We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place. Great value and very clean”
Review of Hotel Samegarden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Samegarden
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This place completely exceeded our expectations. It's a guesthouse with around 10 rooms, a fully equipped kitchen and a lounge area.

Our en suite room was very clean and comfortable. It was lovely and warm (a welcome relief from the freezing cold outside).

It's just outside the centre of town (about a 10 minute walk). We walked about half an hour out of town, up a hill and saw a spectacular display of the northern lights.

We were there at the weekend and the owner was not there, but this was no problem for us as our room was ready nonetheless.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eleanorlondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 41 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2008

I liked this hotel. It is in a quiet location just outside the town center. Rooms were comfortable and you can even cook your own meals or make coffee/tea in the kitchen. The lady who runs the hotel was friendly and helpful but I was a little put off when she tried to raise the room rate after I had arrived. She had verified my reservation at 400 krones just 3 weeks before by E-mail, then tried to raise the rate to 500 krones after I had arrived, saying that the rates had gone up in September. I argued and ended up paying 450 krones. It left a bad impression to an otherwise good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dmarspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

We found this hotel through the Kiruna tourist office, as all other hotels were full (it was the Melodiefestivalen - or Eurovision heats in other words!) and the town was fully booked.

We were a bit dubious as the hotel only has 8 bedrooms and as it was the only hotel with availability in the whole of Kiruna we thought it must be pretty bad. However, it was wonderful! It is actually a museum with hotel rooms above it, and although quite basic the place was spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were clean, and the bedroom itself was huge! There was a communal area with full cooking facilities, a dining table, comfy sofa, and 2 armchairs with a television. We found this a great place to relax in the evening with a glass of wine or two and a great opportunity to meet some fellow travellers from around the globe. A full continental breakfast is available in the morning in a separate breakfast room, and the food was totally adequate and contained the usual Swedish fare - cereals, yogurts, lots of different types of bread and crackers, sliced cheese, sliced meats, eggs, kaviar, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, fruit juices, etc. Wonderful!

It is only a 5-10 minute stroll into the city centre, depending on whether you need to walk fast to keep warm (it was freezing when we were there, minus 25C!!).

I can't recommend the hotel highly enough, very good value too!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank kiwikirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Claudia2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank rolfmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Tranquilidad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank getxo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nessunoMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiruna
0.5 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
29 reviews
9.8 mi away
Icehotel
Icehotel
#1 of 1 in Jukkasjarvi
1,560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotell Vinterpalatset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samegarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samegarden

Address: 14 Brytaregatan, Kiruna 981 34, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Price Range: $98 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Samegarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing