We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So lucky we found this place!”
Review of Jazzkoket

Jazzkoket
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in Ostersund
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So lucky we found this place!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After walking along the "strip" in Östersund where all restaurants looked similar, this was a little gem that we discovered. We hung here all evening, eating food made of local products, drinking wine, listening to live music. The people who worked there were really friendly and unpretentious, and it felt a bit like sitting in someone's living room. For instance, they could sit down at your table when explaining the menu, instead of hovering above. We loved the place!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank malebron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    52
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Soul Food at its best”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent hamburger with lovely homemade bun and fried onions that leaves the competitors way behind throughout Sweden. Compared to the Hamburger served at The Flying Elk in Stockholm, this is so so so much better.

However, I do not understand how the chef can serve the mussels (which were lovely) with an extremely bitter soup/cooking juices that comes from the beer is has cooked in. 1 star performance....

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soul_Food_Forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic little gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were in Ostersund to run a half marathon. We picked this restaurant based on the tripadvisor reviews and it was excellent. The food was outstanding and the service was topnotch. Our server was informative and extremely friendly. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone who visits the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianAbroad73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A true gem”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

With high ambition aiming to promote locally produced food and beverages, Jazzköket truly meet all our expectations and by far exceeds them. We had three courses each and would recommend anything from the menu but especially the moules and the mountain cow burger.
For those who are only up for a drink the "Lager bar" in the courtyard is well worth a visit, the extensive and diverse beer list consists almost entirely of regionally produced craft beers. We tried seven different beers in different styles from Jämtland, and they were all excellent.
The interior is welcoming and warm in a stylish way, with a small bandstand and bookshelves. Being anywhere near Östersund a visit here is essential.
/ Jens and Tove from Stockholm

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Östersund, Jämtlands Län, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“UNforgettable”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is what I always want to experience when I am in a new city: best food, friendly atmosphere and great chance to learn more about the local producers, artists and residents. You can get it all in one place - Jazzköket.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Sepideh-Raz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jazzkoket also viewed

Ostersund, Jamtland County
Ostersund, Jamtland County
 
Ostersund, Jamtland County
Ostersund, Jamtland County
 
Ostersund, Jamtland County
 

Been to Jazzkoket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing