We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy little b'n'b perfect for Alton Towers”
Review of Manor House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denstone
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Farm
Ranked #2 of 5 Denstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Cosy little b'n'b perfect for Alton Towers”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Booked their last room at very late notice and after a 3 hour drive in rainy, rush hour traffic were greeted by a gorgeous little farmhouse with a roaring log fire and lovely hosts.

Lovely little bedroom with everything you need for a nights stay. The owners managed to book us a table at the tavern pub (We walked there and back which took about 20 mins - chris gave us a torch) Lovely food and good beer.

Slept well and filled up on lots of yummy breakfast before leaving at 0920 for alton towers.

Would stay again if visiting alton towers in the future.

(As I booked at such late notice I didnt even think twice about the owners having animals....I know, I know.....dogs...on a farm...really you don't say?!!!! But... just to say I am allergic to dogs and did start to suffer but once I'd had an allergy tablet was fine. Just to let people in a similar position know that there are animals about!!)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcountrylass22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear West Country Lass.
Thank you very much for taking time to review our property.
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your very complimentary comments but we are obviously sorry you suffered from your dog allergy.
I know this can be a problem and we have tried to let everyone know we have dogs by putting several photos on the website.So hopefully it did not spoil your day at the Towers.
Thanks again and thank you for mentioning the dogs so as to worn fellow sufferers
Yours Chris and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
97
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We chose this place mainly because of how close it was to Alton Towers, but also because of it being a working farm. The room was traditional and cosy with lovely bath robes and a beautifully comfortable bed. The hosts were extremely welcoming and lovely to chat to. They made excellent recommendations for various pubs and restaurants in the local area. The farm was beautiful and the breakfast was made up of bacon and sausages from it- truly delicious. The owners dogs were great too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SamuelWoolford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our b/b and thank you so much for all your kind words.I am pleased to say that Penelope our pig has just had a new litter and is making a great job of rearing her young.Which will help with the breakfasts next summer.This sounds abit hard,but at least we know that they will have as good a life as possible with us.I do believe that happy pigs make the best bacon.
The dogs Fletch and Ted also asked me to thank you for adding them to your review.
Best wishes Chris and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Excellent b&b which is full of character and charm. Top quality service from the owners who made us feel right at home from the start. The food was top quality and is sourced from the working farm and local produce. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone open to something much different to a premier inn!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elliot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you so much for yet another very pleasing review. Penelope our sow has just produced another litter and i will be popping to see how her piglets are getting on after this reply.We try hard to keep supplying our own bacon and sausage which always seems to go down well.
But we must thank the local farm shop in Denstone who cure the Bacon for us and also make the sausages.
Thanks again for taking the time to send this review.Yours Chris and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I had the good fortune to stay at this lovely place when I visited Alton Towers. What a lovely place!

Gorgeous house, run by a lovely couple, who do everything in their power to make you feel right at home.

Everything was of a truly exceptional quality. The breakfast was gorgeous and plentiful and the rooms were luxurious and extremely clean.

Will be going to Alton Towers again, just so I can go and stay! Excellent!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you Thank you Thank you.
We do try very hard to make our guests very welcome which is why these reviews are so pleasing.
Thank you so much and we hope to see you when next at Alton Towers.
Best wishes Chris and Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Having stayed here once before some years ago, we were delighted to find that everything is just as good as, if not better than, last time. A Jacobean farmhouse oozing character and charm, our cosy bedroom had a sumptuously-furnished four poster bed (and matching bath!), good quality towels and toiletries, a really good selection of teas and coffees and plenty of fresh milk in the little fridge, TV and reading material - and a really delicious and plentiful breakfast to round off the stay. It was just a pity that we were only there for one night. Thank you again, Chris & Margaret, and we hope to stay again (for longer next time!) Trish & Mike

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixie2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi Trixie
Thank you very much for taking the time to right such a pleasing review.I know i keep saying how pleased we are to get such glowing reviews but it really does make all the difference.
We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed the 4 Poster Bath.What we have always tried to do is add to the character of the house,so it is great to have you comment on the little extras.
Thanks again Chris and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our two days out at nearby Alton Towers were the highlight of our recent week away touring the middle of country, but the conversation in the family since has most often turned to Chris and Margaret's charming home and how much we enjoyed our brief stay with them.
Beautiful period furniture and a roaring log fire - what a quaint and relaxing way to enjoy an otherwise dull England football match…
The breakfast Chris laid on is one of champions (as a connoisseur of 'the full English' both my tastebuds and waistline were suitably impressed!) and it really set us up for a full, active day.
The atmosphere the guys cultivate at Manor House Farm is as delightful as it is charismatic and I will be evangelising about our stay to anyone who will listen for some time to come.
Even the farm dogs (not present in the guest house I hasten to add) are child friendly, allowing our usually dog-suspicious 12 year old to pet a couple of madly wagging tails.
We will return!

Room Tip: Family room will easily accommodate four and décor is gorgeous too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hi and thank you for your truly excellent review.You were quite right about the boring England match but it was great to have you staying with us..Yet again we have taken too long to reply which is not acceptable and i will have to give myself a good talking to.
But may i offer my sincere thanks for choosing us to stay with and we hope to meet you all again when you are back in the area.
Best wishes Chris and Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a real find and we hope we'll be able to go back for a longer stay some time. The countryside around is really gorgeous - deepest England at its most English! The house is amazing - dating from 1708, but going back even further, it has real character and is stuffed full of really interesting antiques lovingly collected by Chris. The gardens are splendid and we would have loved to have a whole day just to sit around and enjoy the comfort and beauty of it. The whole place is testimony to the work Margaret and Chris put into it. The latter couple are the type that are so hard to find, but so treasured when you do: they're down to earth and very genuine, and genuinely interested in making your stay as enjoyable as possible. Margaret is a really warm and caring lady and Chris is a mine of information about rare breed farming, antiques and a lot of other stuff too! Both of them are genuinely interested in their guests as people. I left the case for my mobile phone behind and they went out of their way to find it and post it to me, so I received it only two days after we got home. This B&B is in Alisdair Sawday's "Interesting Places" website and it merits the title much more than many others we've visited. There are some lovely pubs in the area and we did a really great 10 mile walk along the Churnet Valley disused railway line.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manorhousefarm, Owner at Manor House Farm, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for this extremely generous review and so sorry it has taken me so long to reply.To say we are extremely busy is no excuse.! We are delighted that you found the area such a delight and we look forward to meeting you both next time your are in the area.I have lived here all my ljfe but still find the area a great delight.
Thank you also for all your very kind words regarding the house and garden.They are a passion that keeps both Margaret and Myself busy throughout the yearr, Athough looking outside now we do need to spend more time in the garden,
Thanks again Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denstone
12.4 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
1.1 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
14.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
1.0 mi away
Heywood Hall
Heywood Hall
#1 of 5 in Denstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 11 in Alton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Farm

Property: Manor House Farm
Address: Manor House Farm Quixhill Lane | Prestwood, Denstone ST14 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Denstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Denstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chris and Margaret are proud to offer quality accommodation in our grade 2 listed farm house. 4 En-suite bedrooms, 3 with four poster beds. Oak paneled dining room where we serve excellent breakfasts with bacon and sausage from our own pigs and eggs from the free range hens. If you are looking for somewhere quite unique then look no further. A haven for the discerning holiday maker. Ideal for Alton Towers or Peak District National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing