We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay!”
Review of Hotel Samegarden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Samegarden
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Tadley, Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is an unusual property, rooms & kitchen upstairs, some office and other rooms on the ground floor and a small Sami Museum in the basement. We found the museum to be very interesting, and it's very cheap only a couple of quid to look around. The rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Large TV, twin beds, lot of soft lighting. The kitchen and lounge right outside the bedrooms is well equipt and immaculately clean. Also the lady who does the breakfast is very friendly. Breakfast is optional & only costs a few quid. The location is good too. We walked to the centre in less than 10minutes. Also we went for a wander and found this great place near the ski slopes to mess around and sled down the hill. We spent an hour running up and sliding back down the hills like kids! It probably took us at least 25mins to walk there but it was worth the trek! The only thing that needed a little bit of attention was the bathroom, unfortunately these were a bit dated and there was a bad smell coming from the drains. Our stay here which was only for 1 night but we wished we'd have stayed longer. It was relaxing and enjoyable. (The Arctic Thai restaurant is close too!)

Room Tip: I think all the rooms here are probably very similar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tadleytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

At first sight, Samegården in Kiruna is by no means what you would call a fancy hotel, yet it retains a certain charm that has convinced me for a couple of years in a row now. Samegården somehow reflects the impression you could have when you arrive in Kiruna for the first time : rough on the surface, with more engaging qualities within.

The hotel consists in 6 single or double rooms right inside the Sami Centre, that homes an association dealing with issues related to this population. It is conveniently located just 5 minutes away from the city centre – which is quite easy you might say given the size of the centre and the concentration of what little urban attractions there are in Lapland’s capital. Most other hotels are within walking distance as well, but Samegården is in my opinion the best quality/value ratio in town. The building itself is somewhat atypical, with doors and shutters proudly bearing the colours of the Sami flag. Step inside and time seems to have flied backwards a decade or two. Do not mistake me here, the rooms are modern (though the bathrooms could do with a facelift) and the shared areas cosy and welcoming, with a living room, a kitchen and cooking facilities for guests. Actually, the place is charmingly old-fashioned - something similar to a grandparents’ house maybe - and exudes a feeling of quiet and tranquility that is typical of Scandinavian interiors. For those interested in Sami culture, there is a small museum on the ground floor, with displays on typical clothes, huts, weapons, etc.

To put it in a nutshell : Samegården is your perfect unpretentious Lapland home on a budget. Another reason why you might want to stay there rather than somewhere else is that you contribute to a regional cause rather than to the benefits of a larger hotel chain.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobTrotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This place completely exceeded our expectations. It's a guesthouse with around 10 rooms, a fully equipped kitchen and a lounge area.

Our en suite room was very clean and comfortable. It was lovely and warm (a welcome relief from the freezing cold outside).

It's just outside the centre of town (about a 10 minute walk). We walked about half an hour out of town, up a hill and saw a spectacular display of the northern lights.

We were there at the weekend and the owner was not there, but this was no problem for us as our room was ready nonetheless.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eleanorlondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DSM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

I liked this hotel. It is in a quiet location just outside the town center. Rooms were comfortable and you can even cook your own meals or make coffee/tea in the kitchen. The lady who runs the hotel was friendly and helpful but I was a little put off when she tried to raise the room rate after I had arrived. She had verified my reservation at 400 krones just 3 weeks before by E-mail, then tried to raise the rate to 500 krones after I had arrived, saying that the rates had gone up in September. I argued and ended up paying 450 krones. It left a bad impression to an otherwise good experience.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dmarspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

We found this hotel through the Kiruna tourist office, as all other hotels were full (it was the Melodiefestivalen - or Eurovision heats in other words!) and the town was fully booked.

We were a bit dubious as the hotel only has 8 bedrooms and as it was the only hotel with availability in the whole of Kiruna we thought it must be pretty bad. However, it was wonderful! It is actually a museum with hotel rooms above it, and although quite basic the place was spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were clean, and the bedroom itself was huge! There was a communal area with full cooking facilities, a dining table, comfy sofa, and 2 armchairs with a television. We found this a great place to relax in the evening with a glass of wine or two and a great opportunity to meet some fellow travellers from around the globe. A full continental breakfast is available in the morning in a separate breakfast room, and the food was totally adequate and contained the usual Swedish fare - cereals, yogurts, lots of different types of bread and crackers, sliced cheese, sliced meats, eggs, kaviar, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, fruit juices, etc. Wonderful!

It is only a 5-10 minute stroll into the city centre, depending on whether you need to walk fast to keep warm (it was freezing when we were there, minus 25C!!).

I can't recommend the hotel highly enough, very good value too!

  • Liked — The location, cleanliness, price, laid back atmosphere
  • Disliked — 2 single beds, not ideal for a married couple but it didn't really bother us.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwikirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiruna
0.5 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
404 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
9.8 mi away
Icehotel
Icehotel
#1 of 1 in Jukkasjarvi
1,462 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samegarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samegarden

Property: Hotel Samegarden
Address: 14 Brytaregatan, Kiruna 981 34, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Samegarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing