We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fantastic visit to The Tavern - the best pub around!!!”
Review of The Tavern

The Tavern
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Denstone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: 16Th Centuary Village Pub and Restaurant in the very pretty village of Denstone 10mins from Alton Towers , 30 mins from the Peak District . Serving quality , local produce, Real Ales, Fine Wines , Real Wood Fired Pizzas at Weekends .
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A group of 10 of us went to the Tavern last Saturday to celebrate my husbands birthday. I have to say that The Tavern never disappoints when it comes to atmosphere, food, company, welcome etc... the list is endless.

I had asked for some preparations to be done and put on the table, drinks etc... and sure enough when we arrived everything was exactly as I had requested. We were immediately welcomed by the team behind the bar and from that moment on we were all treated like we were the only customers in the pub (even though it was fully booked and busy).

The staff are great, welcoming and friendly. The menu is fantastic - I have never eaten such great food in a pub, the chef never disappoints.

I would highly recommend this pub to anyone, however my only tip would be BOOK EARLY as it does get very booked up in advance. Enjoy!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JessTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky B, Owner at The Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for your recent review , it realy does make our day when we read a review as you have so kindly written . The Tavern is the hub of the Village but the Tavern would not be what it is without customers like yourselves ,may you always feel at home when you come to see us ! We always enjoy your and your whole families company Chris x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 342 of 395 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We went for a works outing from Alton towers entertainments must say the service was fab did not have long to be served,

Food was fantastic stake was cook to perfection we had a good laff with the land lord will be coming back very soon we will be there on the 31st of march

Thanks for a good night Chris.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Petey34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Tavern at Denstone in Staffordshire never disappoints - come winter or summer. For an early Saturday night dinner for two it was once again warm and welcoming although it's advisable to book. There is always a crowd round the bar. For anyone used to London prices it is real value for money with friendly service and a varied menu with some old favourites as staples. The wine is interesting and again represents real value for money - a top of the range red came in at around £25 and the total bill for two to £70 including a pre-dinner beverage. Charmingly, what I did hear later was that Chris behind the bar often offers lifts home to their b & bs to folks in summer who have arrived on foot but feel too full to walk back, Now that wouldn't happen in London.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohnnyMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky B, Owner at The Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor , I was pleased that you came to see us again and hope you enjoyed your time with us , it is so important that customers return and again as friends. As you noted we take guests back to local bed and breakfast hostelries , we feel this is important to see that guests / diners are returned "home" safely and it goes a long way in the enjoyment of the Tavern and the B&B hopefully they will return as we hope you also do soon .regards Chris .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We live abroad but one of the things we always plan to do when we return to the UK is have a meal at the Tavern. The food is ALWAYS great, really tasty and big portions at a very reasonable price. The pub is lively at the bar and the owner very welcoming and the conservatory restaurant is really nice. Good wine selection and always excellent specials available. Looking forward to visiting next time we're in the UK

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FidelGastroPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky B, Owner at The Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind review , we love the Tavern and were so glad you love it too , look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great roasts and excellent quality food.
Excellent menu, good service and cosy atmosphere.
Also food nicely presented with care and attention.

Thank ruthyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern also viewed

 
Alton, Staffordshire
Alton, Staffordshire
 
Yeaveley, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing