We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lakes Lodge Okataina
Nearby Hotels
VR Rotorua Lake Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$120
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$933
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$120
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Maria Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$60
$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$484
$410
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambassador Thermal Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$87
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aura Accommodation(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
30
10
4
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
10
4
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily weddingclay bird shootingbusiness conferenceawesome locationnicklakeawesum
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 52 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for a week, used it as a base for our holiday. Lovely scenery and walks around the lake, nice clean lake and awesome hosts :) Great accommodation and not far from Rotorua township for all the attractions we went on. Great trip around the lake in the lodge boat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Hi there we have just gotten home from the lodge where we had my girlfriends wedding. What an awesome location, perfect for a large gathering specially weddings.

We had the best time I was the matron of honor and the contact person on the day, the staff were fanastic particularly Tama & Doug. Thank you for a great weekend! Recommend to all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We have stayed here twice now and thouroughly recommend this lodge to travellers. It is a magic place so serene and peaceful, on the shore of beautiful Lake Okataina.
Hosts Nick and Richelle were very welcoming and the meals were outstanding. An awesum place to recharge as no T.V or cell phone coverage Bliss !!!
Lodge is currently having some renovation with new kitchens fitted etc. Would recommend as a great place for families.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are lake front. Lodge rooms are larger and some have bush views
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CassieLevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Approx. 30 minutes from rotorua, 10-15 mins windy, narrow forest road, get to the end by Lake Okataina. The Lodge looks nice from the outside, very nice setting. The time our family was here is was raining and cold, our rooms were very cold - would have been nice for the heating to have been on. Opening the door into our accomodation was like a step back in time 30-40 years. Carpets were worn, and decor and kitchen appear original, lots of mould on curtains, otherwise it was clean and tidy. We hade primary school age children, first thing they notice was no TV!! Very lacking in wet weather entertainment for families. Due to location, would have thought meals available when rooms booked. Value for money - No. Kids enjoyed it - No.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HuntingorFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We booked through Rotorua visitor's centre and stayed here as there wasn't much left in town. The drive to Okataina lodge is a good half hour from town. We found the drive a bit daunting as the road narrows considerably however you are in some remote NZ forest which is absolutely beautiful at the same time.

The hotel didn't have any dinner that night so we ended up driving back to Rotorua for food and a hot spa, this suited us well. They do have dinner & bar on some nights, worth checking with reception before you arrive. The room was fairly basic, but had some great views of the lake.

In the morning we did a forest walk through native forest, following the lake around to the left where we found a nice place for an early morning swim. The lake is absolutely beautiful, crystal clear pebbled water with no one around. Lake Okataina has a magical feeling about it and we will be back here some day, hopefully to stay for a few days and take it all in. This place stays long in the memory after you have left it - I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint-Dana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews