We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Grand Ostersund
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ostersund
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good location.”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Centrally located just 20 meters from one of the airportbus stop. Nice staff handled checkin/out fast and efficient in a welcoming way.
Located next to several restaurants/pubs.
It was a workstay for me so not alot of exploring done.
Good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulfgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarionHotelGrand, Front Office Manager at Clarion Hotel Grand Ostersund, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are glad to hear You enjoyed Your stay with us and will be happy to welcome You back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    206
    70
    18
    6
See reviews for
105
164
20
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
188 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have been using this hotel for many years because I pass through here every year on my trip to the northern part of Scandinavia. Rooms are nice and staff is great. The hotel is right at the center of the town.
They have refurbished some of the hotel in the last months and it looked very new and fresh when I arrived this weekend.
The restaurant is as before, very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jechstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Staff friendly and so very helpful. Stayed on two occasions. Beds oh so comfortable. Try to get there early if you are driving and park out the back. Otherwise an expensive garage park.
Dined in the restaurant and wonderful choices and good food. Two girls at reception were especially professional yet extremely helpful. Am going to go to the trouble of emailing management about them. A credit. Rooms comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: Anywhere but facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethmar2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel has a perfect location in the town centre. This is the major plus for this hotel, along with a very friendly and helpful staff.

The hotel is a fairly soulless business hotel, and is is in need of some renovation. The room oddly enough looked partly refurbished - some of the furniture and fittings looked tolerably modern while the the rest looked outdated. The pool was closed for maintenance during my stay so can't comment on that. On the good side, the bed was really comfortable and the shower had good water pressure. Quite good breakfast buffet as well.

I'd stay here again if travelling on business - but if on a leisure trip I'd pick a hotel with a bit more personality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arevan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

It looked like this might be one of the nicest places in östersund, and it certainly was bustling.
The staff was pretty friendly and the breakfast was downright bounteous, with lots of healthy options. The location was great. To me, friendliness of staff and cleanliness of rooms are the most essential qualities in a stay. This hotel got it only half right.
Our room was well laid out, the space well designed, but it was not clean. The couch was especially dirty, there were crumbs of something from the last guest on the bench, the desk had dusty sticky spots like it hadn't been wiped down for a while, there was something pink and sticky spilled on the wall, and the bathroom was not nice--with the shower taking the prize. I saw the cleaning staff working very hard, I am guessing they are understaffed or being asked to clean more quickly than is possible to do a good job.
We didn't unpack anything because we didn't feel comfortable in the room.
When we weren't out, we hung out in the lobby and bar, it was clean and the staff was very welcoming.
I would definitely recommend a visit to Östersund, but I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toutong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Cambridge
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed for one night in early Aug 2012, a business trip with colleagues.

The hotel is located on the edge of the town centre (about 10 - 15 mins by taxi from the airport), just adjacent to the town square - bonus event, a huge gathering of collectors' cars - Buicks, Chevvies, old Volvos, & lots more.

I had a room that wasn't the most modern, but it was comfortable. Strange corner sofa layout - couldn't really watch the (large) flat-screen TV from there. Old-fashioned room safe with a key - don't lose the key! Very comfortable bed.

Breakfast was very good, but the prices in the restaurant for evening options seemed very expensive. We ate just across the road at the Winston pub; things weren't that much cheaper there (very similar to prices in Stockholm).

The hotel has a pool + sauna; didn't try them out but a colleague said that the sauna was very good. There were a couple of complimentary bikes to cycle around on; some good routes to see the very pretty scenery - beware the Swedish "mile" = 10 km!!

Free wi-fi worked OK, but as it was provided by an external ISP, there were annoying issues with having to re-connect each time you left your device "off" even after only a couple of minutes.

Very, very helpful & friendly staff. Would love to stay there again & be able to see more of the surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeJenvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
654 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nice big room with very comfortable beds. Shower with good pressure. Breakfast buffet was amongst the best I have ever tried. Just lacking the possibility of having an espresso. But plenty of local products to choose from. 3 large garages for cars. Quick check in and free Internet. So just to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostersund hotels
4.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Froso Park
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Gamla Teatern
0.4 mi away
Scandic Ostersund City
Scandic Ostersund City
#4 of 11 in Ostersund
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Scandic Ostersund Syd
Scandic Ostersund Syd
#5 of 11 in Ostersund
164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotell Ett
Best Western Hotell Ett
#7 of 11 in Ostersund
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotell Zata
Hotell Zata
#9 of 11 in Ostersund
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Grand Ostersund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Grand Ostersund

Property: Clarion Hotel Grand Ostersund
Address: 16 Praestgatan, Ostersund 831 31, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Jamtland and Harjedalen > Jamtland County > Ostersund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ostersund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Hotel Grand Ostersund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Grand in the centre of Östersund is a fullservice hotel with twist. The vibrant atmosphere of the hotel sets its mark on our restaurant, bar and Living Room, popular among hotel guests as well as locals. Unwind in our relaxarea with indoor swimmingpool and sauna. Our popular restaurant and bar Kitchen & Table brings the flavors of Manhattan to your table! It´s the multi-culture blend of people, lifestyles and food that makes life in Manhattan so fantastic. Each and every one with their own unique flavour. The Swedish Top Chef Marcus Samuelsson, based in New York, has decided to bring these flavours and kitchens to Scandinavia, to blend with the local specialties of the Jämtland region. Because its those meetings and sharings that makes life exciting. So please take a seat and enjoy Manhattan, Östersund, Jämtland and the world, served right here at your table at Kitchen & Table Östersund. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Grand Ostersund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Ostersund
östersund Clarion
Clarion Grand Ostersund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing