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mlmp_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Friendly and helpful owner, clean kitchen and basic but homely rooms.

I would advise printing out a map before you get there. It's a ten ish minute walk from the train station.

I think Kiruna only has one other hostel, Yellow House, which has been going for 30 years. It has much more information about tours. Point North has been going for 2 years or so.

Also, we saw auroras right above the house and really great ones following the E10 road 5 minutes away from the house (left out the house to the pink shop and left again and follow the road around til you get to where there are fewer lights.)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waterslide_victory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

This little house is located about 12 minutes walk from both the Train station & Bus station (uphill). It's a lower floor of a house and has 2 bunk beds in a room, one shower+toilet and a toilet, a kitchen with all utensils, a dining area and a little hall. The place was clean and tidy, and you got to clean it before you leave too. The place also has some rules, like no showers between 23.00-6.00 and no racketing, but that was ok for us. Bed linen & towel costs 50Kr more. It is pretty economical for budget travellers to cook there as will cause some restaurants are pretty expensive in Kiruna. There is a Coop and an ICA close by to shop.

It's about 10 minutes walk away from Camp Ripan, where after 21.30 the ski track lights go off and it is pretty dark, where you can see the Northern-light less the distraction of city lights. It is about 15 mins from the ski-slope where if you take the snow mobile trail to the other side you can view the Northern-lights too.

The landlady lives upstairs. She is a nice person and will give you some basic tips. All in all, a very good and budget place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hakimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

Firstly, it was very difficult to find information on the Point North Hostel. The website doesn't appear to work, and my request for further information via email got a reply with availability and price details only. So, I was a bit wary of what exactly I was getting.

Luckily, it was better than expected. 200SEK per person was enough to get a private room (we were travelling as a couple) with 3 bunks and table and chairs. There seemed to be three other rooms of a similar size. These shared a decent sized kitchen with full sized fridge/freezer and all necessities, and a large dining room with games and tv. There wasn't a lounge area as such though, which was a shame as there was no real area to really relax. There was one shower/toilet, and a separate toilet, which was fine when we were there (there were 4 other people staying) but I can only imagine could be a problem if the hostel was full.

The communal areas were all very clean. The room at first seemed clean, but there was quite a bit of dust accumulated in the unused areas of the room - the system is supposed to be that you clean the room when you leave (or pay a cleaning fee), but this wasn't enforced when we stayed - and so we left it in the same state as when we arrived, which is probably what occupants had been doing for some time!

Location wise, it was an easy 10 min walk from the Kiruna shops & information centre, where the airport bus drops you off. There is also a supermarket, corner store and pizzeria nearby.

Overall, it was good value for the price, and I would consider staying there again if I was in Kiruna for a night or two.

There is some info at http://www.kirunalapland.se/en/Stay/Youth-hostel/Point-North-Youth-Hostel/, and the email address is kerstin@pointnorth.se

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank antarcticmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kiruna hotels
0.4 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
0.3 mi away
Malmfaltens Logi & Konferens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point North Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point North Youth Hostel

Property: Point North Youth Hostel
Address: 31 Hermelinsgatan, Kiruna 981 39, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kiruna
Also Known As:
Point North Youth Hotel Kiruna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing