We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
101
9
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbouquet cottageself cateringdave and gilldove cottagealton towersan amazing place to staylovely hoststheme parkpeak districtarbor
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 110 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Windy arbour

We stayed in the Peacock Cottage for two nights in August 2010 while we were visiting Alton Towers. What a wonderful place to stay, everything about our stay was fabulous, the accommodation, the locationa nd most of all the hospitality by the owners Dave and .Gill. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they made you feel so at home.
The accomodation was very well equipped and clean and tidy
Steve and Julie Green

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We went back to Windy Arbour for 3 nights while visiting family. We have been before, but this time opted for the peacock cottage instead of the classic room in the farm as their were more of us. It is very cosy with plenty of space for everyone. (sleeps up to 8 people, we were only 3!). Nicely done out and spotlessly clean. We had breakfast in the farmhouse which was as before the best breakfast available anywhere!! Freshly cooked with a wide choice of cooked items, plenty of cereals, fruits and yoghurts. Amazing!!!
The owners are very welcoming and kind too. What more can you ask for. Go their and enjoy for yourselves, but don't tell everyone, coz there won't be any room for me!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEITHTRAVELAGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Lovely farmhouse with great views, Ideally located for Alton Towers which was 10 mins away. Gill and Dave were great hosts and were so friendly, the breakfast in the morning was fantastic. We stayed in the Library room which had a double and a single bed and ensuite shower room. I spent some time looking at the collection of books and even found some original Eagle Annuals !! I would recommend Windy Arbour to anyone and will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellyelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed her for 2 nights in the Old English room whilst going to Alton Towers, it was in a fantastic location to reach Alton Towers and the scenary surrounding the house was spectacular.The room was comfy and came equipped with a TV, DVD, teas and coffee facilities. We had a very comfy nights sleep and used took a dvd with us to watch in the evenings. The breakfast in the morning was lovely and very filling. Unfortunately the weather was rubbish on the day we went to Alton Towers but owners (who's names escape me) did not hesitate in offering waterproof jackets that they had spare, which came in very handy!! I would definately recommend the local pub (The Tavern) in Denstone and I think it was called the Bulls Head in Alton, both served delicious food!
Loved staying here, and was very reasonable for £50 for 2 adults per night!! would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirst1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Wonderful, clean, quiet, fantastic hosts, excellent location for Alton Towers, great views, really nice room, great breakfast. Can't praise enough. Will definately be staying again and recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevrobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews